PDA

View Full Version : Flak bug on dialup?



XyZspineZyX
06-30-2003, 08:06 AM
I have noticed that since I went back to dialup before I move a very serious bug with Flak. Every coop I have flown in where we attack anything protected by flak I get killed with one shot, and not just a PK but actually blown to pieces. Does not matter how much or how little there is I always get nailed, when I had broadband up until a few weeks ago I never had this problem, but now I have it. I seriously am not trolling but want to see if anyone else has experienced it, or if it is just my crappy luck lately.
~S!
Eagle
CO 361st vFG

<center>----------------------------------------------------------------------------</center> <center> www.361stvfg.com</center> (http://www.361stvfg.com</center>)

<center> <img src=http://www.angelfire.lycos.com/art2/devilart/CindyII.jpg> </center>

XyZspineZyX
06-30-2003, 08:06 AM
I have noticed that since I went back to dialup before I move a very serious bug with Flak. Every coop I have flown in where we attack anything protected by flak I get killed with one shot, and not just a PK but actually blown to pieces. Does not matter how much or how little there is I always get nailed, when I had broadband up until a few weeks ago I never had this problem, but now I have it. I seriously am not trolling but want to see if anyone else has experienced it, or if it is just my crappy luck lately.
~S!
Eagle
CO 361st vFG

<center>----------------------------------------------------------------------------</center> <center> www.361stvfg.com</center> (http://www.361stvfg.com</center>)

<center> <img src=http://www.angelfire.lycos.com/art2/devilart/CindyII.jpg> </center>

XyZspineZyX
06-30-2003, 09:27 AM
Crappy luck is what it sounds like. I was on dial up until about 2 weeks ago, upgrading to 1.5m DSL did little for me in FB. Dodging 20-25mm's is a little easier cause there is no longer a 1 second lag from the time the hosts computer fires and when the hosts computer see's my evasion, but the big stuff that blows you into a million pieces hasn't been effected. To be honest, the only reason I upgraded to DSL is because my old 56k provider failed to provide reliable service. And DSL was from someone else only $5 more, so why not/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif . Only 1 game has been greatly affected, and that is Medal of Honor. But That game has the single worst net code in the history of games. 1.5m DSL bairly cuts it with that game/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif .

----------------------------------------
I/JG1 Oesau (http://jg1-oesau.org) is recruiting. Join us!

Stab.I/JG1Death at HL, Maj_Death at Ubi.com

As we all know, the Soviet Union had too many fighter pilots during WW2. So Stalin's scientists came up with a brillient way to solve this problem. They would make some of their pilots fly British made Hurricanes. The Hurricane was an uber flying coffin. It was designed to maximize pilot kills by providing nothing but fabric and a few wooden spars around the cockpit. This setup prevented the pilot from escaping easily while at the same time not interfering with enemy bullets and shrapnel trying to pass through it. The rest of the Hurricanes structure was designed to ricochet bullets and shrapnel into the cockpit. And thanks to the cockpits superb design, all of them would pass through the cockpit and the pilot inside with little difficulty. Of course the Hurricane's designers didn't stop there. In order for the Hurricane to become a flying coffin, they had to make it easy to shoot. They did this by making the Hurricane the slowest monoplane fighter in use at the time and even gave it a very bulky shape so that it would be easy to spot and hit. The final feature of the Hurricane was its ability to bury or cremate itself. And because it was made of biodegradable materials, the Hurricane was environmentally friendly after it buried itself. Because of these brillient features, the Hurricane was a perfect flying coffin and helped the Soviets solve the pilot surplus they were suffering.
http://www.bestanimations.com/Humans/Skulls/Skull-06.gif

Message Edited on 06/30/0303:27AM by Maj_Death

XyZspineZyX
06-30-2003, 03:58 PM
This problem is caused by high latencies and 'LaGG' /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif . I know it.

Flak gets precise when the targets stays at it's course. It the plane starts evading by changing altitude, speed and course, the Flak is less accurate. Now while you LaGG, you plane appears to fly straight on the host machine, same speed, same course, same climb/sink rate. There you have it -> Flak gets much more precise and there's a very high probability to get a direct hit.

Very often when I had really big LaGGs like 5-10+sec (even due to graphical stutters) and at the same time beeing over enemy Flak, I just was killed after the LaGG. Nothing was there, just a big explosion.



<hr>

<p align=center style="width:100%; filter:glow[color=#33CCFF, strength=2)">

<img src=http://mitglied.lycos.de/eldur190d9/bilder/willey110.jpg border=0 alt="Hier geht's zur I/JG78"> (http://www.jg78.de)

Reduced sig due to word filter</p><font color=59626B>

XyZspineZyX
06-30-2003, 04:23 PM
Willey wrote:
- This problem is caused by high latencies and 'LaGG'
- /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif . I know it.
-
- Flak gets precise when the targets stays at it's
- course. It the plane starts evading by changing
- altitude, speed and course, the Flak is less
- accurate. Now while you LaGG, you plane appears to
- fly straight on the host machine, same speed, same
- course, same climb/sink rate. There you have it ->
- Flak gets much more precise and there's a very high
- probability to get a direct hit.
-
- Very often when I had really big LaGGs like 5-10+sec
- (even due to graphical stutters) and at the same
- time beeing over enemy Flak, I just was killed after
- the LaGG. Nothing was there, just a big explosion.
-
-
Yep, that is exactly what is happening to me and I also get nasty screen freezes now. So it is more or less my crappy luck and crappy connection more than the game. Boy I can't wait till I move and can have my Cable back. Thanks guys
~S!
Eagle
CO 361st vFG

<center>----------------------------------------------------------------------------</center> <center> www.361stvfg.com</center> (http://www.361stvfg.com</center>)

<center> <img src=http://www.angelfire.lycos.com/art2/devilart/CindyII.jpg> </center>

XyZspineZyX
06-30-2003, 07:24 PM
Yep i got the same problem , buht i`m on cable.
Line up for a good bomb drop in my he111 is not impossible buht its very rare i got NOT shoot down by flak.
My deads in coops and team missions in HL are 95% by flak and 3% by enamy fighters and 2% by ahter things.
Buht from 8000 alt or more its more safer to line up for target drop.
And stuka dive bombing well the dive-angel is playing a big part in it.
to low ! kaboem flak got u , to high dive-angel ! kaboem flak got u.
Oh and ships? dont puht tham in ure mission , the shoot u from ure home base to heaven lol.
and mostly its in the first flak shoots
More than 3 flak shoots say to me that i cane survive it lol
Hoping for behter time`s after the pahts.

greatings I/KG26_Oranje

http://sc.groups.msn.com/tn/A0/20/IKG26/3/37.jpg
http://sc.groups.msn.com/tn/A0/20/IKG26/3/20.jpg



Message Edited on 06/30/0306:24PM by KG26_Oranje