PDA

View Full Version : Gamepad Menus



rlmergeuser
05-29-2008, 01:18 AM
Can the gamepad be used on the menus? On the demo I was only able to use my 360 pad in the game itself not to navigate the menus. This is extremely annoying as i like to play my games whilst lieing in bed away from the PC but obviously have to keep getting back up to navigate the menus.

rlmergeuser
05-29-2008, 02:25 AM
Not possible in this version of Trials.. Using the same pad as you.

sebastianaalton
05-29-2008, 06:07 AM
Menu navigation on keyboard and gamepad has been one of the most requested new features. However it also requires pretty much work to complete, as the Trials 2 SE menu system hasn't designed to be used with keyboard/pad. It's the same reason really as why you can't control Windows with your gamepad basically.

We will design the next Trials series game menus to be fully usable with keyboard/gamepad from the start, to circumvent any problems like this.

rlmergeuser
06-01-2008, 07:15 PM
I'm going to test a workaround theory for navigating the menus with the 360 controller in a few hours once my girlfriend treats me to buying Trials 2 http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif

rlmergeuser
06-02-2008, 08:32 PM
Sorry for the delay with this. Girlfriend hasnt got round to buying it for me yet. As soon as she does i'll see if i can get some workaround for menu navigation with a pad http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif

rlmergeuser
06-03-2008, 04:04 AM
My Logitech pad has software that I think could be setup to control the cursor keys and mouse buttons. But I don't use a game pad in Trials. But I will try it real quick...

rlmergeuser
06-03-2008, 04:48 AM
Yeah, it works. I can assign either analog stick to control mouse movement. I setup the right analog -X- and -Y- axis to control those same axis of the mouse. Right analog button is left click. It's not as easy as a mouse, but works fine. I assume most controllers have this option in their software, but I don't know because I have always used Logitech.

You could always get a wireless keyboard and mouse http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_wink.gif

rlmergeuser
06-03-2008, 08:33 PM
You can set up any joypad to play trials with mouse control etc using open source software. Here is my post copied from the other forum, it's working for me and the guy who asked about it in the first place:

Heya, welcome to the forums!

Even if they are unable to implement a mapping function in the game itself there are many open source gamepad mapping programs available where you can assign keyboard presses or even combos and mouse functions to each button. I'm currently using a program called JoyToKey and an Xbox360 controller to navigate windows and play trials!

http://www.electracode.com/4/joy2key/JoyToKey%20English%20Version.htm

Works a treat, let us know if you find it helpful.