1. #1

    RS 2014 wont start anymore

    Well after a new graphicscard driver was installed RS2014 wont boot up anymore, I get the white screen but the short black screen which initialize the game itself is missing instead it gets back to the desktop.

    I tried now older Geforce driver and the internal drivers from windows but no can do anymore.

    Is this a known problem with you guys or is it the first time you heard about it?
    Share this post

  2. #2
    rcole_sooner's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    13,866
    Make sure your resolution is not set too high ... off my head I'm not sure the highest it can be, but if it is way up there turn it down a notch or 2.

    Also make sure it didn't change your default audio playback device. Some times the graphics card set them to themselves. It is best to use the motherboard built in device. Also be sure it is set to stereo, 16 bit, 49 khz.


    Then if you've added any other USB devices, remove or disable them.
    Share this post

  3. #3
    Tried it all but no can do ... startup. The videosettings were added via ini file.
    Share this post

  4. #4
    pedietz's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1,371
    Remove the rocksmith.ini file.
    Reboot.
    Try starting the game.
    (it creates a new ini file when its missing)

    Option 2)

    Hand edit the C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Rocksmith2014\rocksmi th.ini file and change it to
    Fullscreen=0
    Share this post

  5. #5
    Made it like described. No start of Rocksmith. Only the white screen before initialize (the black screen which pops up for a second)
    Share this post

  6. #6
    UbiKoreanBBQ's Avatar Ubisoft Support Staff
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    760
    Hey there, estrichleger! I'm sorry to hear you're experiencing this. Would you be able to copy and paste the contents of your rocksmith.ini file here so I can get a better read on this? Thank you!
    Share this post

  7. #7
    HEre is the INI FIle

    Code:
    [Audio]
    EnableMicrophone=1
    ExclusiveMode=1
    LatencyBuffer=4
    ForceDefaultPlaybackDevice=
    ForceWDM=0
    ForceDirectXSink=0
    DumpAudioLog=0
    MaxOutputBufferSize=0
    RealToneCableOnly=0
    Win32UltraLowLatencyMode=1
    [Renderer.Win32]
    ShowGamepadUI=0
    ScreenWidth=0
    ScreenHeight=0
    Fullscreen=2
    VisualQuality=1
    RenderingWidth=0
    RenderingHeight=0
    EnablePostEffects=1
    EnableShadows=1
    EnableHighResScope=1
    EnableDepthOfField=1
    EnablePerPixelLighting=1
    MsaaSamples=4
    DisableBrowser=0
    [Net]
    UseProxy=1
    and here is the videodump.txt
    Code:
    00000000:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: Create D3D9 instance...SUCCESSFUL
    
    00000051:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: NiDX9Renderer::Initialize> Attempting to create rendering device
    
    00000051:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: NiDX9AdapterDesc::ValidateFullscreenMode() STARTED.
    
    00000051:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: NiDX9AdapterDesc::ValidateFullscreenMode() AVAILABLE RESOLUTION: 640 x  480 refresh=0
    
    00000051:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: NiDX9AdapterDesc::ValidateFullscreenMode() AVAILABLE RESOLUTION: 720 x  480 refresh=0
    
    00000051:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: NiDX9AdapterDesc::ValidateFullscreenMode() AVAILABLE RESOLUTION: 720 x  576 refresh=0
    
    00000052:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: NiDX9AdapterDesc::ValidateFullscreenMode() AVAILABLE RESOLUTION: 800 x  600 refresh=0
    
    00000052:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: NiDX9AdapterDesc::ValidateFullscreenMode() AVAILABLE RESOLUTION: 1024 x  768 refresh=0
    
    00000052:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: NiDX9AdapterDesc::ValidateFullscreenMode() AVAILABLE RESOLUTION: 1152 x  864 refresh=0
    
    00000052:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: NiDX9AdapterDesc::ValidateFullscreenMode() AVAILABLE RESOLUTION: 1176 x  664 refresh=0
    
    00000052:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: NiDX9AdapterDesc::ValidateFullscreenMode() AVAILABLE RESOLUTION: 1280 x  720 refresh=0
    
    00000052:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: ValidateFullscreenMode() OK  needwidth=1280,needheight=720 ret_width=1280 ret_height=720 refresh_rate=0
    
    00000052:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: NiDX9Renderer::InitializePresentParams SUCCESS  resolution : 1280x720  RGBformat: D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 depth format:D3DFMT_D24S8 enableAutoDepth: 1 Multisample Type 4, MSQuality : 0 Windowed: 0
    
    00001286:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: D3D9Device Create = 0  resolution : 1280x720  RGBformat: D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 depth format:D3DFMT_D24S8 enableAutoDepth: 1 Multisample Type 4, MSQuality : 0 Windowed: 0
    
    00001286:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: NiDX9Renderer::Create> Using D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8 backbuffer format
    
    00001292:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: NiDX9Renderer::Initialize SUCCESS
    
    00001292:  : NiRenderer MESSAGE: NiDX9Renderer::Create() SUCCESS
    Share this post

  8. #8
    UbiKoreanBBQ's Avatar Ubisoft Support Staff
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    760
    Thanks for providing that! The issue is likely within your resolution settings in the INI file where it says,
    "ScreenWidth=0 ScreenHeight=0"

    You'll need to set yours to the appropriate resolution for your system.

    Example, mine is set to:

    ScreenWidth=1920
    ScreenHeight=1080

    Let me know if this helps!
    Share this post

  9. #9
    pedietz's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1,371
    hmm i think those logs are saying his gfx card is kinda weak and can only do 1280x720... and when he picks it, it then dies.

    I'd say to just use windowed mode instead and set fullscreen=0
    Share this post

  10. #10
    So I tried it with the changes in the ini file and put the resolution down to 720p. The game starts up like normal but the short flashing blackscreen does not come up. I think that this short blackscreen initializes the graphics driver.

    Funny thing is that even ROcksmith classic does not boot up. Its the same problem there.
    Share this post