PDA

View Full Version : Online Play and Firewalls



XyZspineZyX
10-29-2003, 12:09 AM
I can't manage to play on ubi.com or HL because my school has put up a firewall, but i was wondering if i could directly connect to dedicated servers or if any of you knew of a way i could get around the firewall.

thanks for any insight

XyZspineZyX
10-29-2003, 12:09 AM
I can't manage to play on ubi.com or HL because my school has put up a firewall, but i was wondering if i could directly connect to dedicated servers or if any of you knew of a way i could get around the firewall.

thanks for any insight

XyZspineZyX
10-29-2003, 02:50 AM
Just a guess but it must be some other program stopping you from playing on the internet.

I have a firewall on all the time. No probs getting online and playing. And people flying on my servers comment about how much they like the server.



<center>Beebop-ProudBirds-VFW<center>http://www.uploadit.org/files/230903-Beebop%20Sig.jpg

XyZspineZyX
10-29-2003, 03:12 AM
I have a firewall too...no problems...although when I had McAffe I couldnt do anything but surf... I couldnt even get on the zone back when I was flying there...before I saw the light of IL2.....in the dark days......

<CENTER>http://www.world-wide-net.com/tuskegeeairmen/ta-1943.jpg <marquee><FONT COLOR="RED"><FONT SIZE="+1">"Straighten up.......Fly right..~S~"<FONT SIZE> </marquee> http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat

<CENTER><FONT COLOR="ORANGE">vflyer@comcast.net<FONT COLOR>
<Center><div style="width:200;color:red;font-size:18pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=red,strength=8)">99th Pursuit Squadron

Message Edited on 10/28/0309:12PM by Bearcat99

XyZspineZyX
10-29-2003, 05:00 AM
usually firewalls just stop you from hosting. must either be a real strong firewall (or annoying/cheap) or a firewall isnt your problem

your job isnt to die for your country...its to make the other guy die for his

XyZspineZyX
10-29-2003, 09:47 AM
It's a school fire-wall - and may be enforcing protection.

They probably only opened a limited set of ports - on an at need basis.



Check your written site rules first - and if you don't see any restriction against games play ...

... ask the Network administrator whether there is a policy about on-line games play - and see if they will open up the ports.

You'd probably want the hyper-lobby port opened too (or does that use a common/usual port?)


I have to say - if I was your Network administrator - I'd say "No"

<div align="center">

http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/il2/signature/paint_sig_003.jpg

I've given up correcting my own spelling
Unless I've corrected it here <MAP NAME="paint_sig_003"><AREA SHAPE="rect" COORDS="0,159,199,199" HREF="http://www.il2airracing.com" TARGET="_blank" alt="Air Racing" title="Air Racing"><AREA SHAPE="rect" COORDS="0,0,199,159" HREF="http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/" title="Painter's home page" alt="Painter's home page"><AREA SHAPE="rect" COORDS="199,0,399,199" HREF="http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/il2/index.html" TARGET="_blank" alt="Painter's IL2 Pages" title="Painter's IL2 Pages">
</MAP></div>

Tully__
10-29-2003, 09:58 AM
What Painter said.

The FAQ at http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/ has information about the correct port for Hyperlobby. You'll also need extra ports open for Ubi Games Service to play at Ubi. Not sure where to look for information, but if you ask here in the technical support forum someone will know.

<center> ================================================== ========================= </center>

<center> <img src=http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/Corsair.jpg> </center>

<center> Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm) </center>
<center> Sig size limits (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=yzrgs)</center>
<center><font size="-2" color="#88aadd">IL2 Forums Moderator</font></center>


Salut
Tully