PDA

View Full Version : A new players question: buy packs now or wait for patch?

Breetai_Prime
03-19-2014, 12:01 AM
Hi, I started playing yesterday and I still have no clue what's going on in this game.
My question is regarding the upcoming basic set changes. I am trying to understand what are the pros and cons of buying packs now, compared to waiting for after the patch and buying from basic set 2. I understand the current basic set won't be available anymore later. I opened about 8 packs so far. I have 62K gold and and 1.2K seals. One option I was considering is to split my investment: use all my gold now, and save the seals for the 3k champions box (or some other box) after the patch.

Any tips will be very appreciated. :D

npavcec
03-19-2014, 12:22 AM
Any tips will be very appreciated. :D

Spend all the gold you can get, save seals. That is what I would do.

gabusan
03-19-2014, 02:56 AM
Since you just started, your best option would be to invest only in the new format (base set 2), coming up soon in april. Dont buy anything now. Save your gold and seals. Once expansion is released, buy a box of the new expansion with seals. That will provide you with useful cards for base set 2 and (probably, we dont know for sure) more wild cards than buying anything else. Save those wild cards. You will need them to get rare cards you need.

As for the gold, I think the best option for this tactic is to save it for basic set (reinforcement packs) after the release of base set 2. If you buy reinforcement packs before the release of base set 2, you might get "open format only" cards that you will only be able to use in the open format. And you should really prepare for the new base set 2 format, that is where the fun will be for you. It will be a long time before you can compete in open format, and most people like you will be playing in base set 2 format.