PDA

View Full Version : Oleg, CH throttle quadrant& IL2



VFS-22_Aslan
03-22-2004, 11:30 AM
Oleg:

Will you be giving AEP the ability to utilize
products such as the CH throttle quadrant

http://store1.yimg.com/I/fsc_1783_2942871



6 Axis 24 Buttons
6 Physical Detents
Fully Programmable with CH Control Manager software

This would be awesome in IL2 AEP for sure!

VFS-22_Aslan
03-22-2004, 11:30 AM
Oleg:

Will you be giving AEP the ability to utilize
products such as the CH throttle quadrant

http://store1.yimg.com/I/fsc_1783_2942871



6 Axis 24 Buttons
6 Physical Detents
Fully Programmable with CH Control Manager software

This would be awesome in IL2 AEP for sure!

potver
03-23-2004, 02:52 AM
That would be great!

WWSensei
03-23-2004, 05:40 AM
Multi-quadrant throttle support and support for other flight-sim add-ons like GoFlight and SimKit (both with free SDK's for inclusion by a developer) would bring IL2/FB in-line with other sims. Right now FB is running about 3 years behind in flight sim control support...

BaldieJr
03-23-2004, 05:49 AM
I ask for more axis every two weeks, of course i'll bumpitup http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
______ _____
(, / ) /) /) , (, /
/---( _ // _(/ _ / __ ,""""]
+----/ ____)(_(_(/_(_(__(__(/____/__/ (__--------,' /---+
| / ( / ,' NR / |
|(_/ ..-""``"'-._ (_/ __,' 42 _/ |
+-.-"" "-..,____________/7,.--"" __]-----+

</pre>

Zen--
03-23-2004, 06:19 AM
Thats funny, when I talked about adding the D11/12, I was told we had too many Axis already.

-Zen-
Tracks (http://209.163.146.67/tracks)

Xnomad
03-23-2004, 11:56 AM
Yup me wants different axis for each engine on the P-38 and Bf 110 as I have a hotas and have a throttle on my stick (which I use for prop pitch at the moment however I only seem to use o% or 100% so I could use buttons)

http://www.xnomad.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/sig.jpg

Derzasi
03-23-2004, 08:02 PM
Bump.

We need more quadrants...those beautifull twins deserve it...(so do we,,,lol)

Derzasi

BaldieJr
03-24-2004, 09:55 AM
I've almost cracked USB and Human Interface Devices. Pretty soon, I'll have more sliders than you can shake a stick at. Too bad I can only use them in compteting products. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
______ _____
(, / ) /) /) , (, /
/---( _ // _(/ _ / __ ,""""]
+----/ ____)(_(_(/_(_(__(__(/____/__/ (__--------,' /---+
| / ( / ,' NR / |
|(_/ ..-""``"'-._ (_/ __,' 42 _/ |
+-.-"" "-..,____________/7,.--"" __]-----+

</pre>

El Turo
03-24-2004, 11:48 AM
Wow, this post is a little bit depressing.

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

I was certain that IL2:FB would support such a realistic peripheral.. I was going to pre-order the thing until I saw this thread.

What a let down.. I was really hoping to be able to map separate engine controls for two and four engined aircraft!

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

Callsign "Turo" in IL2:FB & WWIIOL
______________________
Amidst morning clouds
Fork-tailed devil hunts its prey
Lightning strikes, s羹sse tr藕工me.

VFS-22_Aslan
03-25-2004, 06:02 AM
Dont give up so soon :P
Just think of the things you could do with seperate engine controls at your fingertips!

El Turo
03-25-2004, 09:34 AM
Not giving up hope, just giving up my pre-order.

No sense in paying for a multi-engine control quadrant if the simulator doesn't support it!

Sure would be awesome to have the ability to control two and four engined aircraft on a throttle quadrant..

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

Callsign "Turo" in IL2:FB & WWIIOL
______________________
Amidst morning clouds
Fork-tailed devil hunts its prey
Lightning strikes, s羹sse tr藕工me.

