PDA

View Full Version : Does Unity run well on your PC?



mirage357
11-29-2014, 08:20 AM
Now before a major debate starts over this (because we all know it will) I'm going to ask everybody that chooses to post in this thread to post their PC specs, not just what graphics card they have or some long winded story about why it does or doesn't work, nor what is right or wrong with the game in their opinion. Nor will this become some Ubisoft bashing thread. Because I will simply ask for the thread to be closed on the matter. This thread is to try and solve performance issues not bugs in game play or why stuff like initiates or companion app does or doesn't work for people.

This is very simple the information required is as follows, I run Unity at a 2560x1440 resolution. Performance is stable. FPS changes on what part of the city I am in, but is also stable. I don't get stuttering only the occasional game freezes can occur every now and then after a few hours of play. My PC exceeds recommended system requirements.

i7-4790K 4GHz stock
G.Skill RipjawsX 32GB (4x8GB) 1600mhz
2x Sapphire Vapor-X R9 290X 8GB in Crossfire

(I can provide you with more system specs if you require it but they shouldn't be necessary to the point at hand)

Now there are a few points to this.
1st. Is to determine the quantity of people that exceed recommended specs but have performance issues with the game.
2nd. Is to determine the quantity of people who have performance issues that meet minimum specs but scrape into or do not recommended.
3rd. Is the quantity of people that either barely scrape into minimum specs or are on/below them.

Now I could create a poll but when people vote and talk but don't post specs the results get spoiled and it ruins the whole thing because we have no idea what is truly the cause of the problem. the idea of posting your specs is to determine.
A) Is there a pattern in hardware that does not seem to be performing properly
B) Is it really the Unity that is the cause of said gamers low performance.
C) Lastly is the quantity of complaints about Unity really and truly about game performance or about said Gamers hardware not being up to scratch. (ie meets minimum, recommended or exceeded.)

So there you have it. Lets see where we can get by ourselves. Lets see if we can try and help each out, especially those having a bad experience with performance in Unity and see if we can find a cause for so much grief without the need to throw the blame around. We might find ourselves surprised to see the results. (Note: It is always better to find our own faults before finding the faults in others.)

Packofcrows
11-29-2014, 08:35 AM
4790k @ 5.4 ghz (currently 5.2ghz) but Im going to 4ghz stock. Im not running intensive cpu programs any longer.
CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 8GB (2 x 4GB) black
128 ssd samsung
2 tb caviar black
H100i liquid cooler
780 GTX

Runs good, only issue is during beginning of game there's a tornado and with the gushes of wind, it gave lots of low fps spikes. Cut scene fps loss has stabilized a bit.

At beginning on release day up to patch day it was HORRIBLE, but once I got it working and re downloaded game x4 times, it's been ok. No more people missing graphics.

Imho the issues lay in game engine/optimization by devs

wootwoots
11-29-2014, 09:43 AM
Imho the issues lay in game engine/optimization by devs

Yep. there is A LOT of work to do on for that point.
Personaly with a more modest pc ( i7 940 / gtx 670 / 12gb ram / win7 64bit )
With
Environment : medium
textures : high
shadow : low
aa : fxaa
occlu : hbao+
bloom : off

I have around 32fps min up to ~ 55 depend the place.
http://img4.hostingpics.net/pics/884844ACU20141.png

But after somes story cutscenes ( none in particular .. quite random ) or always after a death ( and after the loading ), or randomly during story mission inside building the game totaly go nuts... and more than loosing a lot FPS i have random little freeze when moving the camera that result to somes crazy movement...

screen same place after a death.... ( well the game already dopped to 9-10FPS... without any particular reason... )
http://img4.hostingpics.net/pics/560116ACU201411.png

worse in all that.. to get the game run correctly i sometime have to restart it like ... 10time in a row... because it tend to start with the low fps - camera freeze & co...
No speaking of the fact that sometime the game start itself in 720p .... -_-"
Guess there is also a huge mess with the resolution...


The patch4 better have to rock ><

RVSage
11-29-2014, 10:35 AM
mine is
i5-4960K stock (4.0Ghz)
GTX 970 SC ACX 2.0 (Factory overclocked)
16gb 2133mhz corsair vengance dd3
265gb corsair lx ssd

I see no spikes or steep FPS drops.. Runs pretty smoothly at 1080P..
FPS 40-60 FPS with dips below 40 in cutscenes and crowded areas

Performance could be better after patch 4

topeira1980
11-29-2014, 10:40 AM
win 7
8gb ram
R9 280 3gb vram
i7 4770 3.4ghz

my game doesnt run well.
visual settings dont matter much to FPS. usually i play on :
1440X900 (16:10)
environment: high
textures: high
shadows: low
SSAO or HBAO+ (HBAO+ gives me about 1-2 fps less so i occasionally live it on)
bloom: on
and get between 20 to 30 fps in the center or north of paris. HOWEVER in the south of paris i get much better FPS. about 25-35 or even higher. the game feels a lot smoother on the streets of the south of paris.
for me it's the location that matter the most. around notre dame i get less than 25. in cafe theatre i get below 20 all the time. thank god there are no missions in that area since its unplayable.

yesterday i got a drop in FPS all of a sudden. i switched from fullscreen to borderless window and if brought the fps back up. strange :P

