1. #1
    blkhst's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    24
    Hi all,

    I found Cachya linked here from some old posts. It looks like a decent program, but support seems non existent, the most recent posts on the forum are from 2008.

    And I cant get it to work, just bombs out with the unhelpful message "Not support Video Format!"

    *grumble*
    Share this post

  2. #2
    blkhst's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    24
    The silence is deafening.

    Will take that as a no....
    Share this post

  3. #3
    Zeus-cat's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3,437
    To be honest I have never even heard of it. What does it do?
    Share this post

  4. #4
    blkhst's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    24
    Its suppposed to be a head tracking alternative to Track IR and freetrack, for those of us without an extra $150 laying around and no skills with diodes

    http://www.cachya.com/esight/overview.php
    Share this post

  5. #5
    I use freetrack with a head torch. I can only use the single point light source option with that, but there was absolutely zero need to mess around with bits of a coathanger and LEDs, etc.
    Share this post

  6. #6
    blkhst's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    24
    What the blazes is a head torch???
    Share this post

  7. #7
    M_Gunz's Avatar Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    8,980
    A torch in Britain is called a flashlight in America. Example of "head torch".

    You might want to check the resolution (format) you have your webcam set to, it should be low.

    Also if it seems to lose tracking you should check your lighting. Some players noted that with FSX the screen is not enough to illuminate the hat sign for the web cam. Solution of one was to put a red led on the camera but he noted there are cheap webcams with lights built in. But that puts a light in your face. An IR led or a red led with a piece of black film negative over it will light you up to the webcam (-very- sensitive in near-IR) or you can turn the light (most any light) onto the wall or a card behind the webcam and even if that is black it will still reflect IR back onto your hat.

    Want to see how IR looks to your webcam? Point a remote at it and see what shows on your webcam display. Even a red led should show up as a white dot.
    Share this post

  8. #8
    blkhst's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    24
    Ah, a flashlight.

    Well the problem I am having is it never even attempts tracking let alone losing it. I can see the preview from the webcam, but it never gets any further than that. Not even sure what to try to tweak. Have tried all sorts of settings including low resolution but I never see the little plus signs that I am supposed to see when it locks on.

    Looks like a great idea but the implementation is shoddy and vague.

    I fired off an email to the support at Cachya but I am not too hopeful, that place looks like a ghost town.
    Share this post

  9. #9
    Here is a basic setup guide for freetrack. Doesn't explain everything, but it was enough to get me started:

    http://www.69giap.com/GIAPWEB/tech4_headtracking.html
    Share this post

  10. #10
    M_Gunz's Avatar Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    8,980
    Originally posted by blkhst:
    Ah, a flashlight.

    Well the problem I am having is it never even attempts tracking let alone losing it. I can see the preview from the webcam, but it never gets any further than that. Not even sure what to try to tweak. Have tried all sorts of settings including low resolution but I never see the little plus signs that I am supposed to see when it locks on.

    Looks like a great idea but the implementation is shoddy and vague.

    I fired off an email to the support at Cachya but I am not too hopeful, that place looks like a ghost town.
    So it's not always bombing out with "Not support Video Format!"?
    And when it doesn't, you get no lock?
    Share this post