PDA

View Full Version : How to rotate a custome camera?

JockinaFrock
07-14-2014, 08:54 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to the track editor, and slowly finding my feet. I have a loop-the-loop in my track, and I want a custom camera to fix to the player as he goes around the loop. I want the camera to bank through 360 degrees during the loop.

I'm sure I've seen this done (can't recall if it was a RL track or a user track).

Any pointers?

Zorsselsson
07-14-2014, 09:25 PM
Make a custom camera follow the bike with an Object Position Event. Add something to the position and angle values so it stays in the relative position and angle you want. Or just have it stay in one spot and only update the cameras angle. Then activate a Camera Event from an Area Trigger, switch to that camera, and then switch back to the original once you clear the loop.

and you only need the Object Position Event active during the loop part.

JockinaFrock
07-14-2014, 09:55 PM
Cheers, Megamanne, I'll look at that :)

xDEAD_EXITx
07-14-2014, 11:16 PM
Easier way is to use a physics joint set to point to point.
Target 1 is the bike/rider
Target 2 custom cam with physics on.
Uncheck enable on the camera & use state events to turn it on/off.
Done. :)

Zorsselsson
07-15-2014, 05:28 AM
Easier way is to use a physics joint set to point to point.
Target 1 is the bike/rider
Target 2 custom cam with physics on.
Uncheck enable on the camera & use state events to turn it on/off.
Done. :)

Didn't recommend that because it adds a tiny weight to the weight of the bike/rider, but now that I think of it, why would it matter anyways :) I change my recommendation to this method

Reaper392
07-18-2014, 01:12 AM
If you want to do this with object position events on the camera, rather than by mounting a camera to the bike, then the inverse tangent function will be very helpful for working the angle that the camera needs to be rotated to.