DomCatz
11-29-2014, 10:41 AM
3770k non oc, sapphire r9 290 4gb gddr5 ram, 8 ddr3 ram, win 8.1. Environment Quality: High, Texture Quality: Ultra High, Shadow Quality: Low, AO: SSAO, AA: FXAA, Bloom: On. I get about 30-50, avg about 40. I never go below 30 unless I'm in that stupid cafe where you collect your money or in a cutscene which seem to be poorly optimized. I hope a performance patch doesn't take too long b/c I'v already beat the story and got Rogue and Modor on the way so I might just put this thing on the back burner.

strigoi1958
11-29-2014, 11:39 AM
I5 3570k no longer OCed running at 3.4Ghz
8Mb Ram @ 1600
GTX970

Environment Quality: Ultra High, Texture Quality: Ultra High, Shadow Quality: Low, AO: SSAO, AA: FXAA, Bloom: On.... Game removed from nvidia control panel to prevent any clashes with in game settings.

Only thing but not really a problem... before patch 2, inside buildings seemed to have cracks of light coming through the walls.

Going4Quests
11-29-2014, 11:59 AM
I have an Intel Core I7 4770 (quad core 3.40 GhZ), GTX 970, 16GB RAM and Windows 8.1 (good fact to know: GTX gpus are extra optimised on Windows 8+). Before patch 3 I had a stable 40 fps on the most highest settings (ultra and everything) and since patch 3 it is on 50 stable. For me this is good enough, seeing that Black Flag still runs at 30 fps in Kingston. :P

similarly
11-30-2014, 02:18 AM
I have a similar setup to Going4Quests. I have:
i7 4770 3.4 ghz
GTX 780m (because I play on an iMac)
16 gb ram
Win 8.1

Unity plays beautifully. I've only fallen through the ground once. I've only had one cafe mission and one co-op mission that glitched, but I reloaded and all was well. I don't know my fps, but it looks smooth enough for me. I haven't looked to see what settings I'm on, but it looks beautiful.

Red_dawn87
11-30-2014, 02:51 AM
I have -
i7 3770 3.9 ghz
AMD R9 270X 2GB
10 gb ram
Win 7 sp1

Running the game at 30-35 Fps @ 1680x1050 16:10 dips to 25-28 massive crowd / big monument / and café area , Environment Quality: High, Texture Quality: High, Shadow Quality: Low, AO: SSAO, AA: FXAA, Bloom: Off

Bobz55
11-30-2014, 07:45 AM
I'm running this rig: i7 950 / gtx 660 / 12gb ram / win8 64bit
My graphics settings: Medium
Environment: Medium
Textures: High
Shadow: Low
AA: FXAA
Occlu: HBAO+
Bloom: On
V-Sync: Off

So far so good. Sometimes get lag spikes but quite rare. Runs smooth mostly. Maybe small lags during cinematic but not obvious. Significant FPS drop in Notre Dame. Overall beautiful game.

Altair1789
11-30-2014, 08:03 AM
AMD FX 4300
EVGA GTX 750 Ti
8 GB RAM
Windows 7

900p
Ultra High Textures
Medium Environment
FXAA
SSAO
Low Shadows
Bloom on

Believe it or not, I get a steady 25-35 fps, and I'm very grateful for it. I can play with 20 or more fps, so 25 fps doesn't bother me.

USAdystopia
11-30-2014, 08:32 AM
Maybe the game is optimized for my old, worn out, obsolete build. Hopefully, the rumored 380X/390X will give me a few more FPS!

fenris19892
11-30-2014, 08:38 AM
Geforce GTX 765M
Intel(R)Core(TM) i7-4700HQ CPU@ 2.40GHz
8.00 GB RAM
1920X1080,60hz
Microsoft Windows 8.1

I'm running an ASUS gaming laptop and I will admit day one was horrible but since then a lot of the bugs that bothered me haven't reoccurred

shinyswordstorm
11-30-2014, 10:12 AM
Game Runs ok. 22-45 fps @1080p. I am below recommended specs.

PC Specs:

Intel Core i7-4790k@4.00 Ghz
Gigabyte GTX 660 Windforce OC Edition 2GB VRAM
Corsair Vengeance 16GB(2x8) RAM
Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB HDD
Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Actual gameplay is almost always playable averaging around 35 fps.
I play on the "High" preset.
Even in large crowds my frames don't drop below 20 fps but during some cutscenes My frames get as low as 14 fps.
While playing, Unity usually uses just over half my CPU power, 2-2.5 GB of RAM and constantly uses my HDD.
That's about all the info I have to share. Feel free to ask questions.

NOTE: I was gonna wait until I had enough money for 970 and just use the free copy of AC Unity that came with it but I couldn't contain myself and I bought the game heh. The game was that irresistible that I had to get it right away. I'll try to update once I actually get a 970 :)

Harry47kel
11-30-2014, 10:51 AM
8 cores AMD 8350 4.0Ghz
8GB DDR3 1333Mhz
Geforce Gigabyte 980GTX and 560 TI
Windows 8.1 64.
1920x1080 all setting on ULTRA.
I don't know how much fps i have, but i'm ok with that. It's 24 and higher. Even with crowd or running on the rooftops. Thank you ubisoft.
BUT! Black flag is about 16fps. It's awful!