BaldieJr
03-25-2004, 09:53 AM
Equally awesome would be the ability to put mix and cowl flaps on a freaking slider.

Differential braking would be hip too, but I can live without it.

<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
______ _____
(, / ) /) /) , (, /
/---( _ // _(/ _ / __ ,""""]
+----/ ____)(_(_(/_(_(__(__(/____/__/ (__--------,' /---+
| / ( / ,' NR / |
|(_/ ..-""``"'-._ (_/ __,' 42 _/ |
+-.-"" "-..,____________/7,.--"" __]-----+

</pre>

WWSensei
03-25-2004, 12:12 PM
I just picked up a GF-T8 GoFlight module (8 toggle switches) and the GF-LGT for landing gear, flaps and elevator trim.

Hopefully, if GoFlight ever finishes their keymapper I'll be able to use the in IL2 however they all work wonderfully in my other sims.

While Il2/FB won't support a multi-throttle quadrant my other sims do so I'll still be picking on up...

blabla0001
03-25-2004, 02:20 PM
I am eye balling that thing for a while now but when the hell are they going to release it?

El Turo
03-26-2004, 01:29 AM
Suuuuure would be nice to have multi-engine controls in IL2FB!

Whadda you say, Oleg?

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Callsign "Turo" in IL2:FB & WWIIOL
______________________
Amidst morning clouds
Fork-tailed devil hunts its prey
Lightning strikes, s羹sse tr藕工me.

BaldieJr
03-26-2004, 10:00 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by WWSensei:
I just picked up a GF-T8 GoFlight module (8 toggle switches) and the GF-LGT for landing gear, flaps and elevator trim.

Hopefully, if GoFlight ever finishes their keymapper I'll be able to use the in IL2 however they all work wonderfully in my other sims.

While Il2/FB won't support a multi-throttle quadrant my other sims do so I'll still be picking on up...<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Try Keyboard Studio ( http://www.betainnovations.com/ ). It can read any USB game device and let you map 16 different key commands to "on" and 16 for "off" switch states. It's pretty cool.

<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
______ _____
(, / ) /) /) , (, /
/---( _ // _(/ _ / __ ,""""]
+----/ ____)(_(_(/_(_(__(__(/____/__/ (__--------,' /---+
| / ( / ,' NR / |
|(_/ ..-""``"'-._ (_/ __,' 42 _/ |
+-.-"" "-..,____________/7,.--"" __]-----+

</pre>

JRH147
03-26-2004, 11:31 AM
Baldie -

I was waiting for the Keymapper for the GF stuff as well. Will this Keyboard STudio thing from BETA work with sliders as well? Or just toggle switches?

And Sensei - what's your opinion of that GoFlight stuff, was it worth it? I love CH products, but the GoFlight looks better.

VFS-22_Aslan
03-26-2004, 01:34 PM
"" posted 25-03-04 13:20
I am eye balling that thing for a while now but when the hell are they going to release it? ""


The CH throttle quadrant is supposed to be released in May, or June if I am not mistaken.

BaldieJr
03-26-2004, 02:13 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by JRH147:
Baldie -

I was waiting for the Keymapper for the GF stuff as well. Will this Keyboard STudio thing from BETA work with sliders as well? Or just toggle switches?

And Sensei - what's your opinion of that GoFlight stuff, was it worth it? I love CH products, but the GoFlight looks better.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

As far as I know, it will not program sliders. Perhaps an email to Leo (the fellow who wrote it) could convince him to add support for sliders with some sort of banding.

I'm suprised at the FB communities lack of controll whining. It seems the only way people will get behind an added feature is if it will bring a good brawl to the forums.

<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
______ _____
(, / ) /) /) , (, /
/---( _ // _(/ _ / __ ,""""]
+----/ ____)(_(_(/_(_(__(__(/____/__/ (__--------,' /---+
| / ( / ,' NR / |
|(_/ ..-""``"'-._ (_/ __,' 42 _/ |
+-.-"" "-..,____________/7,.--"" __]-----+

</pre>

Jazz-Man
03-26-2004, 02:22 PM
Just giving this thread a friendly bumparoo because I know RAF74's B Flight pilots are champing at the bit for this controller....


