PDA

View Full Version : what am i doing wrong? :(



Poppy222
02-16-2004, 11:56 PM
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif
i get new version of game and when ever i try enter a server from ubi.com or ASE, i just get a timed out message. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

why is it? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

i really wanna try online play.

Poppy222
02-16-2004, 11:56 PM
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif
i get new version of game and when ever i try enter a server from ubi.com or ASE, i just get a timed out message. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

why is it? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

i really wanna try online play.

Poppy222
02-17-2004, 12:28 AM
.

Cajun76
02-17-2004, 12:33 AM
Do you have IL2, or IL2: Forgotten Battles? The following is for FB.



You probably don't have the patch. Go here (http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/ubisoft.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=8973&p_created=1074545228). It's version 1.22

Btw, welcome to IL2. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Good hunting,
Cajun76

http://img12.photobucket.com/albums/v30/Cajun76/Realfire_02.gif
Have you thanked a veteran today?

Old_Canuck
02-17-2004, 12:36 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Poppy222:
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif
i get new version of game and when ever i try enter a server from ubi.com or ASE, i just get a timed out message. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

why is it? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

i really wanna try online play.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Sounds like you might need the latest patch. Here's the link:

http://www.il2sturmovik.com/games_elts/fb_updates.php

Read the documentation thoroughly. If it's out of the box IL2 FB you just need the one relevant patch. Also, be sure to check the links on Sturmovik Essentials near the top of the general forum page.

Happy Flying http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

OC

"You don't stop playing because you grow old, you grow old because you stop playing."

Cajun76
02-17-2004, 12:39 AM
The original IL2 patches and upgrades are here (http://www.il2sturmovik.com/games_elts/updates.php).

You'll need :

il2upgrade_1.1a.exe (75 MB)
1.2 upgrade

in that order. If your wanting to learn and use the training tracks, don't upgrade yet. Use the training tracks, and then upgrade.

Good hunting,
Cajun76

http://img12.photobucket.com/albums/v30/Cajun76/Realfire_02.gif
Have you thanked a veteran today?

clint-ruin
02-17-2004, 12:41 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Poppy222:
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif
i get new version of game and when ever i try enter a server from ubi.com or ASE, i just get a timed out message. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

why is it? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

i really wanna try online play.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

One alternative - if by 'new version' you mean you've gotten FB instead of Il2, or replaced FB1.00 with 1.22 - is that some firewall/crc checker software will block access to the internet to 'new' executable files. On some display adatpters, Il2's menus can prevent alt-tabbing or overdraw of prompts on the desktop, so if your blackice or zonealarm or kerio firewall is prompting you to let FB out onto the internet, you might not see it.

One of many alternatives, though.

http://home.iprimus.com.au/djgwen/fb/leninkoba.jpg

Poppy222
02-17-2004, 02:36 AM
i have il2 fb

and its v 1.22

Arnie_OT
02-17-2004, 02:41 AM
Have you got a firewall? Firewalls like Zonealarm can ask you if FB itself may access the internet, but wont pop up over FB when loading. Try adding FB to the list of programs if this is the case.

Destraex
02-17-2004, 02:49 AM
Poppy what version of Hyperlobby have you got?

Poppy222
02-17-2004, 06:44 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Destraex:
Poppy what version of Hyperlobby have you got?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

i confused?

i only have the ubi thing and ASE

hyperlobby differnt?

VW-IceFire
02-17-2004, 06:53 AM
User HyperLobby: http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/

Great program.

You're timing out on connecting may have to do with your internet settings rather than the game itself.

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/temp_sig1.jpg
The New IL2 Database is Coming Soon!

Capt.LoneRanger
02-17-2004, 07:29 AM
I guess you play on LANs sometimes or have a LAN/Router to get to the internet?

The problem with ASE and Ubi is the fact, that it takes your primary LAN-address and sends it out to the internet. The server then tries to connect to that IP, but that is different from the IP you got in the internet, so you get a time out.

You can do two things:
1. If you're not behind a router, check the network settings for LAN and select automatically get IP-Address.
The LAN-IP is then irrelevant, when on the internet.
2. Run IL2Setup in your game-folder. The last tab is "network". In the middle, you can see an IP-tag. Click it and you'll see Default and 2 IP-Addresses (xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx) - The first one is the primary (LAN) IP, the second is the IP you got from your ISP. Select this one and click okay. Your timeout-problem should be gone then.
If you use this method, you have to reselect the ISP-IP (always the 2nd!), each time you re-enter the internet. That is because you get a different IP each time.

The most easy way around this:
Get hyperlobby. This program sets the ISP-IP correctly and you won't have any problems with IPs http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Hope it helps!


greets
Capt.LoneRanger

http://www.cptloneranger.privat.t-online.de/SIG2.jpg

Poppy222
02-18-2004, 12:29 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Capt.LoneRanger:
I guess you play on LANs sometimes or have a LAN/Router to get to the internet?

The problem with ASE and Ubi is the fact, that it takes your primary LAN-address and sends it out to the internet. The server then tries to connect to that IP, but that is different from the IP you got in the internet, so you get a time out.

You can do two things:
1. If you're not behind a router, check the network settings for LAN and select automatically get IP-Address.
The LAN-IP is then irrelevant, when on the internet.
2. Run IL2Setup in your game-folder. The last tab is "network". In the middle, you can see an IP-tag. Click it and you'll see Default and 2 IP-Addresses (xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx) - The first one is the primary (LAN) IP, the second is the IP you got from your ISP. Select this one and click okay. Your timeout-problem should be gone then.
If you use this method, you have to reselect the ISP-IP (always the 2nd!), each time you re-enter the internet. That is because you get a different IP each time.

The most easy way around this:
Get hyperlobby. This program sets the ISP-IP correctly and you won't have any problems with IPs http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Hope it helps!


greets
Capt.LoneRanger

http://www.cptloneranger.privat.t-online.de/SIG2.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

so if i get hyperlobby it should select that ip automaticly so i wouldnt have to do it manually?

Capt.LoneRanger
02-18-2004, 05:37 AM
If you CONNECT via Hyperlobby, you won't need to make these settings - correct.

But, since it is not really clear, as you put it: You cannot install HL and expect to connect via ASE or Ubi without problems. Just to make that clear.

Besides that, if you're used to ASE & Ubi, you'll be stunned by the number of servers and players available. I absolutely recommend HL!!!


greets
Capt.LoneRanger

http://www.cptloneranger.privat.t-online.de/SIG2.jpg

Poppy222
02-18-2004, 07:13 AM
okie dokie http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

michapma
02-18-2004, 07:27 AM
This is a fun thread. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

http://www.baseclass.modulweb.dk/69giap/fileadmin/Image_Archive/badges/69giap_badge_chap.jpg (http://giap.webhop.info)

The ongoing IL-2 User's Guide (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/il2guide/) | Forgotten Skies (http://www.forgottenskies.com/)
But we are all that way: when we know a thing we have only scorn for other people who don't happen to know it. - Mark Twain, Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc

Sturmtrooper
02-18-2004, 07:59 AM
Start Menu &gt; All Programs &gt; Ubi Soft &gt; Forgotten Battles &gt; Set Up &gt; Network .
Choose what type of connection you are using .
Then open the IP window and select the bottom IP address in the list . You must be connected to the internet for this IP number to show .

http://home.bellsouth.net/coDataImages/p/Groups/183/183586/pages/456377/untitled1.gif