PDA

View Full Version : Increase what settings?



SuperfastOz
08-28-2004, 10:48 AM
Hey. Please see the screenshot I linked below.

Notice where I am aiming and the plain look of the ground. Now when I get closer it gets more detailed like it is slightly lower over to the right. I want to make it so this stuff gets more detailed a LOT earlier, but cannot work which settings to change. Hopefully you understand what I mean. Thanks in advance.

edit: This is with settings already set to full.


http://img45.exs.cx/img45/4191/FarCry18.jpg

SuperfastOz
08-28-2004, 10:48 AM
Hey. Please see the screenshot I linked below.

Notice where I am aiming and the plain look of the ground. Now when I get closer it gets more detailed like it is slightly lower over to the right. I want to make it so this stuff gets more detailed a LOT earlier, but cannot work which settings to change. Hopefully you understand what I mean. Thanks in advance.

edit: This is with settings already set to full.


http://img45.exs.cx/img45/4191/FarCry18.jpg

ashasha
08-28-2004, 11:13 AM
Antistropic Filtering should be the setting that makes more detail at further distances. Default is at "1", try boosting that to see where it gets you. Just a word of warning depending on your system AF will drop your framerates considerably as you set it higher.

EsP_OzZie
08-28-2004, 01:58 PM
I think you find it AA which makes it smoother in the distance. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v248/EsP_OzZie/9973.jpg
ozzie_987@hotmail.com

EsP_OzZie
08-28-2004, 01:58 PM
I think you find its AA which makes it smoother in the distance. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v248/EsP_OzZie/9973.jpg
ozzie_987@hotmail.com

SuperfastOz
08-28-2004, 05:11 PM
I used the config program and went into Advanced and set AF to 16, AA is set "High" I don't know if I can set it higher.

System is:

AMD Athlon 64 3200+
1Gb RAM
Radeon X800 XT PE 256mb

ashasha
08-29-2004, 04:55 PM
http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0%2C1558%2C1607374%2C00.asp

This gives a very good explaination of AA and AF and has some screenshots to help demonstrate the diffences. AA removes the stairstepping patter on the edges of objects.

http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1558,1155165,00.asp

This link also has some more technical info if that is what you are looking for.

In reality it probably is a combination of AA and AF that would help the most, but most cards use what is adaptive methods for these, if the card tried to apply filtering to every single grain of sand or leaf it would be a slideshow. In order to prevent that there is a threshold of distance and on scene rendering that it does. These new cards are very fast, but that amount of bandwidth that it would require is not even available. You'd need atleast 10 of these cards in some kind of SLI mode or something and even then...

Plus there are other limitations, like resolution, if it is too low it just won't have enough pixels available to create the image sharply. At that distance you may need to be at a higher resolution to even be able to display that much detail. If you have 100 pixles worth of data but only 10 pixels to show it then it is only going to use 10 pixels. That is why I use my monitors native resolution of 1280*1024 and no AF or AA rather than 1024*768 with AA and AF. The edges are little smoother, but it all looks a little blurred even with the filtering on. There just aren't enough pixels to recreate the detail, plus if you are using an LCD then it has to interpolate the lower reolution to fill the screen. Kind of like zooming in on a low resolution JPG, it just doesn't have the detail in there.

The FC engine also is pretty smart, it won't render as much detail far away as close, most games do this. It would cripple any HW out there, plus in real life there isn't that much detail the further away you are. You are looking at a 3D image on a flat 2D screen. You wouldn't see individual grains of sand from 100M away! They are supposed to be a little blurry.

Crank up the resolution and apply some filtering (if your card can still run fast enough to play it). After that there is nothing else you can do. Also the level of texture quality in the video settings should be set as high as you can and still play. This has a lot to do with it as well. I run at max there and then start backing off on things like shadows and particles to get the framerate back up.

ashasha
08-30-2004, 10:34 AM
Here is a great pic of AF

http://www.tweaktown.com/popImg.php?img=AAAF4.png