Come on Oleg, show us some more bomber love http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

S!
William "Jazz-Man" Katz
Squadron Batman
RAF No.74 Squadron
www.raf74.com (http://www.raf74.com)
http://home.sou.edu/~katzw/images/signature.jpg

El Turo
03-26-2004, 06:08 PM
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/mockface.gif

Callsign "Turo" in IL2:FB & WWIIOL
______________________
Amidst morning clouds
Fork-tailed devil hunts its prey
Lightning strikes, s羹sse tr藕工me.

RevvinUK
03-27-2004, 04:17 AM
I'll give this worthy cause a punt I'd love to see separate engine controls

Revvin

The CH Hangar - Profiles, scripting ideas and discussion for CH users (http://www.ch-hangar.com)

WWSensei
03-27-2004, 06:22 AM
And Sensei - what's your opinion of that GoFlight stuff, was it worth it? I love CH products, but the GoFlight looks better.

I love the GoFlight modules. I also fly FS2004 quite a bit. Yeah, no shooting but nothing better on learning procedures or learning the layout of an airport before flying there.

They work flawlessly (and natively) in FS2004. I've built my own floor console where I mounted my throttle (CH Pro) and the GF-T8, GF-P8, GF-45 and GF-LGT.

Adds to the immersion to actually flip real toggle switches or turn real dials when "flying".

I check ebay now and then and you can usually pick up a module at half price...

VFS-22_Aslan
03-27-2004, 06:52 AM
Revvin from Warbirds III????



I would like to see a response from Oleg about this topic I think it would enhance the SIM alot with the twins, and even the single engine fighters would do well with having the pitch adjustment right next to the throttle not to mention being able to handle you're mixtures
and possibly even your super charger stage setting all on the quadrant. Acutally there are several interesting configurations I could think of.
Thanks for the bumps on my post guys I appreciate it.

~S
VFS-22_Aslan
22nd Lancers Virtual Fighter Squadron
come fly with us on the War-Clouds server
on HyperLobby

El Turo
03-27-2004, 07:43 AM
Morning bumpage.

We wants our quandrants!

Callsign "Turo" in IL2:FB & WWIIOL
______________________
Amidst morning clouds
Fork-tailed devil hunts its prey
Lightning strikes, s羹sse tr藕工me.

VFS-22_Aslan
03-27-2004, 12:27 PM
A little afternoon bumpage

Jippo01
03-27-2004, 12:33 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by VFS-22_Aslan:
A little afternoon bumpage<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well, Oleg told me last year when I asked for such thing (left/right throttle channels in HOTAS selection screen) that it wouldn't be a big thing to do and that he promised that they could implement it along with Ju-88.


-jippo

LeLv28 - Fighting for independency since 2002
http://www.lelv28.com

Falkster's Ju-88 fan site:
www.ju88.de.tf (http://www.ju88.de.tf)

RevvinUK
03-27-2004, 04:58 PM
I used to play Warbirds yes.

Revvin

The CH Hangar - Profiles, scripting ideas and discussion for CH users (http://www.ch-hangar.com)

VFS-22_Aslan
03-27-2004, 05:13 PM
I knew your name sounded familiar. I flew with
the 333rd RedDawgs, and with JG80 for a short time.Im seeing more and more WarbirdsIII guys : )



Oh yeah BUMP!

RevvinUK
03-28-2004, 10:09 AM
Ah yes I know of those squads, I have also played in Aces High and WWIIOL with the same callsign in the past.

Revvin

The CH Hangar - Profiles, scripting ideas and discussion for CH users (http://www.ch-hangar.com)

El Turo
03-28-2004, 01:23 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Jippo01:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by VFS-22_Aslan:
A little afternoon bumpage<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well, Oleg told me last year when I asked for such thing (left/right throttle channels in HOTAS selection screen) that it wouldn't be a big thing to do and that he promised that they could implement it along with Ju-88.


-jippo

LeLv28 - Fighting for independency since 2002
http://www.lelv28.com

Falkster's Ju-88 fan site:
http://www.ju88.de.tf<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


How about a little lubbin for the OTHER twins? The '38 and 110 could use it!

Callsign "Turo" in IL2:FB & WWIIOL
______________________
Amidst morning clouds
Fork-tailed devil hunts its prey
Lightning strikes, s羹sse tr藕工me.

El Turo
03-28-2004, 11:19 PM
I guess I'll bump this twice in a row.


http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Callsign "Turo" in IL2:FB & WWIIOL
______________________
Amidst morning clouds
Fork-tailed devil hunts its prey
Lightning strikes, s羹sse tr藕工me.

RevvinUK
04-03-2004, 06:03 AM
How much work would it take to create these extra controls? IL-2 caters for axis input for a lot of controls such as RPM, trim etc but perhaps it would require a lot of work to separate the engines especially if the team had to do it plane by plane, woudl be nice to get some input from the IL-2 team if this is feasible.

Revvin

The CH Hangar - Profiles, scripting ideas and discussion for CH users (http://www.ch-hangar.com)

Gen_Strike
04-04-2004, 10:00 AM
Bump, btw, whats the ch yoke like? ive been thinking about it for a while, and if pacific fighters is gonna have all these bombers i reckon a yoke is good, is the ch one all its made out to be?

RevvinUK
04-04-2004, 11:08 AM
I have one and used it when I played WWIIOL and found it to be very good indeed, a friend of mine plays WWIIOL and IL-2 with a yoke whether he's flying fighters or bombers and seems to do well enough in it. Personally for fighters I prefer a joystick.

Revvin

The CH Hangar - Profiles, scripting ideas and discussion for CH users (http://www.ch-hangar.com)

Jippo01
04-04-2004, 11:12 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by H_Butcher:
How about a little lubbin for the OTHER twins? The '38 and 110 could use it!

Callsign "Turo" in IL2:FB & WWIIOL<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


I understood it that way that it would be made available for all twin engine planes.


-jippo

LeLv28 - Fighting for independency since 2002
http://www.lelv28.com

Falkster's Ju-88 fan site:
www.ju88.de.tf (http://www.ju88.de.tf)

VFS-22_Aslan
04-04-2004, 02:08 PM
Bump

flyboy_112th
08-05-2004, 08:28 AM
WE all neeeeeed a thread resurrection.

**bump**

http://112th.redhalibut.co.uk/112thflyboysig270704.jpg

Muddy_Longbow
08-05-2004, 09:50 AM
YES,

Throttle Quadrant support would be Great.

531_Ghost
08-09-2004, 08:48 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Muddy_Longbow:
YES,

Throttle Quadrant support would be Great.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes it would http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

VF-17_Jolly
08-09-2004, 02:57 PM
Multi-throttle bump

http://www.skyknights.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/jolly.jpg

531_Ghost
08-12-2004, 01:52 PM
Still lookin' for multiple engine power levers to go along with all my other levers here http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

http://plaza19.mbn.or.jp/~haco/bnr_531.jpg

GateKreeper
08-13-2004, 12:03 AM
Yes, I concur, multi-throttle support please.

http://home.earthlink.net/~jj721/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/P40_Sig.jpg
Mitsubishi Zero...the other white meat.

....just my $0.02....give or take a quarter.

Hardware Specs:
AMD 64 FX-53
ASUS SK8N MB
1024 Corsair XMS Dual Channel DDR-400
ASUS-ATI 9800XT 256MB
Thrustmaster Cougar
CH Products HOTAS w/ Rudder Pedals
Saitek X45 HOTAS
TM Afterburner HOTAS
TrackIR2
Razor Boomslang 2000 mouse
Ideazon Customizable Keyboard
(I Love my toys http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif)

VF-17_Jolly
08-14-2004, 02:16 AM
http://www.chproducts.com/retail/products/usb/Twin.jpg
BUMP

http://www.skyknights.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/jolly.jpg

II JG2_Oesau
01-14-2005, 05:24 AM
Bump number 458...

