Is THAT decapitation scene realistic?

The Assassins Creed Unity co-op trailer has a fairly graphic decapitation scene, I was wondering, is this realistic? I found some pretty convincing reading to suggest that yes, it is! I found this interesting, wondered what you guys thought. For those of you who prefer to not watch the video, here's the text I found:

http://blog.soulwire.co.uk/notes/mis...d-of-languille

I always thought that the thing that the head briefly stays alive after decapitation was a legend, but even the straight dope guys aren’t sure: http://www.straightdope.com/columns/...r-decapitation

I’m not a doctor but I think that the shock of being decapitated is enough to immediately render the brain unconscious and any movement are just spasms... like chickens’ bodies sometimes run around after being decapitated.

JustPlainQuirky's Avatar Senior Member
    What gin0r said.

It's just body spasms.

you don't actually proccess anything me thinks.

Aphex_Tim's Avatar Senior Member
    That's the frustrating thing. No one lived to tell about it.

An interesting read there, thanks.

I think some twitching etc is undoubtedly caused by spasms, as obviously the spinal cord has just been dealt a massive blow, I don't tho think that that covers all movements, ditto. shock.

Purely for the sake of discussion I'd like to mention a couple of points, without laying any claim that what I posit is 'the truth'.

You may have heard of phantom pains associated with limb loss, where someone who has lost a limb can still complain of pain from that limb, or even report sensations of it moving and still being there. One theory is that neurological pathways that would normally report sensation for such stimuli still exist within the brain, and if neighbouring neurons/pathways are stimulated, the activity can be picked up and misinterpreted by the brain.