PDA

View Full Version : AC4: Black Flag exe crash on historical disclaimer



vimtoz
11-23-2013, 07:49 PM
Hello

so my game is crashing on the start up when you see the historical disclaimer of the game. its a fresh install and a fresh windows install all drivers are up to date aswell.
here is a copy of the event log:

Log Name: Application
Source: Application Error
Date: 23/11/2013 18:19:40
Event ID: 1000
Task Category: (100)
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Hinata-PC
Description:
Faulting application name: AC4BFSP.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x5285f99f
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7601.18247, time stamp: 0x521ea8e7
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000222d2
Faulting process id: 0x10b8
Faulting application start time: 0x01cee8788cc91a0c
Faulting application path: F:\Programs\Uplay\Ubisoft Game Launcher\games\Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag\AC4BFSP.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ntdll.dll
Report Id: d0a61db8-546b-11e3-8db3-8c89a5c38f13
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2013-11-23T18:19:40.000000000Z" />
<EventRecordID>1464</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>Hinata-PC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>AC4BFSP.exe</Data>
<Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
<Data>5285f99f</Data>
<Data>ntdll.dll</Data>
<Data>6.1.7601.18247</Data>
<Data>521ea8e7</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>000222d2</Data>
<Data>10b8</Data>
<Data>01cee8788cc91a0c</Data>
<Data>F:\Programs\Uplay\Ubisoft Game Launcher\games\Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag\AC4BFSP.exe</Data>
<Data>C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ntdll.dll</Data>
<Data>d0a61db8-546b-11e3-8db3-8c89a5c38f13</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>

and also a link here to my Dxdiag: https://db.tt/mbqsRrex

Any suggestions would be great :)

Raido0812
08-06-2014, 10:06 PM
Hi,

Did you manage to ever get this sorted out?

I'm also having the same error. Same Exception Code of 0xc0000005, same Fault Offset of 0x000222d2 also saying it's coming from ntdll.ddl

My setup is quite different to yours though, I've got a gigabyte motherboard, an ATI graphcis card.

UbiDuchess
08-06-2014, 10:50 PM
Hey guys, I apologize for the trouble you're having running the game.

If you purchased the game via Steam, try verifying the game cache:
1. Open Steam and access the game lobby
2. Right click the game title
3. Choose properties
4. Switch to the local files tab
5. Choose Verify Integrity of Game Cache

Run selective startup to make sure no other applications are contributing to the issue:
1. Open the windows start menu
2. In the search box type in msconfig and press enter
3. On the general tab, check Selective Startup
4. Uncheck Load Startup Items
5. Choose Apply and OK
6. Restart system and try game

If you would like additional troubleshooting assistance, please send your dxdiag to Support via https://support.ubi.com and PM me with your ticket number. Thanks!

Raido0812
08-06-2014, 11:30 PM
Hi,

Mine is the Retail version, not Steam.
I've just tried removing all startup items (and also disabled all non-microsoft services). Unfortunately still not working.
I'll PM you my support ticket number, it's been bouncing back and forth for 3 weeks now, we've made progress from a black screen, to a a game crash with error message.
If it'll help to send the crash dmp file, let me know

YazX_
08-07-2014, 10:09 AM
Hi,

Mine is the Retail version, not Steam.
I've just tried removing all startup items (and also disabled all non-microsoft services). Unfortunately still not working.
I'll PM you my support ticket number, it's been bouncing back and forth for 3 weeks now, we've made progress from a black screen, to a a game crash with error message.
If it'll help to send the crash dmp file, let me know

most probably corrupted files, verify game files in UPlay:

1. Launch UPlay as admin.
2. Go to games.
3. Click on AC4:BF.
4. Click the arrow next to "Play SinglePlayer" button and select "Verify Game Files".

also it worth to check this thread:


http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/810031-AC4BFSP-exe-has-stopped-working?p=9922109&viewfull=1#post9922109

Raido0812
08-07-2014, 11:29 PM
most probably corrupted files, verify game files in UPlay:

1. Launch UPlay as admin.
2. Go to games.
3. Click on AC4:BF.
4. Click the arrow next to "Play SinglePlayer" button and select "Verify Game Files".

also it worth to check this thread:


http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/810031-AC4BFSP-exe-has-stopped-working?p=9922109&viewfull=1#post9922109


Yeah, I been asked by support to do that several times now. Just incase files somehow got corrupted, I've just tried it again, unfortunately still the same.
I've also tried running the game off of my onboard vga, but it gives same exception code and fault offset, indicating that it's likely not driver/graphics card related.

