🛈 Announcement
Greetings! Anno forums are now archived and accessible in read-only mode, please go to the new platform to discuss the game
  1. #1
    out4space's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Central Europe
    Posts
    17

    Save games not rename

    Hey there,

    today my copy of the History Collection arrived and I instantly installed Anno 1602 and tested my last week's savefiles from the GOG version.

    Great they are loading, not great, they seem to be not renamable.
    They were loaded in as game01..10 instead of the given names I dropped in my GOG version.
    Well that is not a big issue, but I can't rename these games ingame.
    Also new games do seem to be affected or I do something wrong?
    I click the savegame and the name clears, I type a new one and press Enter, which should confirm the new name. Nothing happens, it's blank than (save/load still works).
    Have not read anyone else having this problem yet.

    Thanks for looking into it.
    Share this post

  2. #2
    Ubi-Raziel's Avatar Ubisoft Support Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    4,533
    Originally Posted by out4space Go to original post
    Hey there,

    today my copy of the History Collection arrived and I instantly installed Anno 1602 and tested my last week's savefiles from the GOG version.

    Great they are loading, not great, they seem to be not renamable.
    They were loaded in as game01..10 instead of the given names I dropped in my GOG version.
    Well that is not a big issue, but I can't rename these games ingame.
    Also new games do seem to be affected or I do something wrong?
    I click the savegame and the name clears, I type a new one and press Enter, which should confirm the new name. Nothing happens, it's blank than (save/load still works).
    Have not read anyone else having this problem yet.

    Thanks for looking into it.
    Hey! I'm sorry to hear you're running into issues, I'll help in any way I can.

    gamexx is the default naming format for saved files, however as you say they should be editable. Not being able to change the names may be a restriction from importing save files, however I've never known this to be an issue.

    After you type in the new name and press enter, there is a Save button just below. Do you press that afterwards too?

    If you're having issues changing the names, would a video of your actions perhaps be possible?
    Share this post

  3. #3
    out4space's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Central Europe
    Posts
    17
    Thanks for the reply.

    ***
    The game just updated.
    Do you have a link for the changelog for this patch and also for Anno 1503 / 1701 HC (which also received updates just now).
    Thanks.
    ***

    Yes as described.
    I do type in the new name, press enter to confirm it.
    Than it blanks out the name I just typed.
    Also when I press "save", the name does blanks out too.
    It's also persistent after I updated the game today (2020-08-06).

    See here (from just now):

    https://youtu.be/CrzXBLjs_00

    Cheers
    Share this post

  4. #4
    Ubi-Com_Raven's Avatar Anno Brand Manager
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Mainz
    Posts
    210
    Hey, is it possible that the file somehow got protected and set to read-only? Could you check?
    Share this post

  5. #5
    out4space's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Central Europe
    Posts
    17
    Originally Posted by Ubi-Com_Raven Go to original post
    Hey, is it possible that the file somehow got protected and set to read-only? Could you check?
    Heya,

    thanks for the idea, but it's a negative.
    The files and folders are all without the "read only" flag/checkmark.

    Cheers
    Share this post

  6. #6
    Ubi-Viral's Avatar Ubisoft Support Staff
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    3,099
    Originally Posted by out4space Go to original post
    Heya,

    thanks for the idea, but it's a negative.
    The files and folders are all without the "read only" flag/checkmark.

    Cheers
    This is rather strange. Could you try naming the save as game10 ?
    Share this post

  7. #7
    out4space's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Central Europe
    Posts
    17
    Originally Posted by Ubi-Viral Go to original post
    This is rather strange. Could you try naming the save as game10 ?
    Hi,

    seems to be only affecting the imported savefiles.

    New savefiles can be renamed (as Ubi-Raziel mentioned earlier https://forums.ubisoft.com/showthrea...1#post15105328).

    I just created a new save and renamed it successfully.
    I wonder why the old files are not being renamed.
     1 people found this helpful
    Share this post

  8. #8
    Ubi-Milky's Avatar Ubisoft Support Staff
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    2,467
    Hello out4space,

    Thanks for coming back to us and letting us know that the save files that you import are unable to be renamed, but creating a new save file you are able to rename it what you would like.

    We will wait for more feedback from players to if the saves behave like this for all of the History Collection games that have been released, as it could be intended.
     1 people found this helpful
    Share this post