PDA

View Full Version : It's Official! The PC Version of ACU will not be locked/capped to 30 or 62 FPS



VolumeRX
10-24-2014, 09:35 PM
I have tweeted UbiGabe, and he responded that there will not be a Frame Rate lock, and that you can enable V-Sync If you want.

Here's the Tweet:
https://twitter.com/UbiGabe/status/525734447736713216

So PC Guys, Now I hope that It relaxes everybody about that topic! I was also worried but now It's all good :)

topeira1980
10-24-2014, 09:38 PM
relax? now everyone is worried that even a 760 or 770 or R9 280 wont be able to go anywhere near 60fps so it doesnt matter if it's locked or not - we all assume the game is going to perform poorly anyways.

Altair1789
10-24-2014, 10:13 PM
relax? now everyone is worried that even a 760 or 770 or R9 280 wont be able to go anywhere near 60fps so it doesnt matter if it's locked or not - we all assume the game is going to perform poorly anyways.

I don't think we should be taking the system requirements so literally

Ubisoft should really give us some more information, or tell us the real system requirements. They practically said 1=2, 2=3, but 1=/=3 with the CPU requirements, they should know we can't take the requirements seriously

naumaan
10-24-2014, 10:14 PM
congratulations on the news .. lets have some cupcakes now :D

oliacr
10-24-2014, 10:45 PM
It is gonna be worse.

Simon8K
10-26-2014, 02:43 AM
I'm still worried about unity on PC.

My brand new gaming desktop has a 970 4GB. Now I might not even be able to max it out or even get a solid FPS on high.

Really Ubisoft? My my new $1800 gaming desktop and I might not be able to max it out, when you could max out AC4 with a GTX 560?

Still really pumped for Unity and I love Ubisoft and all, I just really hope they posted 4K or even 1440p requirements.

Fatal-Feit
10-26-2014, 04:36 AM
I'm still worried about unity on PC.

My brand new gaming desktop has a 970 4GB. Now I might not even be able to max it out or even get a solid FPS on high.

Really Ubisoft? My my new $1800 gaming desktop and I might not be able to max it out, when you could max out AC4 with a GTX 560?

Still really pumped for Unity and I love Ubisoft and all, I just really hope they posted 4K or even 1440p requirements.

Why is a new $1800 gaming desktop running on a 970 and not a 980?

Simon8K
10-26-2014, 03:44 PM
Why is a new $1800 gaming desktop running on a 970 and not a 980?

The price is monitor included bud.

And the extra $200 for the 980 is like a 19% increase in performance.

Fatal-Feit
10-26-2014, 04:49 PM
The price is monitor included bud.

And the extra $200 for the 980 is like a 19% increase in performance.

That's some top-notch 4k rez goodie.

RaulO4
10-26-2014, 07:30 PM
so what if its not lock
if a pc that has a 970, 3770, and 16gb of ram wouldn't break 30 fps from the specs they gave

thewhitestig
10-26-2014, 07:36 PM
If it's not capped to 30, then it'll be capped to the arbitrary 62.5 fps that was present in Black Flag.

pleb87
10-26-2014, 09:32 PM
Wait... I'm confused! There's no cap, and the specs given are probably inaccurate as everyone keeps saying. So actually, chances are if you have let's say an i7 4790k with a GTX 980 and 16GB RAM, there's no reason you couldn't get 60 FPS surely? Let's be honest, even the specs given out for WD were wrong and aside from the issues at the start, those who weren't using AMD cards and had pretty good rigs didn't do too badly...kind of... :confused:

EDIT: I mean after a patch was released for WD of course!

hood3dassassin5
10-26-2014, 09:40 PM
Honestly, due to to MINIMUM specs need to play ACU, it might have been better off if it was stuck locked at 30fps.

Green_Reaper
10-26-2014, 10:33 PM
Honestly, due to to MINIMUM specs need to play ACU, it might have been better off if it was stuck locked at 30fps.

Given what they've shown us, I'd be happy if I could max everything out and not drop a single digit below that 30fps. I'm guessing most people with their current rigs are going to be struggling to keep at that range for Unity.

Fatal-Feit
10-27-2014, 01:34 AM
Honestly, due to to MINIMUM specs need to play ACU, it might have been better off if it was stuck locked at 30fps.

No, it wouldn't, just use VSync.

thewhitestig
10-29-2014, 01:48 AM
So a fellow from this forum asked Gabriel Graziani on Twitter weather or not the game would have a 30fps cap. He said no. I went further asking about a 62fps cap. The same one that was present in Black Flag. The answer is again no. So woo hoo, no caps! This is great news. Now let's just hope the engine does not have some inherent bottlenecks within it's code that would prevent people from reaching 144 fps.

https://twitter.com/UbiGabe/status/526499611759099904

Fatal-Feit
10-29-2014, 01:54 AM
That's good news! :D

Thanks for asking, man.

strigoi1958
10-29-2014, 07:12 AM
Although it's not capped at that mark.... Let's hope it gets up as high as 62.5

thewhitestig
10-29-2014, 01:06 PM
Although it's not capped at that mark.... Let's hope it gets up as high as 62.5

Or 144.

Voyager456
10-29-2014, 02:39 PM
Or 144.Sure if you have 3x 980s lying around

strigoi1958
10-29-2014, 03:28 PM
If the majority of people can get 30+ frames even with settings low or off I think it would be better news than 144 FPS

Also no cap is like when people write "up to" or "unlimited" It doesn't guarantee it will exceed that figure.

I hope it does because if high end systems can only get 60 then there's not much margin for lower spec systems. But if a high end system gets 144 FPS on ultra then it that opens up a wide margin for lower spec systems to still play by altering settings.