So far, with suggestions from forums and ubisoft support, I've tried a whole bunch of things.

Motherboard and graphics card drivers have been updated to the latest since the beginning.
I've also updated my BIOS to its latest version.

All EXE's for game and uplay and game launcher have been set to run as administrator.

I've tried reinstalling from dvd twice, also tried uninstalling uplay and the game, then re-install uplay and then download the entire game off ubisoft. (all 3 installations required to verify files to fix a few file issues). If after all these 3 tries, the files are still corrupt, then the "Verify Files" feature has a flaw in it that is not allowing it to have a higher verify accuracy.

My msconfig shows that the only startup apps, is ati's catalyst control center.

all non-microsoft services have also been switched off.

tried playing with only 1 monitor connected.
tried the dvi port only and the hdmi port only.
tried offline mode,
tried switching uplay overlay off
tried using vpn to simulate a different location so that I bypass the ISP cache of possible corrupted files.
tried setting compatibility mode to win xp sp2
tried uninstalling a specific windows update (suggestion from a blog post)
tried updating windows with all recommended updates and most optional updates.
tried using Chinese Windows Language Display,
tried using English Windows Language Display,
tried deleting save folder (although I've never gotten the game working, so there never was a save file)
tried downgrading graphics card drivers
tried beta graphics card drivers
tried searching generally for exception code 0xc0000005 and updated to .net 4.5.2 as a result.



and......
unfortunately, still the exact same exception code and fault offset.

YazX_
08-08-2014, 10:07 AM
hold on a min, per your last post it seems that you are stuck in verify files loop, everytime there are corrupted files, right? and could you plz specify your system specs and operating system?

Anyway, if that is the case, try to change the installation path of the game by:

1. Copy the game into any other drive.
2. Close UPlay, navigate to registry and change installdir value with new folder for these keys (TAKE BACKUP OF THESE KEYS BEFORE CHANGING THEIR VALUES):

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Ubisoft\As sassin's Creed IV Black Flag
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Ubisoft\La uncher\Installs\273


also i traced this case with other members and we narrowed it down to their routers, so here are the steps we took to solve the problem:

1. Use wired connection.
2. Disable all active network adapters from network and sharing center except the current one in use.
3. Reset your router and clear all traffic and sites filtering.
4. forward UPlay ports.
5. Enable Upnp.
6. Disable Anti-Virus/Anti-Spyware or add UPlay and Game to exceptions list.
7. Run UPlay as admin and verify files.

you can also try to reinstall prerequisites from:

[GAME INSTALLATION FOLDER]\Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag\Support\Common

Raido0812
08-08-2014, 05:14 PM
HI,

I WAS, stuck on a verify loop, but not anymore.
Here is an extract from the launcher log file. ( I just ran verify again yesterday just in case.)

