Imagine yourself a Famed Costume Designer: <span class="ev_code_GREEN">Jacqueline Saint Anne</span> Tells All!

Meet Jacqueline Saint Anne, Emmy award-winning designer and costume guru for film, television and the stage. Jacqueline is a grand dame of the entertainment industry having headed the Costume Designers Guild, taught master fashion design classes and has been involved with FIDM, USC, UCLA, UCLB http://fidm.edu/ over many, many years. We are privileged to have her in our midst?

Tell us a bit more about you and your story:

I was born in Panama. I’ve lived in Paris as well. I’ve always believed in perspiration and aspiration as well as inspiration when it comes to designing clothes! When reading books as a child, I always thought of stories visually and would draw what I saw in my head. After college, I earned a Master degree in costume design and got a design job right away! Lucky me. A costume can tell just as much about a character as their words and so can clothes. After all, clothes are one of the most creative ways to say who you are and what you are about. Reading books, looking at all types of art and creating images from my imagination has continued to play a large part in my creative process, it’s a very personal and individual process for everyone.?
    ?When did you first know you wanted to work in fashion and the movies?
    I’ve always been fascinated by the color and design of clothes from different cultures and periods of history. I have a passion for story telling through costumes and it has served me well. I had a very charismatic teacher who inspired me to follow theatre design as a career choice and I followed her as an example of how to be the best and most passionate designer I could be.

What do you like best about being costume designer?

Every single day is different: a new day; a new character, a new set; a new challenge. There are so many ways to dress people and tell a story. It’s never easy, but this is why I love it.