PDA

View Full Version : Level Editor, Not good enough.

rlmergeuser
05-18-2009, 06:32 AM
Right, firstly let me say i'm a developer, and understand that the most difficult part of something like a level editor is usually the UI, not the functionality (I'm trying to create a level editor for one of my games at the moment)

And the main reason stated in the post saying the editor will never be released is the time it would take to finish the editor to standards required by the average layman.

I put it to you, dev team, that the people who really want to use it will not care.
It comes down to this, you never promised a level editor so are under no obligation to release it. HOWEVER, you also obviously HAVE a level editor as it's been seen on YouTube and such.
I don't expect it is flashy with bells and whistles, and it probably has no documentation or help content of any kind...
BUT IT WORKS.

People like me (and people who play trials in general) have a great deal of patience. And i know my fellow die hard fans will agree...
We'd rather have the un-developed but functional level editor the devs are currently using than nothing at all.

Am i right?
We aren't asking for anything special, just release whatever you have got?
I understand there may still be some development time involved, so that the levels created can be played in trials maybe. But it can't be that bad surely?

At the VERY least, it looks like when you are IN the level editor, you can race it by yourself and maybe give the save file to other people with the editor and they can race it in there. So you could (without admitting it) release an 'Un-official' trials2 SE level editor. You would then be under no obligation to provide any kind of support or documentation as it would have nothing to do with you (since technically you're not admitting that you created it...?).

But at least people like me can enjoy creating our own levels and sharing them with friends over email or whatever.