PDA

View Full Version : Prices of Assassin's Creed in different countries.

alex009988
10-22-2013, 03:36 PM
Hi everyone. I'm a newbie on this forum and I've already paid for Assassin's creed 4 deluxe edition + season pack because I really love this game.
At the same time, I was surprised intensely for real as the prices differ from their analogue in each country about twice for the same product.
For example, let's take a look at amazon. Here we can see standard edition which costs 54,99€. As I understand, it is even not a deluxe version.
http://www.amazon.de/Assassins-Creed-Black-Edition-Steelcase/dp/B00BY99HMI
Now, go to a Russian shop called gamazavr.
http://gamazavr.ru/product/14684256/
It costs 999rubles, that is approximately 23,80€ or 30,30$.
In American shop, the price is 59,99$.
http://www.amazon.com/Assassins-Creed-IV-Black-Flag-Xbox/dp/B00BMFIXT2
Why is it so expensive in American and European shops? And why is here a reasonable price in Russia?

meeeellar
10-22-2013, 06:56 PM
People don't earn/have as much money in countries like Russia.

If companies charged the same price for games as they did in the rest of the EU and US then people living in Russia (and other countries with lower wages/earning) wouldn't be to afford their games and would most likely pirate them.

This is also the reason for games having region locking, so that people don't abuse the low prices in such countries.

Anykeyer
10-22-2013, 09:21 PM
This isnt true. Console games or even ms windows actually priced noticably higher in russia than US or EU. And ppl are buying.
Thats just PC games market, PC games were cheap for decades in ru and cis. Now imagine someone trying to sell you something at triple price when nearby store has the same at "normal" price. Its hard to change that.