I just wanted to say I have only recently stumbled across this game and I can't tell you how impressed I am by it. I am a longtime gamer with forgotten hope taking up most of my spare time the last 7 years and I have been looking for something new as FH has gotten a bit stale, as good as it is. I think I may have found it with IL2. The only thing I can say is it'll be weeks before I'm able to fly good enough to get a kill, or take off successfully for that matter, lol. I've already chatted with quite a few players and I can honestly say most of the people have been very helpful and understanding of a total noob. I look forward to seeing some more of you online.

Zeus-cat's Avatar Senior Member
    Welcome MarvinFowler!

Check out the Nugget's guide in the thread by Bearcat as well as my training campaign (for takeoffs and landings).

Welcome to the Forums Marvin. Good to see someone who is new to the game, be so positive.

Originally posted by MarvinFowler:
    I can honestly say most of the people have been very helpful and understanding of a total noob.
    After 4 years I am still a noob. The other day I was killed in my IL-2 after a series of 8 successful missions (many of them hair-raising), just because I forgot to note the shortest path back to the frontline and went towards my base over enemy territory for a longer time, being chased by 4 AI Bf-109s... doh!

What kind of hardware do you have? Besides a good joystick, rudder pedals make managing the torque of the aircraft during takeoff much, much easier than using the keyboard. Rudder pedals are also necessary for mastering maneuvers like side-slips, hammerheads, scissors and rolling scissors. CH pro pedals might cost you about $90-$100 from various web retailers, but they will last you for years and years.

You might also want to practice in the P-38: its counter-rotating props combined with tricycle landing gear make takeoffs easier than any tail-dragger.

Good luck!

na85's Avatar Senior Member