PDA

View Full Version : How big track i can make?



rlmergeuser
12-01-2010, 12:52 AM
Please, tell me how maximal size of track image? I just make really big track (3000x1500) and game drop me out of level. When loading finished, i hear checkpoint sound, and screen make one blink, then i again see track editor window, and box "save track?"

My lightmap and profile image have same sizes, like visual image. If i decrease image size to 2000x1000 is works, but then all obstacles seems very-very small.

I tried to save track, but result same. Soooo pity... http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_cry.gif Four hours of work, and no result http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_eek.gif

s0ad667
12-01-2010, 03:24 AM
Probably you messed up with the checkpoints or something. Have a really close look at the profile image, even the slightest pixel out of the ordinary can mess things up really bad. As for sizes, i don't think there is a limit for maximum size. Just for the record, my already made tracks are around 2500x768 and one is 8000x800.

EDIT: Just made a couple of quick tracks, one 3000x1500 like yours and the other 6000x3000. The first loaded with no problem, the second just took a bit more, not much. But both worked.

rlmergeuser
12-01-2010, 10:12 AM
Thanks, Soad! I tried many times, but had no effect. Then, i try to remove blue terrain type (semi-slippery) from my path file, and track now works.

So if you made really big tracks, load it here maybe? http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif Sounds tasty http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif

s0ad667
12-01-2010, 03:07 PM
So if you made really big tracks, load it here maybe? http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif Sounds tasty http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif

Nah, those aren't exactly tasty. http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif
I just made them to try big maps. Threw in a quick background and a basic line (almost straight) just for the sake of it.

rlmergeuser
12-01-2010, 08:44 PM
I got it! http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif When i create crazy track with resolution 5000x4000 game drop me with error "Out of memory" http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_eek.gif

I have 4Gb of RAM, then i think is game limit. So pity again http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_rolleyes.gif So, i will go to try make it some smaller.

rlmergeuser
12-24-2010, 07:33 AM
2000x1000 is okay, i think.

rlmergeuser
09-02-2011, 09:53 PM
isnt Trials legends working with Java? I raelly have no idea. But since i play minecraft i know Java only uses 1 GB of ram http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_razz.gif