Hi everybody,

I recently started playing Settler II (Gold Edition) again and I am getting a bit confused with respect to my ships. I can not seem to find a way to force my ships to transport iron from one island to another. Is there a way to get this done?

Best regards,
    Jethro

megg's Avatar Moderator
    You can't force them to carry the goods, but make sure to have a building on the destination island that will use the iron and the ai (in its own time) should move the goods.

On the main island I am having an Iron Melter. I have several ships sailing around empty, so it's a bit frustrating to see all this valuable iron sitting around on the wrong island.

Pump the priority way up. All of a sudden you'll see lots of iron moving about in ships, but it might take them a long time.

My favourite frustration is when you see private soldiers going to your border military buildings and the generals being transported by boat to some far flung island. This always happens to me!

In addition to changing the priority, you can also force stores/harbours to eject all stocks of iron, thus forcing them to go either to a building that needs it, or to a store/harbour closer to where you want it. Do this by clicking them, clicking their inventory tab and then clicking the iron icon to cycle through the options until you get the arrow symbol.

I often use this method to force all swords+shields to the same store, and beer if it is in short supply. I also use this method to force all idle soldiers to the store nearest my frontline, so troops are quickly replaced when attacked & killed.

Controlling ships is not very easy.

The old good S2: