PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions about realism etc.

03-12-2004, 03:29 PM
Hi all.

I am new to the IL-FB, and new to the flight sims in general. I've been training for a couple of days with dumbed-down settings to get a feel for the joystick etc., and now I want to up the realism for practice before I go into the campaign on full-real. But, there are a few things that I don't understand, and the manual is not really helpful in those aspects. So, I was wondering whether someone would be so kind to clarify a few things for me, as it's hard for me to judge most of them due to my inexperience.

1. Engines: I assume that open radiator flaps increase drag and slow the plane down, but why are there several settings for them? Is there a point in using those intermediate settings, or does it makes sense to just use full open and full closed settings? Are the intermediate levels modeled correctly in terms of cooling and drag?

2. Cowl flaps and armor flaps: What do these do, and how do I know which planes have them? When to use them?

3. I still don't see a point in using combat flaps over raised flaps, as it seems that I only lose speed and gain nothing. But I guess there must be a point to them, so could someone please explain what it is?

4. What do the trimming settings for rudder etc. do? Can I do the trimming on all planes to get their ascribed benefits?

5. Why would I want to have certain percentages of mixtures? What's the benefit/cost for having 10% mixture vs. 60% mixture? Also, what's the difference between mixture, supercharger, and WEP?

6. I assume propeller pitch has to be turned down with a decrease in power so the engine doesn't overheat. Are there any other uses for it, such as increasing performance with some special settings?