PDA

View Full Version : Need purchasing advice for PS3 or XBox

thoman23
12-11-2013, 07:06 AM
I currently play Rocksmith on PC, and have never owned a gaming console. BandFuse seems to be getting decent enough reviews that I'm tempted to try it, and need a PS3 or XBox. I would never get a console just for one game, but it turns out I also am in need of a standalone DVD/Blu-Ray player, so maybe I can kill two birds with one stone. But like I said, I'm brand new to the consoles so I have a few questions:

- As far as I can tell, PS3 is the way to go if I want a Blu-Ray player too. Is there any reason not to go the PS3 route in my case? Does the PS3 have more issues/troubles than Xbox or anything like that? In other words, I don't want to accidentally buy the inferior platform just because I want the Blu-Ray player.
- I am thinking of getting something used off EBay. Is there anything I should look out for? Any known problems with particular generations of PS3 or something? If I am only going to play the one game and watch movies, can I just get the cheapest one I can find?
- Do all versions of PS3 have analog audio out?
- It seems like used PS3's are running about $160 to $180. Does that sound about right? I was hoping they'd be cheaper with the new gen coming out, but I guess not.

Phalaris99504
12-11-2013, 10:47 AM
I currently play Rocksmith on PC, and have never owned a gaming console. BandFuse seems to be getting decent enough reviews that I'm tempted to try it, and need a PS3 or XBox. I would never get a console just for one game, but it turns out I also am in need of a standalone DVD/Blu-Ray player, so maybe I can kill two birds with one stone. But like I said, I'm brand new to the consoles so I have a few questions: