PDA

View Full Version : Enviorments



rlmergeuser
03-22-2008, 12:33 PM
I thought it would be nice to have some diferent enviorments for the upcoming tracks maybe. Such as outdoor dirt / rock (like the previous trial versions). Or city like with cars, truks maybe small buildings.

I came up with the idea for the outdoor stuff from that topic about hight and distance competition track. Especially for the hight tracks this would be great.

somthing like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UHYktY-5QD8

sebastianaalton
03-22-2008, 01:38 PM
We have already discussed about new environments. The next Trials game will have completely new set of objects and backgrounds. We still haven't decided if it's going to be outdoor or indoor environment, but outdoor looks propable as we are currently developing a game with large outdoor environments, and developing new terrain rendering engine for it. It would be natural to use the same terrain engine in a forthcoming Trials game.

rlmergeuser
03-22-2008, 01:52 PM
The next trilas game???

Would it be nice to do those new enviorments in this game so we can all compete with the same players and have the curend high scores, exetera...

sebastianaalton
03-22-2008, 02:07 PM
A new environment set (objects, textures and materials) takes around 100 megabytes of space for indoor environments, and likely 200-300 megabytes for outdoor environments (terrain materials have to be really high res to look good in closeups). Adding outdoor environments to the game would make the installer at least 3 times as large as it's currently. We want to support people with dial up connections too. We would have to replace the current environment set with the outdoor environment set to keep the installer small enough.

Also a completely new object and material set takes around a month or two (full 8 hours a day) for a graphic artist to draw and model. Our materials have up to 12 per pixel properly layers, and the graphics artist has to hand draw all of them (except ambient occlusion layer with is calculated by a tool created for this purpose). It's quite a work.

rlmergeuser
03-22-2008, 06:23 PM
Ah wel i understand that it takes a lot of time and hard work to completely create a new enviorment an all that http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif

But thanks for the info, i realy cant wait to see what comes out in the future.

rlmergeuser
04-03-2008, 09:28 AM
A new environment set (objects, textures and materials) takes around 100 megabytes of space for indoor environments, and likely 200-300 megabytes for outdoor environments (terrain materials have to be really high res to look good in closeups). Adding outdoor environments to the game would make the installer at least 3 times as large as it's currently. We want to support people with dial up connections too. We would have to replace the current environment set with the outdoor environment set to keep the installer small enough.

Also a completely new object and material set takes around a month or two (full 8 hours a day) for a graphic artist to draw and model. Our materials have up to 12 per pixel properly layers, and the graphics artist has to hand draw all of them (except ambient occlusion layer with is calculated by a tool created for this purpose). It's quite a work.

Sorry to burst your bubble but I really think that people don't have dial up anymore... Well a few might but I doubt they play trials. http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_razz.gif

sebastianaalton
04-03-2008, 10:10 AM
Sorry to burst your bubble but I really think that people don't have dial up anymore... Well a few might but I doubt they play trials. http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_razz.gif

Dial up has been dead in Finland for many years now, as we have super cheap broadband available everywhere. But you have to think about other countries as well. If you have heard about broadband prices in developing countries (hundreds of dollars a month for 256mbit), you understand why most of them still use dialups. And in US countryside there are still many dial-up users too.

Also wireless laptop connections are used by more and more players. GPRS wireless is actually slower than 56k modem. EDGE and 3G are faster, but not that much (especially if you are not living in a big city).

Trials 2 Second Edition takes currently around 40 minutes to download on a 512kbit/s ADSL. On 256kbit/s it takes around 80 minutes. Doubling or tripling downloading times already this long (on broadband connections) is not something we want.

rlmergeuser
04-03-2008, 11:36 AM
Sorry to burst your bubble but I really think that people don't have dial up anymore... Well a few might but I doubt they play trials. http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_razz.gif

Dial up has been dead in Finland for many years now, as we have super cheap broadband available everywhere. But you have to think about other countries as well. If you have heard about broadband prices in developing countries (hundreds of dollars a month for 256mbit), you understand why most of them still use dialups. And in US countryside there are still many dial-up users too.

Also wireless laptop connections are used by more and more players. GPRS wireless is actually slower than 56k modem. EDGE and 3G are faster, but not that much (especially if you are not living in a big city).

