PDA

View Full Version : Can we get a realistic systems spec required



LeadSpitter_
05-22-2004, 12:46 PM
i would like to know what system we will need to run on perfect settings and get smooth fps in pf, that water definatly looks like its gunna hit hard, I cant even run fb in perfect i get 10-30fps 40-50 higher alt

http://img14.photobucket.com/albums/v43/leadspitter/LSIG1.gif

LeadSpitter_
05-22-2004, 12:46 PM
i would like to know what system we will need to run on perfect settings and get smooth fps in pf, that water definatly looks like its gunna hit hard, I cant even run fb in perfect i get 10-30fps 40-50 higher alt

http://img14.photobucket.com/albums/v43/leadspitter/LSIG1.gif

Korolov
05-22-2004, 01:19 PM
<a$$hat>

You will need:

10ghz Pentium XIV

3 gigabytes of PC92000

ATi SUPERNOVA 35900 w/ 1024MB video ram
or
Nvidia WorldForce 2 Gold w/ 512MB video ram

200 gigabyte harddrive

Virtual Reality headset system

Thrustmaster TIGER FCS

</a$$hat>

Oh, and bump... Would like to know! Honestly! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

http://www.mechmodels.com/images/newsig1.jpg

Geodude
05-22-2004, 01:34 PM
I asked about this a while back, but nothing from any member of the development team...why the silence? I thought they were going to let people know by the time E3 was held.

I'm just hoping it will be scalable so those of us with lower-end systems can run it, albeit at lower settings (and they would sell a lot more copies if that were the case...especially after seeing the pole results of what video cards we all own)!

Aaron_GT
05-22-2004, 01:49 PM
Isn't that the leaked min requirements for Longhorn, Korolov?

Maj_Death
05-22-2004, 03:40 PM
No, those are just the minimum specs for medium detail in LOMAC http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/blink.gif.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Maj_Death here, Stab.I/JG1Death at HL

I build COOPs and DF maps. If you would like some of them you can get them atmy COOP page (http://www14.brinkster.com/triggerhappy770/default.htm)

I/JG1 Oesau is recruiting axis pilots who prefer to fly maximum realism. We accept both veterans and rookies. We fly in VEF2, VOW and may join other online wars in the future. Go to our forums at http://www.jg1-oesau.org/ for more details and to apply.
http://www.bestanimations.com/Humans/Skulls/Skull-06.gif

_VR_ScorpionWorm
05-22-2004, 03:48 PM
Well being that it is using the FB engine, I would say the next notch up from running perfect in FB, but then again im no computer tech.

"Soldiers, Sailors, and Airmen of the Allied Expeditionary force:
You are about to embark upon a Great Crusade toward which we have strived these many months. The eyes of the world are upon you. Good Luck! And let us all beseech the blessing of Almighty God upon this great and noble undertaking" - Gen. Dwight D. Eiseinhower-Supreme Allied Commander.

www.vultures-row.com (http://www.vultures-row.com)

VF-2_John_Banks
05-23-2004, 03:31 PM
I'd expect something like in AEP. The maps are mostly over water, so the fps rates shouldn't be much worse in PF. The cockpits seems to be as detailed as they are now and the planes seem to have the same detail on the external model as well. They will even put the current US planes into PF, so the detail level must be about the same, otherwise the older planes would look like **** compared to the new ones. The new "perfect" water will probably be even a bigger fps killer, that the current one. I can't think of anything else, which might be heavy on the CPU and which isn't in FB yet.

BSS_Vidar
05-23-2004, 06:26 PM
That water is very much like LOMAC's. Even with all the bugs currently plaguing LOMAC, my system never locks up in perfect settings.

AMD2600+
Asus A7N8X E Delux MB 400FBS(supports duel chnl DDR RAM)
1.24G PC 3200 Corsair RAM
Two 80G SATA HDs in RAID configuration
Samsung 25X DVD
Asus ATI 9800Pro 256MB/256bit video card
Soundblaster Gamer 24 bit soundcard
24" Sony/Silicon Graphics monitor
Track IR I vs 3.03
Win 2K Pro

Flight control hardware:
CH Fighterstick USB
CH Pro Throttle USB
CH Pro Pedals USB

If 'dis ain't good enough... I quit! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/52.gif

BSS_Vidar

[This message was edited by BSS_Vidar on Mon May 24 2004 at 02:07 PM.]

