PDA

View Full Version : TrackIR - does it work w/ laptops?



pterodactyl77
06-28-2004, 05:46 PM
does trackir mount on laptops or non-CRTs monitors (eg. flat panels)? or do you really need a monitor on which to place the IR device...

also, is the $30 extra worth spending to get the Pro version? $100 bucks is still a lot to spend...

pterodactyl77
06-28-2004, 05:46 PM
does trackir mount on laptops or non-CRTs monitors (eg. flat panels)? or do you really need a monitor on which to place the IR device...

also, is the $30 extra worth spending to get the Pro version? $100 bucks is still a lot to spend...

T_O_A_D
06-28-2004, 08:03 PM
Yes it works with flat panels I think Thunderbolt56 has it that way with a Homemade bracket to keep it on the monitor. Might Private message him for some pics or maybe he will see this thread.

I just migrated from TIR1 to TIR3pro and am very impressed. TIR1 was jaw dropping experience. TIR3Pro has totally refined the experience.

Have you checked your Private Topics recently? (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=ugtpc&s=400102)
My TrackIR fix, Read the whole thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=15310285&p=1)
Commanding Officer of the 131st_VFW (http://www.geocities.com/vfw_131st/)
http://home.mchsi.com/~131st_vfw/T_O_A_D.jpg

Jazz-Man
06-28-2004, 08:14 PM
My trackIR2 hangs on the top of my monitor using the standard mount. The two front feet hook onto the top of the monitor and the back goot stabalizes it against the back fo the LCD.

No problems here http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

S!
William "Jazz-Man" Katz
Squadron Batman
RAF No.74 Squadron
www.raf74.com (http://www.raf74.com)
http://home.sou.edu/~katzw/images/signature.jpg

Tully__
06-29-2004, 03:58 AM
The TIR unit should be about 45-70cm (18-30 inches) away from you. It doesn't have to be on your monitor, some place it on the desk under the monitor (particularly effective if you're using your headset microphone as a mounting point for the dots).

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)
Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

jamesdietz
06-29-2004, 07:53 AM
Along these same lines - what laptop supports Forgotten Battles???

KarayaEine
06-29-2004, 08:06 AM
I fly IL-2 on my Toshiba Satellite 2415 S205 with no problems. It has P4 processor running at 2Ghz. I upgraded to 768M of RAM (can go up to 1 gig if you want). It came with a nVIDIA GeForce 4 Go graphics card. You can't play in perfect mode but it's fine for me. I bought this laptop last year (around March) at Circuit City for less than $1000 and I have been very happy with it. The newer laptops available now are probably even better.

FWIW every laptop I've bought has cost me less than what a desktop unit would and they have always been under a $1000 and have been just as powerfull. Shop around and you'll find deals.

hth

Johann

Horrido!
"We need more ammo!"
http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid123/pf6134ba44807ec5fa171e4f94f32e299/f81fa8b5.jpg

BigDukeSixx
06-29-2004, 11:36 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Tully__:
The TIR unit should be about 45-70cm (18-30 inches) away from you.

Tully<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

15 inches away here ansd working fine.

jamesdietz
06-29-2004, 12:57 PM
Another angle on the laptop question: say I wanted to take this on an airline trip ...is there a small joystick that could work with FB?

Tully__
06-29-2004, 01:25 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by jamesdietz:
Another angle on the laptop question: say I wanted to take this on an airline trip ...is there a small joystick that could work with FB?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Saitek ST90 (http://www.saitek.com/uk/prod/st90.htm)

OR

Anything in this category (http://www.saitek.com/uk/prod/p880.htm)

There are other compact joystick options too, but I don't have links handy. Google??

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)
Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

SKULLS Virga
06-29-2004, 01:54 PM
"Another angle on the laptop question: say I wanted to take this on an airline trip ...is there a small joystick that could work with FB?"

I can only imagine the chaos when out the blue you cry out: "Mayday, mayday, mayday - I'm hit... Wer'e going down." http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/51.gif

http://img68.photobucket.com/albums/v206/SKULLS_Virga/Signature_2.jpg

dannychrastina
06-30-2004, 03:57 AM
I play FB on a laptop, but I don't have a TrackIR yet. The most important thing I found was to have as much RAM as possible to compensate for relatively slow hard disk access. (It's a Toshiba, 1.7GHz P4 with 768Mb.) The touchpad is actually very handy for looking around with. But I am vexed by the fact that the graphics "card" can't be upgraded.

But be careful when on an airliner: http://www.chrastina.net/images/bluetooth_airbus.jpg

KarayaEine
06-30-2004, 07:10 AM
I've heard the graphics cards can be updated but it would cost so much that in the end it's cheaper to buy a laptop with the card you need already installed. Most computer stores (ones that fix PC's as a specialty) won't even touch laptops. Kind of like comparing brain surgery to first aid. I am envious of those folks that have the high end cards and can play with photo-real scenery and objects but I also value the portability and diversity my laptop provides. I can't justify the expense for a dedicated desktop just to play IL-2.

Johann

Horrido!
"We need more ammo!"
http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid123/pf6134ba44807ec5fa171e4f94f32e299/f81fa8b5.jpg