PDA

View Full Version : AC4 Doesn't read my savegame



Elebro2011
06-11-2014, 03:34 PM
Hello dear assassins. Im having a problem with my savegames. I had the game completed on 100%, and from the start, there were problems with cloud savegames, so i disabled it and continued to play on. I reinstalled my OS without saving my savegame.. I managed to recover it with some softwares, im sure that its the right savegame. Problem is, when i copy it to the right location, the game just doesnt read it. I cant play in that savegame, it doesnt show anything. I tried running as admin, still nothing. Any thoughts?

Locopells
06-11-2014, 04:30 PM
Might be damaged. You recovered the savegames/273 folder, right?

Elebro2011
06-11-2014, 05:00 PM
Yes, and there was a folder named 0 if remember well

Locopells
06-11-2014, 05:11 PM
Sounds like they did get damaged then, sorry to say.

Elebro2011
06-11-2014, 05:54 PM
How do you know that?

Locopells
06-11-2014, 06:11 PM
Well unless you changed accounts, they should work fine, so it figures they're damaged - what does the game actually say, when you try to load it?

Elebro2011
06-11-2014, 06:16 PM
I cant even load them. it says start new game..

Locopells
06-11-2014, 06:28 PM
Hmm. What files have you got in the 273 folder? Sometimes there's a backup one that can be used.

Elebro2011
06-11-2014, 07:24 PM
That's what i have: http://www.part.lt/img/cefe7b9eee619c92ced534a7103766d9471.png

YazX_
06-11-2014, 11:36 PM
the folder name for the saves is wrong, it should be 273 for AC4 as Loco said, go back one folder and look for "273", if you dont have it, then rename this folder to "273" and saves should be loaded.

Elebro2011
06-12-2014, 08:01 AM
the folder name for the saves is wrong, it should be 273 for AC4 as Loco said, go back one folder and look for "273", if you dont have it, then rename this folder to "273" and saves should be loaded.

It is 273, you just cant see it in the picture. Well for my recovered savegame i go: Ubisoft/Ubisoft Game Launcher/savegames/c56bb93d-7b69-44d5-9495-d25ca8caa76c/and there are folders 0 and 273. I deleted 0 folder now, as it seems i dont need it.

Locopells
06-12-2014, 08:57 AM
Backup first, then try deleting 1.save and renaming 1.save.old to 1.save, and see what you get. Try the same for the 2.save/2.save.old files as well.

Elebro2011
06-12-2014, 11:15 AM
Oh my god guys.. I took the picture of the folder 0, not 273, im so sorry. Here's what 273 has: http://www.part.lt/img/9afefc6564b9e90a1aafab53bf37b256318.png

YazX_
06-12-2014, 11:27 AM
for some reason i suspect that you are copying these saves to wrong UPlay installation path, just to make sure, please take a screenshot of selecting this registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Ubisoft\ Launcher

Elebro2011
06-12-2014, 12:14 PM
Here you go: http://www.part.lt/img/16a0c6b31d09eeb82460853c950e25d9682.png

YazX_
06-12-2014, 12:40 PM
ok from the first screenshot, you are putting the saves on "sk\....\....", and in registry, UPlay installation path is on "C:\program files(x86)\....." . so i would imagine that this sk is a backup folder on D:\ drive, so no wonder the game cannot find the saves.

so what you need to do is to copy the saves from "sk\......\273" to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\Ubisoft Game Launcher\savegames\[RANDOM CHARS]\273"

Elebro2011
06-12-2014, 01:06 PM
ok from the first screenshot, you are putting the saves on "sk\....\....", and in registry, UPlay installation path is on "C:\program files(x86)\....." . so i would imagine that this sk is a backup folder on D:\ drive, so no wonder the game cannot find the saves.

so what you need to do is to copy the saves from "sk\......\273" to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\Ubisoft Game Launcher\savegames\[RANDOM CHARS]\273"


I will try to recover my original savegames, and rename those save1.old to save1 (or whatever they were) and then put it in the right directory. if it doesnt work i will just forget it.

It didnt work, unfortunately.. I dont feel like a real AC fan since i dont have the savegame. Damn you ubisoft with your cloud problems.

YazX_
06-12-2014, 04:27 PM
you are doing something wrong, if you placed the saves in the correct folder, then the game should pick them up, if they are corrupted then the game will show "Damaged save file", but not showing them at all means that you are not placing them in the correct folder or the name of the save is incorrect.

names should be 1.save, 2.save,.....

folder should be:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\Ubisoft Game Launcher\savegames\[RANDOM CHARS]\273

if you did that correctly, then your saves will be loaded.

Locopells
06-12-2014, 05:25 PM
Oh my god guys.. I took the picture of the folder 0, not 273, im so sorry. Here's what 273 has: http://www.part.lt/img/9afefc6564b9e90a1aafab53bf37b256318.png

OK, let's start again. Like has been said, make sure that these files are in "C:\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\Ubisoft Game Launcher\savegames\[RANDOM CHARS]\273"

If the game does not pick them up, try deleting 2.save and renaming 2.save.delete to 2.save, see what that does - you might be in a slightly different place to where you left off, but you should get most of your progress back, if it works.

Tip - you don't need to restart the game every time you change the save files - just make sure you're at the main menu, since it only loads the games when you hit start.

Elebro2011
06-13-2014, 08:28 PM
OK, let's start again. Like has been said, make sure that these files are in "C:\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\Ubisoft Game Launcher\savegames\[RANDOM CHARS]\273"

If the game does not pick them up, try deleting 2.save and renaming 2.save.delete to 2.save, see what that does - you might be in a slightly different place to where you left off, but you should get most of your progress back, if it works.

Tip - you don't need to restart the game every time you change the save files - just make sure you're at the main menu, since it only loads the games when you hit start.

Well, it appears that i recovered a savegame with 0% completion. Damn it.

zeeshan146
06-14-2014, 05:24 PM
same problem dude:( but after reading this may be this problem will be solved

Locopells
06-15-2014, 10:27 AM
Well, it appears that i recovered a savegame with 0% completion. Damn it.

Hell. At least we know for definite that the files are in the right place - but which means that your original save game must be corrupted, for the game to not recognise it.

I hate to say it, but I think you're stuck with having to begin again...

Elebro2011
06-18-2014, 04:24 PM
Hell. At least we know for definite that the files are in the right place - but which means that your original save game must be corrupted, for the game to not recognise it.

I hate to say it, but I think you're stuck with having to begin again...


But i have read that people were able to recover those savegames with some softwares. I just refuse to believe i cant do anything to get the savegame back.