PDA

View Full Version : alcIsExtensionPresent in OpenAL32 [SOLVED]



rlmergeuser
02-09-2009, 03:13 AM
Okay, for about two months now, I've been having a problem starting up Trials 2 SE.

Every time I hit Start on the Launcher, it says " The procedure entry point alcIsExtensionPresent could not be located in the dynamic link library OpenAL32.dll"

Oh Geeze. Im running a Custom made Cooler master windows vista home premium 36-bit. With:
-Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83GHz
-Stereo from my Monitor (KDS Generic PnP Monitor)
-Crossfire ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series

Please Help. http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_cry.gif

sebastianaalton
02-09-2009, 10:09 AM
What sound card are you using? Some old sound cards drivers (esp Creative cards) have known issues with all games using OpenAL for sound playing. I suggest upgrading to newest drivers.

rlmergeuser
02-09-2009, 04:00 PM
What sound card are you using? Some old sound cards drivers (esp Creative cards) have known issues with all games using OpenAL for sound playing. I suggest upgrading to newest drivers.

I updated my sound card drivers, and that didn't work.
I tried playing with no audio, and that didn't work.

Any other ideas?

sebastianaalton
02-09-2009, 04:10 PM
I googled for that error, and it seems to be affecting many other programs and games as well...

http://opensource.creative.com/pipermail/openal/2004-August/007739.html

http://www.hardforum.com/archive/index.php/t-1151082.html

Try to download the newest OpenAL installer here:
http://connect.creativelabs.com/openal/Downloads/Forms/AllItems.aspx

rlmergeuser
02-10-2009, 12:25 AM
I googled for that error, and it seems to be affecting many other programs and games as well...

http://opensource.creative.com/pipermail/openal/2004-August/007739.html

http://www.hardforum.com/archive/index.php/t-1151082.html

Try to download the newest OpenAL installer here:
http://connect.creativelabs.com/openal/Downloads/Forms/AllItems.aspx

Dude, your awesome, Its WORKING!

I appreciate you taking the time to help me.

rlmergeuser
05-31-2009, 12:30 PM
Hi - I'm getting the same problem and installing the OpenAL Installer hasn't made any difference. Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks

Dan

rlmergeuser
05-31-2009, 11:09 PM
Never mind - I've sorted it now. I had to delete OpenAL32.dll from my System32 folder before installing OpenAL