PDA

View Full Version : Dead Kings is the nail in the coffin

DGEKSTROM
01-15-2015, 03:51 PM
While I can appreciate Unity's new parkour mechanics and the elimination of the crafting system(because why an assassin of all people would have to hunt animals to craft their own gear is beyond me), I cannot understand why they would implement a half baked cover mechanic, while at the same time removing two long-standing mechanics that have always been a part of the assassin creed series: the whistle and the ability to hide bodies. Those two gameplay mechanics are necessary for any stealth based game period.

But the nail in the coffin for me was starting up the new Dead Kings DLC. I just started playing the main campaign and understandably I thought the exclamation point on my map was the next chapter in Unity's campaign, only to find out it was actually the DLC, and now I can't back out of it without completing the first chapter. And with every enemy reflecting what a leveled up Arno should be since it takes place after the main campaign, has proven to be exceptionally difficult since I'm still nothing more then an apprentice.

Alphacos007
01-15-2015, 04:00 PM
I'm sorry but I'll have to disagree. While whisper is definitely usefull, it is not necessary for any stealth games. Except for AC3, AC4 and Splinter Cell Blacklist, I never played stealth games (and I play all of them) that had such thing. And the DLC is not obligatory, you went there because you wanted to, the exclamation point doesn't send you there, it was probably pointing at the Cafè Theather but not on Franciade, your mistake there buddy.

DGEKSTROM
01-15-2015, 04:18 PM
I fast traveled next to the exclamation point, but little did I know that would automatically start the DLC. I think that's just poor implementation. The player should be the one to start up any and all DLC. The game shouldn't be making that decision for you.