1. #1
    Brain32's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,209
    What is time overflow(console) and how to get rid of it?!? It occurs only when using perfect settings and it's followed with heavy sttutering...

    I know this sounds like a topic for Community help section but last(first) time I asked this question nobody knew what it was, so it seemed reasnoble(If it's not, I apologize) to ask the Developers.
    Share this post

  2. #2
    Brain32's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,209
    What is time overflow(console) and how to get rid of it?!? It occurs only when using perfect settings and it's followed with heavy sttutering...

    I know this sounds like a topic for Community help section but last(first) time I asked this question nobody knew what it was, so it seemed reasnoble(If it's not, I apologize) to ask the Developers.
    Share this post

  3. #3
    VW-IceFire's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    13,650
    Its caused when the computer can't calculate all of the things going on at 4x or 8x time compression or whatever. IT happens in all modes...it just may be that your computer isn't stressed enough in Excellent mode for it to happen.
    Share this post

  4. #4
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">your computer isn't stressed enough in Excellent mode </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

    This is the nice way in telling someone his puter can't handle perfect!

    Have Fun!
    Share this post

  5. #5
    Willey's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,804
    I get it even at lowest settings, especially with respawn stutters...
    Share this post

  6. #6
    VW-IceFire's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    13,650
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by FoolTrottel:
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">your computer isn't stressed enough in Excellent mode </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

    This is the nice way in telling someone his puter can't handle perfect!

    Have Fun! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
    I am Canadian after all

    But honestly...I get time overflow all the time when I enable time compression. Its normal.
    Share this post

  7. #7
    Brain32's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,209
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> quote:
    your computer isn't stressed enough in Excellent mode


    This is the nice way in telling someone his puter can't handle perfect!

    Have Fun!
    </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

    Quite unusual, since I have Barton@200x11,512 DDR400, and GF6600@500/700 and it happens even when playing QMB 3vs3!!!
    However I can play a campaign mission with 20vs20(or more),ships,ground objects,flak etc. without problems(no timeowerflow) in excellent.
    When playing mentioned QMB(3vs3) in Perfect i get 30-50fps but then it happens: time owerflow followed with sttutering.
    I guess now you will se why am I confused.
    Share this post

  8. #8
    Time overflow or stack overflow?

    Time overflow means some informations cannot be retrieved or take too long to calculate. Rather a problem of the engine, than of the graphics system.

    stack overflow happens when you play online, basically the same problem, AFAIK. There are informations taking too long to transfer or load into a variable, causing stutters.

    It's been there since the original IL2 and I guess we have to wait until BoB to get rid of it.
    Share this post