Interactive proof of concept / prototype I made for a better Skill Mod experience

Hi,

I am a 30-year old Frontend Developer / UI Engineer and I enjoy The Division 2 a lot.
    But still, I think that for me, the biggest pain point is the Skill Mod system.

The system isn't fun for me, because I feel like I am wasting Skill Power. Even if I use the right Skill Mods, there is always an excess amount which doesn't feed into my abilities. And I know there are people suggesting that Skills should scale with Skill Power directly, but I think that this would make Skill Mods kinda useless. Farming for Skill Mods should be fun and interesting.

This is why I think Skill Mods should scale with Skill Power, and why I made this proof of concept website (took me about 2-3 hours):
    https://muri.dev/div2-skill-mod-poc/

You can play around with different player skill power levels, and see the impact on Skill Mods.

Main takeaways from the PoC / prototype:

* No skill power requirements
    * Skill mods have a base value, and a bonus value which scales with Skill Power
    * Some mods can have high base values, but low scaling
    * Some mods can have high scaling, but low base values
    * Different scaling for different Mod rarities

I am hoping this is a good compromise, and fairly easy to implement.

Let me know what you think.

PS: I posted this idea on Reddit, and I was told I should post this here too:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/thedivision...pe_i_made_for/
     14 people found this helpful

I like your concept here. Skill mods seem worthless unless you go for complete skill based build...which I’m not sure is possible as I haven’t tried it (nor researched it yet). On my current build, I have a little over 1400 skill power, and I have bunch of skills mods I can’t use for my two skills because of the high requirements. Having said that, when I need printer filaments, anything requiring over 1500 skill power gets deconstructed.
     1 people found this helpful