[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:54:47 [ 812] INFO HubUtils.cpp (175)
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:54:47 [ 812] INFO HubUtils.cpp (176) -- Starting Ubisoft Game Launcher --
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:54:47 [ 812] INFO HubUtils.cpp (180) Platform: PC.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:54:47 [ 812] INFO HubUtils.cpp (183) Version: 3217.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:54:47 [ 812] INFO HubUtils.cpp (184) Built: Jul 2 2014.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:54:47 [ 812] INFO HubUtils.cpp (196) Command line:
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:54:47 [ 812] INFO Hub.cpp (275) Environment is PROD.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:54:47 [ 812] INFO UplayApplication.cpp (78) OS info: Microsoft Windows 7, 64-bit Ultimate Edition true (build 7601)
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:54:47 [ 1764] INFO ProxyDetect.cpp (131) Proxy is set to none.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:55:26 [ 1764] ERROR InetHttpConnection.cpp (871) Read from http://static2.cdn.ubi.com/feeds/uplay/live/news/uplay_news.json timed out.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:55:26 [ 1764] ERROR JobHttp.cpp (116) Http get was aborted for url http://static2.cdn.ubi.com/feeds/uplay/live/news/uplay_news.json.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:56:01 [ 4404] INFO GameStartPipe.cpp (81) Accepted connection.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:56:01 [ 4404] INFO GameStartPipe.cpp (82) Starting game session.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:56:01 [ 4404] INFO UplayGamesHandler.cpp (116) Accepted connection.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:56:01 [ 4404] INFO UplayGamesHandler.cpp (117) Starting Uplay game session.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:56:03 [ 2948] ERROR OverlayView.cpp (1038) Unhandled ui message MessageOverlayReady
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:56:04 [ 1764] INFO ProxyDetect.cpp (131) Proxy is set to none.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:56:04 [ 1764] INFO ProxyDetect.cpp (131) Proxy is set to none.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 22:56:04 [ 1764] INFO ProxyDetect.cpp (131) Proxy is set to none.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 23:00:56 [ 1764] ERROR InetHttpConnection.cpp (871) Read from http://static2.cdn.ubi.com/feeds/uplay/live/news/uplay_news.json timed out.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 23:00:56 [ 1764] ERROR JobHttp.cpp (116) Http get was aborted for url http://static2.cdn.ubi.com/feeds/uplay/live/news/uplay_news.json.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 23:06:27 [ 1764] ERROR InetHttpConnection.cpp (871) Read from http://static2.cdn.ubi.com/feeds/uplay/live/news/uplay_news.json timed out.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 23:06:27 [ 1764] ERROR JobHttp.cpp (116) Http get was aborted for url http://static2.cdn.ubi.com/feeds/uplay/live/news/uplay_news.json.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 23:09:56 [ 1764] INFO VerifyGame.cpp (312) Verify game completed. Corrupted files: 0 required: 0.
[ 4948] 2014-08-07 23:09:57 [ 1764] INFO VerifyGame.cpp (633) Verify completed
[ 3244] 2014-08-07 23:19:48 [ 3052] INFO HubUtils.cpp (175)



Anyways, Network connection is wired to the router, and all other adapters are disabled. My firewall has always been off, and last night I uninstalled avg and tried again but still the same.

The same happens even in offline mode, so I doubt the network connection is contributing to it. (again I'm assuming the fact that all files verify correctly means I no longer have corrupt files),
but as a software dev myself (albeit not in gaming), we all know that all software has bugs/flaws (that includes units tests too.)

Right now my support ticket status is "On Hold", I'm hoping that they find something soon.

Raido0812
08-08-2014, 05:21 PM
forgot to mention my system setup

I'm running Win7 x64 with sp1 and updated to latest windows updates

CPU: i3 socket 1155
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 (All drivers updated to latest, even updated the BIOS)
Graphics Card: Asus HD 5850, running ATI AMD's v14.4 driver

Dual monitor setup sony tv connected to the hdmi port, and samsung monitor connected via dvi, both on 1080p resolution

Main OS is on a 60GB SSD, currently 75% full
all programs installed onto separate hdd (Ubissoft game launcher, and all ubisoft games in same drive)
6 HDD's connected via sata, 3 HDD's via usb
1 card reader connected.

Raido0812
08-08-2014, 08:46 PM
newest update,
surprisingly multiplayer works. I can get past the disclaimer, see the loading screens, and start a training session.
There's no Audio though, but at least I know that it's not to do with my graphics card if it can get into the 3D portion of the game.

Still don't understand why Multiplayer will work, but not single player, and also don't understand why there's no audio in multiplayer.

Raido0812
08-13-2014, 08:40 PM
newest update,
surprisingly multiplayer works. I can get past the disclaimer, see the loading screens, and start a training session.
There's no Audio though, but at least I know that it's not to do with my graphics card if it can get into the 3D portion of the game.

Still don't understand why Multiplayer will work, but not single player, and also don't understand why there's no audio in multiplayer.


After almost a month of back and forth with Ubi Support, Finally got it working.
In the end, Uninstalling the game and then installing on a different drive did the trick.

UbiDuchess
08-13-2014, 10:26 PM
Oh man, I'm glad you finally got that squared away! I think I sent you a PM, make sure you check that if you haven't and get back to me. Thanks for the update!