[MINI-GUIDE] Counter Guardbreaking

This is going to be a short one and also I've never done guides before so bear with me.

A fundamentals guide for defense has already been done by zefurr explaining guard breaking so you shouldn't need a refresher. If you do need one, the link will be at the bottom.

Counter-guardbreaking or "tech" is one of the most difficult things for most people to have learned from the alphas, technical tests and the recently ended closed beta (RIP for two weeks For Honor) and some people think that you have to mash the guard break button, anticipate1 it or push it right as the icon appears.

In my experience, this is wrong.

I spent some time on the closed beta's opening night to refresh myself on how to play (my God, I was rusty) and found out that there's a small window that you can successfully tech (and is reliable) - it just takes some practice and muscle memory but don't worry, the latter will build.

Full time

Drastically slowed down

I wouldn't consider this a lot of information to take in (except for when you're 2+ v 1ing, then it's a lot because other stuff you already know) but there are five (5) things that you should note. The fifth is just a bonus.

• The red shield on the enemy mini-boss training dummy. That lets the player know that they've thrown out their guard break. It also lets you know this too.

• Pretty close to immediately, you'll notice the small white shield appear on my toon (or you for the sake of the example). This is not the window you're supposed to tech. This is the wind up. Notice how both the aggressor and you are starting a pusher/pushee dynamic.

• A broken red shield with a white slash going through it. Still not the right time. This is when the animation has started to occur and will continue until...

• The white shield that appears is the small window when HUD players (general population) should tech.