VolumeRX
10-29-2014, 06:58 PM
So a fellow from this forum asked Gabriel Graziani on Twitter weather or not the game would have a 30fps cap. He said no. I went further asking about a 62fps cap. The same one that was present in Black Flag. The answer is again no. So woo hoo, no caps! This is great news. Now let's just hope the engine does not have some inherent bottlenecks within it's code that would prevent people from reaching 144 fps.

https://twitter.com/UbiGabe/status/526499611759099904

O_O"

I was the one who asked this lol.
That's why I posted this thread.

Green_Reaper
10-29-2014, 09:01 PM
If the majority of people can get 30+ frames even with settings low or off I think it would be better news than 144 FPS

Also no cap is like when people write "up to" or "unlimited" It doesn't guarantee it will exceed that figure.

I hope it does because if high end systems can only get 60 then there's not much margin for lower spec systems. But if a high end system gets 144 FPS on ultra then it that opens up a wide margin for lower spec systems to still play by altering settings.

100+ frames seems like a lot for a game like Unity. I'm guessing only super high end setups with multiple gpus would be able to pull that off. I could imagine that frame rate would be attainable with just one card in the future though.

YazX_
10-30-2014, 11:29 AM
O_O"

I was the one who asked this lol.
That's why I posted this thread.

His comment was in another new thread, but since yours and his thread are the same, i merged them together having yours the base one (all posts in the other thread are transferred here) and changed the title to reflect changes as we don't need to have multiple threads for the same discussion/topic.

Anykeyer
10-30-2014, 12:39 PM
144fps remains stupid with current display technology. Spending a small furtune on 3/4 way SLI setup to stare at some crappy display panel is just dumb. If you got multiple cards then going for high quality 60hz 1440p or 2160p will be much better

YazX_
10-30-2014, 04:16 PM
144fps remains stupid with current display technology. Spending a small furtune on 3/4 way SLI setup to stare at some crappy display panel is just dumb. If you got multiple cards then going for high quality 60hz 1440p or 2160p will be much better

exactly, do you even notice the difference after 100? i overclocked my screen to 120 hz and didnt notice much of a difference after 100, even between 60 and 100 its minimal, maybe its just me im not sure, anyway, i set it in between 80hz.

strigoi1958
10-30-2014, 04:28 PM
1080p at 60 for me has always seemed best. I've never seen 1440p and upwards and looking at the 30% performance hit... it is not for me. But given the choice between FPS and resolution... I take resolution every time.

Fatal-Feit
10-30-2014, 05:22 PM
1080p at 60 for me has always seemed best. I've never seen 1440p and upwards and looking at the 30% performance hit... it is not for me. But given the choice between FPS and resolution... I take resolution every time.

Ditto.

4k at 60fps > 1080p at 120p

Nice sig, btw.

strigoi1958
10-30-2014, 05:24 PM
Ditto.

4k at 60fps > 1080p at 120p

Nice sig, btw.
Thanks I do them myself as something to do... If you'd like one I'm happy to do it :D just PM me if you want anything specific... logo, game or character

oliacr
10-30-2014, 06:05 PM
ditto.

4k at 60fps > 1080p at 120p

nice sig, btw.

agreeeeeeee

thewhitestig
10-30-2014, 06:52 PM
Some of you fellas made it to the news. Apparently I didn't. :D http://wccftech.com/assassins-creed-unity-pc-fps-locked-game-leaked/

D_cover
10-31-2014, 03:00 AM
So hyped can't wait for it to be delivered. Hope it comes in the post early. At least we now know that Sony and Microsoft didn't get their way.

1920x1080 and 60fps!

Anykeyer
10-31-2014, 10:05 AM
exactly, do you even notice the difference after 100? i overclocked my screen to 120 hz and didnt notice much of a difference after 100, even between 60 and 100 its minimal, maybe its just me im not sure, anyway, i set it in between 80hz.

I didnt check if I can see a difference in small steps but 60 vs 120 is very noticable for me.
Also I didnt mean just resolution. There are no IPS screens with native 120hz support, only some rare koreans you can try to overclock wo any warranty, and they arent comparable to good Dell/NEC IPS displays in terms of quality. There is Eizo VA display with native 120 (very expensive), but I dislike VA for its dark shades problem (so called black crush).

VolumeRX
10-31-2014, 10:29 PM
Some of you fellas made it to the news. Apparently I didn't. :D http://wccftech.com/assassins-creed-unity-pc-fps-locked-game-leaked/
OMG Dude this Is awesome! I'm actually there!!!
Hahaha thanks for sharing!

YazX_
10-31-2014, 10:56 PM
Some of you fellas made it to the news. Apparently I didn't. :D http://wccftech.com/assassins-creed-unity-pc-fps-locked-game-leaked/


OMG Dude this Is awesome! I'm actually there!!!
Hahaha thanks for sharing!

oh wait, me too :D, VolumeRX we are celebrities now :)


I didnt check if I can see a difference in small steps but 60 vs 120 is very noticable for me.
Also I didnt mean just resolution. There are no IPS screens with native 120hz support, only some rare koreans you can try to overclock wo any warranty, and they arent comparable to good Dell/NEC IPS displays in terms of quality. There is Eizo VA display with native 120 (very expensive), but I dislike VA for its dark shades problem (so called black crush).

Yah i have Qnix Monitor which i bought specifically to overclock and its Samsung PLS Panel, but telling you from experience, this screen overclocks like a champ, im not sure what do you mean by not comparable to good IPS displays, if you mean the brightness getting lower after overclocking, then brightness is great here @ 100hz, after that it gets darker, however i had to reduce it since its so bright @ 80 hz.

D.I.D.
10-31-2014, 11:51 PM
The 62FPS one too? This is interesting.

It will be nice to come back to these games years from now with better hardware, and get better results! Those old caps never made sense to me, but I expect there was some reason for them.