F16_Abe
01-14-2005, 06:39 AM
I completely comply to this post. Multiengine controls would be great! The bug in propeller pitch control does not make better either.

Here is what happens (extract from a mail I sent to PF@1C.ru without getting any answer whatsoever):
1. The Bf110 G2 single mission is started.
2. After the mission start the automatic propeller pitch is deactivated.
3. Both engines are selected and propeller pitch is set to 0% by means of an controller axis.
4. Both engines are deselected,
5. Pitch axis is moved to 100%
6. Engine 2 is selected. Nothing happens to pitch controll.
7. Axis is slightely moved, pitch jumps up.
8. Engine 2 is deselected. (Axis still at 100% propeller pitch before deselection)
9. Axis is moved to 0% propeller pitch.
10. Engine 1 is selected (prop pitch was at 0% before selection, remember)

--- Here is the feature:
11. Engine 1 prop pitch jumps to 100%!!! (It should stay at 0%)
---
12. Moving the axis slightely the prop pitch jums back down again.

All engine selections are done by the toggle engine controls.

This makes finetuning of propeller pitch via axis control impossible, at least on aircrafts like the bf110 there a sudden jump to 100% proppeller pitch would be disastrous for the engine at full power.

My setup is:
Winxp, P4 3.06GHz, 1Gig ram, radeon 9800 pro, ch-products fighterstick, ch pro throttle, ch throttle quadrant and CH pro pedals.

The axis used in the above scenario was the throttle wheel on the fighterstick, but it reacts in the same way if the TQ is used.

My suggestion for fixing this problem is to rework the multi engine controls in order to allow for multiple throttle/pitch axises. This would erase the problem and enhance the game! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif


/Abe

WB_Outlaw
01-14-2005, 10:44 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BaldieJr:
I've almost cracked USB and Human Interface Devices. Pretty soon, I'll have more sliders than you can shake a stick at. Too bad I can only use them in compteting products. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Baldie,
Have you found any clear and concise specs for HIDs? I don't care about the miles of background on the subject, just how to setup my microcontrollers to be recognized as joysticks. After reading through about 15 useless (for my project) pdfs I gave up and just decided to go through the regular serial port and write my own driver to push messages into the OS via the sendinput api call. Of course, this won't provide axis controls. For that I just tear apart an inexpensive off the shelf stick and replace the components.

If you have some good docs, please let me know where I can find them!!!

-Outlaw.

tracker45
01-16-2005, 03:49 PM
I have a homebuilt 4 axis quadrant and there would be nothing I'd like more than another axis for power.

F16_Abe
01-19-2005, 02:18 AM
I am actually thinking of buying an extra TQ since the 6-axises are just to few... Especially if they eventually get multiengine controlls into the game! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

/Abe

Kadin1
01-19-2005, 06:56 AM
Let's be fair Gents, I have the 6-axis, 4-button, GoFlight throttles quadrant along with RP48, GF-T8, GF-LGT, CH Fighterstick and CH Rudder pedals
I am using ALL axes and all levers and buttons the above controllers offer. You can be a little creative, and both GoFlight and CH have software that you can remap you keys and combination as you please.
The ONLY thing you CANNOT do,is, to map different AXES for multiple engines' throttle and prop pitch. Do pay attention to the wording. You CAN map power or prop pitch on the Joystick levers using CH control manager and the keyboard commands,if you have the CH throttle Quadrant, though.
I am using 8 levers, 1 wheel, 16 buttons, 8 on/off toggle switches, 1 multi stage toggle switch, 4 rotary knobs, 3 four-way hats, 1 8-way hat, both toe brakes on the rudder and all that along with the usual Pitch, Roll and yaw controls. I am not even mentioning the 5 mouse buttons and the middle wheel. Hmm, the middle wheel,I really forgot about that guy (making note to self) ALL these controls are primary and their function gets multiplied when you start using the software they come with. Please note, that I have no scripting knowledge and my electric and electronic cababilities were lost higher up on my genealogy tree. My main work was to read their manual and bolt them conviniently on my desk.
So, again, try to be fair, when you get all dissapointed about how inflexible FB is.

