PDA

View Full Version : New system upgrade



XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 01:32 PM
Hi fellow pilots

I finally took the plunge and ordered an upgrade kit to my PC. It has been 4 years since I got my current PC which I have souped up to about as much as it can take.

I will be getting an AMD XP 2400+ with 512Meg Ram and a MSI 4K motherboard.

The other components will be scavanged from my current machine which included my GeForce 3 Ti 200.

Do you think this is enough horsepower to enjoy IL2FB in all its glory?

I am upgrading from an P3 600 with 786 with SDRAM.

Opinions are appreciated.

Regards

Gian

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 01:32 PM
Hi fellow pilots

I finally took the plunge and ordered an upgrade kit to my PC. It has been 4 years since I got my current PC which I have souped up to about as much as it can take.

I will be getting an AMD XP 2400+ with 512Meg Ram and a MSI 4K motherboard.

The other components will be scavanged from my current machine which included my GeForce 3 Ti 200.

Do you think this is enough horsepower to enjoy IL2FB in all its glory?

I am upgrading from an P3 600 with 786 with SDRAM.

Opinions are appreciated.

Regards

Gian

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 01:43 PM
Very sweet upgrade but I feel I should point out that a gig of ram would really get your jaw hitting the floor with that system setup/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

<center>http://www.km011a0004.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/sig.jpg <CENTER><Center><div style="width:200;color:FF3300;font-size:12pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=red,strength=8)">A society flexible enough to stand for everything really stands for nothing </div></center>



Message Edited on 08/22/0301:44PM by SmokeJaguar

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 01:44 PM
congratulations on new rig.

you might want to go ahead and get new card - 9500pro might be nice.... see tomshardware.com for comparisions on video.

soundcard? OEM audigy2 was worth the $78 - much better sound.





Non Solum Armis

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 02:10 PM
Good points but I am now on the skin of my teeth and have to live of bakebeans and toast for a while so the other stuff have to wait a while.

I am sure this will tie me over for a good while to come though /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Cheers

Gian

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 02:11 PM
I run an Athlon XP2400 with a G-Force 3 ti200. However I have a gig of ram. Everything runs sweet. in 1024 X 768 in 32 bit colour. Don't turn on Perfect detail tho leave it on exelent. The FPS hit for a bit of water just isn't worth it.

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 02:23 PM
Cool, thanks Dom 01

Regards

Gian

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 02:31 PM
PS

Run it in Open GL and you can enable the mirrors with no FPS hit at all. If you run it in Direct X and enable mirrors it will chop teh FPS in half.

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 02:44 PM
I use same spec with you (almost)

I had GF3ti-200 but when I upgraded it to 4ti4200.. everythings got different.

Try it. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif 3ti-200 is way old now. Especially when in splash effect or smoke effect, 4200 will give you a dramatic performance climb over 3ti-200.

Dom01 wrote:
- I run an Athlon XP2400 with a G-Force 3 ti200.
- However I have a gig of ram. Everything runs sweet.
- in 1024 X 768 in 32 bit colour. Don't turn on
- Perfect detail tho leave it on exelent. The FPS hit
- for a bit of water just isn't worth it.
-
-

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 02:46 PM
Nice upgrade! Compared to your old machine, you will be amazed by the difference !

When you will have some money you may need the ATI9500 or a similar card. Useless to give you recommendations now, ask again when time comes.

Somebody mentioned the Audigy2 as a sound card. Thanks for the tip (I am looking for myself right now and I have heard an awfull lot about this card, EURO 79,-- is the price today).

If you can not afford to get the machine with 1G RAM today, maybe you can check whether you can get the RAM in a way that you can add a further 512Mb without the need to change your initially installed 512Mb. Saves some money at a latter stage.

As I see there is lots of people flying with 1G. Does anybody remember whether Win98 sees 1G ? I do not remember what the limit of Win98 was.

~S~