1. #1
    F0_Dark_P's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,206
    i dont know if this have ben up before but i couldent find any old thread on it when i searched, anyway when i fly i have the stick in my right hand and the mouse in my left so i can look around all the time like you guys with trackir, but now i have a problem, when i whant to change the throttle then i have to let the mouse go and the i might loose sight on my enemy, so i wonder if i can bind the joystick throttle to the mouse wheel and if so how do i do that?, that would be superb then i never have to let my hand of the mouse
    Share this post

  2. #2
    F0_Dark_P's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,206
    i dont know if this have ben up before but i couldent find any old thread on it when i searched, anyway when i fly i have the stick in my right hand and the mouse in my left so i can look around all the time like you guys with trackir, but now i have a problem, when i whant to change the throttle then i have to let the mouse go and the i might loose sight on my enemy, so i wonder if i can bind the joystick throttle to the mouse wheel and if so how do i do that?, that would be superb then i never have to let my hand of the mouse
    Share this post

  3. #3
    fo-Dark, may be better if you could use a stick with the HAT SWITCH control.. so you can pan around you without any problem. Joystick with hat-switch are not too high on prices.. check to any media market there are different model/prices. S! Falco
    Share this post

  4. #4
    'AlGroover' knows howto, see his reply on a post in General discussion:
    (..)posted Sun November 28 2004 04:45
    I have positive and negative elevator trim bound to left and right mouse buttons with throttle control via the mouse wheel (MS cordless). With most other weapon and view controls mapped to the joysick (Saitek Cyborg evo) in combination with mouse view, I rarely have to use the keyboard.(..)
    Share this post

  5. #5
    F0_Dark_P's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,206
    i find the post but he dident say how he did it
    Share this post

  6. #6
    I know he doesn't say how but.... can't you contact him? Jump into that post?
    Share this post

  7. #7
    I may be off track here but I bound prop pitch too my mouse wheel with out any problems.

    Simply go into the controls option from main menu scroll down to the bottom and click throttle then move mouse wheel up or down and it should detect it as a valid axis.

    Least ways it did for me when I mapped prop pitch ?

    only problem I had with it mapped to prop pitch was it didnt always go exactley to 100% but that may be just a mouse quality thing.

    sorry if I misread your post / intentions
    Share this post

  8. #8
    As the person above said, open the Controls panel, scroll to the bottom to the HOTAS section. Click by the throttle entry, then roll your mouse wheel to set it. Rolling up or down will determine which way the throttle works (for example, rolling up will set it to increase throttle when turning the mouse wheel in that direction). I may have the direction backward, so just set it, go into a game, start the engine, and see which way you have to roll the wheel to increase throttle. Set it to taste.
    Share this post

  9. #9
    LEXX_Luthor's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Ussia
    Posts
    8,824
    You may try this...I map Throttle Up to left mouse button, Throttle Down to right mouse button, and 100% Throttle to middle mouse button. I also use mouse to look around.

    Map trim to mousewheel. Works great.

    I have been too lazy to do this, but I will try without 100% Throttle and only use up and down Throttle--if you read your guages (if they work in your plane lol) that should help. Another way is to know the positions of your throttle grafic in your cockpit. Like...if throttle top is next to that scratch in the wall, then you are 75%. As you get better, you should be able to tell what throttle you are just by quick look at throttle grafic. mmm, we shall see.

    Also, to make mouse-look really easy to control, increase the Default mouse sensitivity in the Input Menu. I like 5.0 and I get large panning with small wrist movement. Very easy. I think 10.0 is the maximum. But you have to change it back to lower value if you do mission building--Mouse flies all over the map if you even look at it. But fast mouse works great in cockpit.
    Share this post

  10. #10
    As was said just go into the HOTAS controls to map it.

    Another trick (if you have the right mouse) is to enable accelerated scrolling in the windows mouse controls. This will result in a quick flick up or down giving nearly instant increment from 0 to 100% throttle. If you move it slow then you get fine increments.
    Share this post