PDA

View Full Version : Multi engine



XyZspineZyX
07-19-2003, 08:16 PM
How do I start multi engine planes?

XyZspineZyX
07-19-2003, 08:16 PM
How do I start multi engine planes?

fluke39
07-19-2003, 08:22 PM
first you need to designate keys to the following in the control section (lets say for a two engine plane) - (i have given the keys i use as well)

select/unselect engine 1 - 1
select/unselect engine 2 - 2
select all engines - E

Then

Select engine 1 then Ignition
unselect engine 1
select engine 2 then Ignition
select all engines
then throttle as normal


selecting /uselecting engines can get a bit confusing sometimes as you can't always be sure what engine is selected - also if you forget to unselect an engine and select another one you will probably turn the first engine off again when you press 'i'

edit:

for a four engine plane - designate keys for 3 and 4
select/unselect engine 3 - 3
select/unselect engine 4 - 4

then

Select engine 1 then Ignition
unselect engine 1
select engine 2 then Ignition
unselect engine 2
Select engine 3 then Ignition
unselect engine 3
select engine 4 then Ignition
select all engines
then throttle as normal



i think there are slightly different ways of doing it - but this is how i do it /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

hope this helps /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

<center><img src=http://mysite.freeserve.com/Angel_one_five/flukelogo.jpg>


Message Edited on 07/19/0308:28PM by fluke39

XyZspineZyX
07-19-2003, 09:38 PM
Fluke39 is dead on, except I've found that I don't need to unselect the first engine to start the second. I hit (in my case) Alt 1 to select engine number 1, hit I for engine start, then hit Alt 2 for number 2, etc etc. You have to look closely at the key assingments, some of them are almost duplicated, but with vastly different events. For example, level auto pilot is NOT the same as level stabilizer.


SSgt Tim Schuster
8MXS Inspection Section
Kunsan AB, Korea

-Defend the Dock!
-Accept Follow-on Shifts!
-Take the Fight Upstairs!