TartarSauce23rd
05-23-2004, 07:21 PM
Jesus how much money did you put into that system.

http://www.x-plane.org/users/tartarsauce/P-51D.jpg
::Intel P41.6GHZ,512MBPC2100,40GB HD,CDRW Drive,Radeon 9600XT::

Penguin_PFF
05-23-2004, 08:43 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Geodude:
I asked about this a while back, but nothing from any member of the development team...why the silence? I thought they were going to let people know by the time E3 was held.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Because the people who know all speak only Russian and are very, very busy making a game that isn't finished yet.

Seriously... The only person here who might be able to give an answer is Luthier, and he probably doesn't even know for sure yet. The "Dev Team" that you refer to, i.e. the people that post here, is really just Luthier. The only other project people posting here are myself and a couple of other modelers, and those of us who aren't Luthier really don't have anything to say. In fact, nothing we say is official and we aren't even supposed to say anything about the game, period, but on the other hand people have questions that we might be able to shed some light on. Information vacuums breed whining, lies, and trolls, so in the long run I think it helps to try and answer questions. That's just my opinion, and I tell people what I can. If it means less e-mail for Luthier and consequently more time for him to check my models and get them into the game, well... My motivation is pure selfishness. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

The guys working on the real meat of the engine aren't here. I can remember exactly one occasion when a 1C:Maddox graphics programmer answered a question directly, and that was years ago... Luthier will be able to give system specs towards the end of the development cycle, just like Oleg did with Il-2 and Il-2:FB.

My guess is similar to the others, in that it will be a bit more taxing than AEP. But since it's based on the current game engine, I'm sure it will be scaleable in the same way.

BSS_Vidar
05-23-2004, 09:55 PM
Tartar,
I built this system myself with some guidance from a fellow BSS member. Everything was purchases separatly on www.newegg.com (http://www.newegg.com) .
The only thing I boaught separatly was the Silicon graphics monitor which was refurbished, therefore less than half the price of a new one.
All in all, I spent around 2,000. I call Gateway and Dell and asked what an identical system would run me... both said $7-8,000.
I bought quality parts without the big computer company name.

BSS_Vidar

Geodude
05-24-2004, 12:25 AM
Penguin_PFF: no problem...I just thought someone "official" had said they would be published at E3, hence my question.

As far as scalable...yeah, yeah, yeah...please! That would be great (and would allow many more to take part in the fun).

Troll2k
05-24-2004, 05:22 AM
I would like to know what specs the system was at the E3 show.

Capt._Tenneal
05-24-2004, 09:28 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Troll2k:
I would like to know what specs the system was at the E3 show.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

The one thing I remembered on the E3 version was that it was running on the NVidia 6800 cards.

heywooood
05-24-2004, 09:51 AM
I suppose this important item will have to be waited on a spell... more patience padawan.

..besides - if we buy something now, we miss the groundswell of new computer technogeek stuff on the immediate horizon..so - to hit the curveball - you must wait for it, not overswing.

Hunter82
05-24-2004, 07:35 PM
I think I'll be able to handle it LS http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

==============================
Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com)
ATI Catalyst Beta Tester
Catalyst Feedback (http://apps.ati.com/driverfeedback/)
Catalyst Driver Download (http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html)
==============================

Cattail4
05-25-2004, 09:14 PM
At the E3 show, they were using the latest AMD 64 and the top of the line Nvidia 6800, and my source said they were not getting very high Frame rates..........Cat

stansdds
05-26-2004, 03:47 AM
Frame rates will improve in the final version if the demo did not have its code optimised.

Hunter82
05-26-2004, 04:56 AM
You also must remember frames rates at playable levels vs. non-playable levels. IF frames are constant over 30 in high action than all is good.

Most Maddox sims are forward thinking..by this I mean they are designed to use the highest current and possibly next gen hardware for the highest settings available.

==============================
Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com)
ATI Catalyst Beta Tester
Catalyst Feedback (http://apps.ati.com/driverfeedback/)
Catalyst Driver Download (http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html)
==============================