1. #1
    Kiroku's Avatar Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    375

    Request to the Devs: Hood toggle immersion

    Please Ubi devs go for a button that allows the player to toggle the hood on and off without being in the menu with an animation.

    It will be so much better for the immersion !

    For example being in a city talking with an NPC about a quest I want to have the hood off. Accepting the quest and going out to the wildlands I want to take on the hoods. When I successfully finished the quest and riding with the horse to the city where the mission started I want to take the hood off again because its something like a "safe zone" where people are allowed to see my face.

    Instead one have to go to the menu before entering the city and toggle it off. It would feel like a load screen

    So please:

    1. toggle hood on/off with a button without being in the menu
    2. animation how to take on and off the hood. And it should be available while walking and riding on a mount like a horse or camel.

    This would be super awesome !
    Share this post

  2. #2
    I second this. I was so excited when I heard about the hood toggle but after seeing it was an option in the menu rather than a simple button press I was rather disappointed. Make it happen please Ubisoft, for the good of the immersion!
    Share this post

  3. #3
    Fatal-Feit's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    5,676
    At the moment, I don't think there's a way to introduce a hood toggle button to gamepad without sacrificing comfort. All of the buttons are used up. MAYBE LS click could work.

    Spoiler:  Show
    RT/HOLD - Heavy Attack/Charged Attack / Shoot Ranged Weapon / Accelerate Eagle
    RB - Light Attack


    Y - Interact
    B - Parkour Down/Swim Down / Dismount
    X - Roll
    A - Parkour Up/Swim Up


    LT/HOLD - Free Aim Bow / Station Eagle
    LB - Toggle Shield / Aimlock


    LS/HOLD - Normal/Eagle/Mount Movement / Animus Pulse
    RS/Click/Hold - Camera / Crouch / Pass Time


    D-pad Up - Eagle / Exit
    D-pad Down/Hold - Whistle / Mount
    D-pad Left/Hold - Switch Ranged Weapon / Equip Tool
    D-pad Right/Hold - Switch Weapon / Draw/Holster Torch


    Start - Quest Log
    Select - World Map

    On kbm, however, they could definitely make it happen.
     2 people found this helpful
    Share this post

  4. #4
    Kiroku's Avatar Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    375
    Originally Posted by Fatal-Feit Go to original post
    At the moment, I don't think there's a way to introduce a hood toggle button to gamepad without sacrificing comfort. All of the buttons are used up. MAYBE LS click could work.

    Spoiler:  Show
    RT/HOLD - Heavy Attack/Charged Attack / Shoot Ranged Weapon / Accelerate Eagle
    RB - Light Attack


    Y - Interact
    B - Parkour Down/Swim Down / Dismount
    X - Roll
    A - Parkour Up/Swim Up


    LT/HOLD - Free Aim Bow / Station Eagle
    LB - Toggle Shield / Aimlock


    LS/HOLD - Normal/Eagle/Mount Movement / Animus Pulse
    RS/Click/Hold - Camera / Crouch / Pass Time


    D-pad Up - Eagle / Exit
    D-pad Down/Hold - Whistle / Mount
    D-pad Left/Hold - Switch Ranged Weapon / Equip Tool
    D-pad Right/Hold - Switch Weapon / Draw/Holster Torch


    Start - Quest Log
    Select - World Map

    On kbm, however, they could definitely make it happen.
    What if they use a combination of two buttons to toggle it?

    I dont know exactly how the xbox controllers work but something like pressing the L3 or R3 stickor maybe both. Another method could be to just press one button long enough like press the triangle button for 3 seconds and there we go with our lovely hood?
    Share this post

  5. #5
    They could always hold a button down to produce a different response. There are ways to do it.
    Share this post

  6. #6
    cawatrooper9's Avatar AC Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    A Bathtub with Caterina Sforza
    Posts
    5,580
    (epic trailer voice)

    They were the movement that rocked a nation.

    When the world said "No", they stood up and asked "Why not?"

    They ARE the Knights of the Hood Toggle...

    2!

    Electric Boogaloo!


    Seriously though, here we go again...
     1 people found this helpful
    Share this post

  7. #7
    meh
     1 people found this helpful
    Share this post

  8. #8
    Kiroku's Avatar Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    375
    Originally Posted by cawatrooper9 Go to original post
    (epic trailer voice)

    They were the movement that rocked a nation.

    When the world said "No", they stood up and asked "Why not?"

    They ARE the Knights of the Hood Toggle...

    2!

    Electric Boogaloo!


    Seriously though, here we go again...
    If I understand correctly there has been a request about this in the past?

    But even if so, why shouldnt we ask for it? The arguments are still viable
    Share this post

  9. #9
    cawatrooper9's Avatar AC Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    A Bathtub with Caterina Sforza
    Posts
    5,580
    Originally Posted by Kiroku Go to original post
    If I understand correctly there has been a request about this in the past?

    But even if so, why shouldnt we ask for it? The arguments are still viable
    Yeah, there is a 51 page thread about it. People were... passionate... about it.

    And you can ask for whatever you want, of course. If you're curious, the developers have specifically stated that, while they saw the passion the community wanted for such a toggle, they didn't consider it feasible for the button to take up its own space on the controller mapping.

    So, while I think that it's cool that Origins is addressing something that many fans clearly want, I don't think that they should sacrifice actual gameplay elements to allow for an aesthetic element that was previously already available but only through an in game menu due to peripheral limitations. But that's just me.
     2 people found this helpful
    Share this post

  10. #10
    Kiroku's Avatar Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    375
    Originally Posted by cawatrooper9 Go to original post
    Yeah, there is a 51 page thread about it. People were... passionate... about it.

    And you can ask for whatever you want, of course. If you're curious, the developers have specifically stated that, while they saw the passion the community wanted for such a toggle, they didn't consider it feasible for the button to take up its own space on the controller mapping.

    So, while I think that it's cool that Origins is addressing something that many fans clearly want, I don't think that they should sacrifice actual gameplay elements to allow for an aesthetic element that was previously already available but only through an in game menu due to peripheral limitations. But that's just me.
    Damn thanks for the source! This is huge.

    The question I ask myself is do they really sacrifice something for it? Must be so because if not they would easily just go for it without the menu. In AC Syndicate ofc. they just did it for sneak mode.

    I guess we will see how it goes. Maybe they can find a way to do it without which would be great. If not we have to deal with it.
    Share this post

Page 1 of 4 123 ... Last ►►