Hey all!

I'm new to Il2, I bought 1946 not too long ago and it is pretty incredible. I've played a dozen missions of the original Il2 campaign, and am 6 missions into the wonderful Hurricane Season fan-made campaign.

Anyway, I was helping defend a convoy in the English channel against preying shooters, when I noticed a destroyer shooting at a parachute. Replaying later confirmed this, and indeed the unfortunate German pilot died. Watching further, I noticed that most parachuting pilots drowned in the channel, and only a few deployed a dingy.

After the hi-jinks of grinning with delight after getting a modest deflection shot in and seeing glycol and flames erupt from a JU-88 fuselage, it was strangely sobering to see the doomed craft and parachutists in the replays.

Anybody else suddenly pause for thought when playing? Anyway, I'm finding this a wonderful game. Hugely atmospheric and with a challenging but rewarding learning curve. Currently I'm on pretty easy settings, but do take-off's and landing's manually and have realistic damage and ammo/fuel on. It's just torque and so on that freaks me out at the moment. I think Oleg and his friends have made a beautiful and incredibly immersive game.

But cripes, I felt weirdly ashamed to see an allied destroyer gun a helpless pilot, and oddly upset to imagine drowning pilots.

I think I need to play something a bit more light-hearted, something more sweet and frivolous and less indicative of the horrors of war.

I know, I'll give that Silent Hunter 3 a go that my mate leant me. Should be a laugh.

(Oh noes! etc.)

leitmotiv's Avatar Senior Member
    Yeah, definitely, a sub sim will get you away from the nastiness of war, indeed, truly, yep, shore nuff. Perhaps a sojourn on the Eastern Front?