Trials 2 Second Edition takes currently around 40 minutes to download on a 512mbit/s ADSL. On 256mbit/s it takes around 80 minutes. Doubling or tripling downloading times already this long (on broadband connections) is not something we want.

First of all, you must mean 512Kb/s and 256Kb/s because 512mbit/s connection would be super fast http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_biggrin.gif But if you make a new trials game with outdoor environment, can I use trials 2 SE serial to activate it? Or is it a WHOLE new game?

sebastianaalton
04-03-2008, 11:57 AM
First of all, you must mean 512Kb/s and 256Kb/s because 512mbit/s connection would be super fast http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_biggrin.gif But if you make a new trials game with outdoor environment, can I use trials 2 SE serial to activate it? Or is it a WHOLE new game?

Oops, a small typo between M and K http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif. 512 megabit connection would be pretty expensive even here in Finland http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif

Outdoor environment requires us to create a new terrain rendering engine in addition to all the outdoor graphics. This is way too big change to introduce in future Trials 2 upgrades (even if Trials 2 Third Edition comes out in the future). Trials 2 is going to have only indoor tracks. But don't worry, there will be a lot of downloadable tracks. v1.06 patch will introduce 2 new levels, and we have planned to release at least one extra level with every new patch.

We haven't currently even started designing Trials 3, and we do not know what sales channels are we going to use for distibuting it (maybe PC DVD box distribution, maybe steam, maybe console online stores, maybe a full sized console game) and we don't know yet if we are going to release it alone or with a publisher. Most likely Trials 3 server infrastructure and activation scheme is not compatible with the Trials 2 (all publishers and disribution channels prefer slightly different ways to activate products). It's not something we can decide on our own. It's too early to speculate about the feature set of Trials 3.

rlmergeuser
04-03-2008, 02:52 PM
First of all, you must mean 512Kb/s and 256Kb/s because 512mbit/s connection would be super fast http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_biggrin.gif But if you make a new trials game with outdoor environment, can I use trials 2 SE serial to activate it? Or is it a WHOLE new game?

Oops, a small typo between M and K http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif. 512 megabit connection would be pretty expensive even here in Finland http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif

Outdoor environment requires us to create a new terrain rendering engine in addition to all the outdoor graphics. This is way too big change to introduce in future Trials 2 upgrades (even if Trials 2 Third Edition comes out in the future). Trials 2 is going to have only indoor tracks. But don't worry, there will be a lot of downloadable tracks. v1.06 patch will introduce 2 new levels, and we have planned to release at least one extra level with every new patch.

We haven't currently even started designing Trials 3, and we do not know what sales channels are we going to use for distibuting it (maybe PC DVD box distribution, maybe steam, maybe console online stores, maybe a full sized console game) and we don't know yet if we are going to release it alone or with a publisher. Most likely Trials 3 server infrastructure and activation scheme is not compatible with the Trials 2 (all publishers and disribution channels prefer slightly different ways to activate products). It's not something we can decide on our own. It's too early to speculate about the feature set of Trials 3.

Ah, ok. thanks for the information http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif

rlmergeuser
04-03-2008, 03:24 PM
maybe a full sized console game

For the love of jebus, please don't even think about not releasing it on PC.

Please? http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif

sebastianaalton
04-03-2008, 03:34 PM
For the love of jebus, please don't even think about not releasing it on PC.

Please? http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif

There has been no plans for Trials 3 yet. Nobody has thought about any platforms yet (except for PC of course). We don't even know yet if Trials 3 will be ever released. Keeping Trials 2 Second Edition up to date and making new levels for it is now our main target (among other non-Trials projects we are doing of course).

rlmergeuser
04-03-2008, 03:40 PM
Yeah yeah I know ;)

Just trying to hammer in the PC concept, I don't believe in consoles ^^

rlmergeuser
04-04-2008, 11:48 AM
so where are you going to release the boxed version of trials 2? are you just releasing it in certain parts or world wide? i know of at least 10 people where i am that would buy it.

RedLynxANBA
04-04-2008, 11:59 AM
Current box version is now for review purphoses only (dvd are coming soon) and actual game is now planned to sell on digital distribution.

So we cannot promise it will be boxed.