1. #1
    zardozid's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,190
    Hello all...

    I just need some "out-side" perspective on which rout I should take, in regards to, up-grading my computer system...(when it comes to actions like this I can over-think (research) the issue, and the possible consequence's)

    I plan on up-grading my system by buying one piece at a time until I have all the core bit's of hardware I need...Here is my thinking thus far.

    1) Some of the parts I have now will plug right into a 939 (AMD CPU) based mobo and cpu...
    The plus side of this is I can get up and running quicker and the cost is less. On the downside they are phasing out this chip socket/line (so up-grading from this point on would require changing socket anyway)...

    (Option 2) Spend a little more time and money and go with a AM2 up-grade now.


    Question/thought...Maybe the 939 up-grade is good enough for the next year or two (BoB-SOW), so I might as well save the money until I can better afford a decent up-grade...

    or

    I will find the 939 lacking and I will regret not going for the AM2 up-grade (regardless of the sacrifices I will have to make now)

    any thoughts?


    P.S. saving money leaves me with more options for the immediate future (break-downs, failures, grafix-card up-grades. LOL)...
    Share this post

  2. #2
    zardozid's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,190
    Hello all...

    I just need some "out-side" perspective on which rout I should take, in regards to, up-grading my computer system...(when it comes to actions like this I can over-think (research) the issue, and the possible consequence's)

    I plan on up-grading my system by buying one piece at a time until I have all the core bit's of hardware I need...Here is my thinking thus far.

    1) Some of the parts I have now will plug right into a 939 (AMD CPU) based mobo and cpu...
    The plus side of this is I can get up and running quicker and the cost is less. On the downside they are phasing out this chip socket/line (so up-grading from this point on would require changing socket anyway)...

    (Option 2) Spend a little more time and money and go with a AM2 up-grade now.


    Question/thought...Maybe the 939 up-grade is good enough for the next year or two (BoB-SOW), so I might as well save the money until I can better afford a decent up-grade...

    or

    I will find the 939 lacking and I will regret not going for the AM2 up-grade (regardless of the sacrifices I will have to make now)

    any thoughts?


    P.S. saving money leaves me with more options for the immediate future (break-downs, failures, grafix-card up-grades. LOL)...
    Share this post

  3. #3
    AMD is really bad choice now for upgrade IMO... Dont get me wrong i am still a fan of AMD... but Intel holds the crown. So start from there, CoreDuo all the way
    Share this post

  4. #4
    zardozid's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,190
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">AMD is really bad choice now for upgrade IMO... Dont get me wrong i am still a fan of AMD... but Intel holds the crown. So start from there, CoreDuo all the way </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

    Ha,Ha,Ha,Ha....thanks I'll look into that. (I'm not sure your really helping me...your just adding more angles for me to research.)

    Thanks for the feedback...It probable is worth taking a look at.

    (I think when I compared benchmarks dollar for dollar I got more FPS with the AMD, but I will take another look...)
    Share this post

  5. #5
    Not adding angles mate, trying to help you to make right choices...
    Share this post

  6. #6
    ytareh's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,049
    Im running an AMD 939 system now.Nobody could argue that AMD kicked Intels old Pentium 4s for gaming.NOBODY could argue that the Intel Core2Duo is far, far, far better than AM2.Put simply you would have to be mad to buy AM2 instead of Core2Duo. Im sure the bottom of the range C2D beats the top of the range AM2...
    Share this post

  7. #7
    ok then,will DDR(I) mobos be available in say MArch?

    I`d like to buy meself another DDR stick but I don`t want to buy stuff I won`t be able to install on a 4 month mobo.

    building new system in March btw.
    Share this post

  8. #8
    DDR Mobos are hardly available now carguy... just like AGP boards.. it`s a dying breed. DDR2 is the mainstream and DDR3 is the new toy.
    Share this post

  9. #9
    Viper2005_'s Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    2,249
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by crazyivan1970:
    AMD is really bad choice now for upgrade IMO... Dont get me wrong i am still a fan of AMD... but Intel holds the crown. So start from there, CoreDuo all the way </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

    Duo is old hat. Core2Quad is the way forward now. I recently bought a new system and fitted one of these:

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CP...1&catid=6&subcat=793

    I used this RAM (because it was dirt cheap!)
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY...1&catid=8&subcat=817

    This mobo:
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MB...1&catid=5&subcat=205
    (it should have come with 4 SATA cables, but there were only 2 in the box which was a real pain! The company said they would send replacements but I was in a hurry due to moving house so had to buy them from elsewhere )

    GFX card:
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX...&catid=56&subcat=877
    Most expensive single component in my system; it seems to be worth it though! I considered SLI, but it's less bang per buck, largely because of the added power consumption and need for a more expensive motherboard...

    850w PSU (probably overkill really), case & soundcard, HDDs plus peripherals to taste.

    It runs the game in 1280x1024 (monitor limit) at a pretty steady 60 fps (my average on Black Death is up in the 50s) with all the settings maxed out (water 3 etc) and 8x AA, 8x AF using the latest drivers. I've yet to finish tweaking...

    NB - you must turn the multi-thread optimisation off for IL2 otherwise you'll be reduced to ~20 fps which is quite disconcerting!

    Or alternatively, C&C3, same resolution, maximum settings (apart from AA - the second click is plenty) with perfectly smooth gameplay.

    BTW, I have no connection with overclockers.co.uk at all - I'm just rather too lazy to shop around, so I bought all the bits from them in one go. Apart from the issue with the SATA cables I was happy with them.

    I used Tom's Hardware as a source of benchmark data to optimise my price/performance trades:

    http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/
    Share this post

  10. #10
    To me they all core Duo`s Viper, so stop neatpicking
    Share this post