PDA

View Full Version : Enabling Triple Buffer For V-Sync Goodness



Wrath2Zero
01-27-2014, 12:15 PM
Black Flag supports triple buffer but there is a bug that limits the frame-rate to 30fps when v-sync is on. To get around this is simple.

Make sure you do this while in-game(load your game save) not at the title screen, since the title screen and menu are not frame-rate locked at 30fps.

1. Enable V-Sync via your driver control settings(In-game option doesn't affect this))

2. While in the game when your save has loaded, hit Windows key, L key and you'll be put at the lock screen.

3. Enter password and click the game on your task bar to go back into it.

Triple buffer is now enabled with no 30fps frame-rate lock This will enable much smoother gameplay with V-sync on and no screen tearing. I intend to report this as a bug.

V-sync on in-game and driver forced - 29.9fps
http://i42.tinypic.com/11kwh0w.jpg

Windows key, L key trick, V-sync on, Triple buffered - 54.9fps

http://i41.tinypic.com/dr71q9.jpg

Frag_Maniac
01-27-2014, 09:21 PM
No need for all that. Just use Direct3D Overrider to force Triple Buffering. With in game Vsync or via D3DO, performance is about the same, and it removes the 30 FPS cap.

Wrath2Zero
01-28-2014, 09:21 AM
No need for all that. Just use Direct3D Overrider to force Triple Buffering. With in game Vsync or via D3DO, performance is about the same, and it removes the 30 FPS cap.

No, in-game v-sync does not remove the frame-rate lock bug. If you look at the sky the frame-rate jumps up but just walking around the frame-rate is locked at 30fps. The trick I put up works around this and I have fully tested it. Currently reporting it as a bug. No need for d3doverrider when the game has native triple buffer support.

DiabolicalJavi
01-28-2014, 10:00 PM
D3DOverrider does the same thing, good to hear.