Kadin1
01-19-2005, 07:12 AM
F16 ABE, I have tried what you post about and I cannot reproduce the above mentioned bug. Is it fixed in the 3.04 version.
All prop pitch levers and throttles behave as they suppose to. Switching between engines leaves the unselected engines at previously selected settings. Can you test again and see if this is fixed for you?

Kadin1
01-19-2005, 07:30 AM
F16_ABE, if your problem is not fix, try the following.
Instead of pressing "Deselct engine", only Press "select engine 1" or select engine 2". When you do that the other engine is becoming automatically deselected. Try and tell us how you do, will you?

F16_Abe
01-19-2005, 08:46 AM
Did you deselect all engines before the selection of the specific engine Kadin1? If not try that and report back!

/Abe

Kadin1
01-19-2005, 10:57 AM
Yes, no problem with "Unselecting ALL" or "Selecting ALL" engines and then "Selecting 1" or 2. All levers animation and functionality is where it supose to be. Both Prop and Throttle move according to settings and stay there.

I have a question, though. What is the purpose of Unselecting?
I only seem to need the "Select ALL" and individual "selection 1-4" or "Select Right" and "Select Left".

Kadin1
01-19-2005, 12:23 PM
Any developement, ABE?

F16_Abe
01-19-2005, 01:09 PM
Did you really perform all steps in my bug report above? The unselect part is used for placing the throttle in the new position before applying it to the actual pitch.

/Abe

Kadin1
01-19-2005, 05:18 PM
ABE, do you really care to work on YOUR problem?
I am trying to help. Are we going to work constructively or a we going to break wind?

F16_Abe
01-20-2005, 06:56 AM
I am sorry if you feel that way Kadin! I did test your solution and found that it still did not work as I need in order to implement a multiengine script.

I have a script that works for multi throttle control, but throttle axises do not have the "first jump to the last inputted value and wait for some axis movement before jumping back" problem.

I think it is strange that we get different behaviour on this problem. I did double and even triple check your solution, but the pitch still jumps to the value of the last active pitch input, regardless of the current axis value. Moving the axis just a little makes it jump to its desired position.

/Abe

Kadin1
01-20-2005, 11:23 AM
It is strange, because I think we have the same equipment. (See post higher up). Are you running the CH axis on a Script in CH control manager? I have tried all possible combination, using Toggle Select/Unselect or Individual Selection and Unselection buttons with proper compliance on all. I can record a .ntrk if you would like?
What version on GoFlight Software and CH software are you running?

BaldieJr
01-20-2005, 11:23 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by WB_Outlaw:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BaldieJr:
I've almost cracked USB and Human Interface Devices. Pretty soon, I'll have more sliders than you can shake a stick at. Too bad I can only use them in compteting products. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Baldie,
Have you found any clear and concise specs for HIDs? I don't care about the miles of background on the subject, just how to setup my microcontrollers to be recognized as joysticks. After reading through about 15 useless (for my project) pdfs I gave up and just decided to go through the regular serial port and write my own driver to push messages into the OS via the sendinput api call. Of course, this won't provide axis controls. For that I just tear apart an inexpensive off the shelf stick and replace the components.

If you have some good docs, please let me know where I can find them!!!

-Outlaw. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
I lost all my bookmarks in a server failure last week.

I should be able to find everything again. I have some designs that others have done that nicely fit the bill (why reinvent?).

Join this low-traffic group: http://groups-beta.google.com/group/Virtual-Air-Combat/

In a few days I'll post links to some of the better USB controller projects.

WB_Outlaw
01-20-2005, 12:35 PM
Thanks for the link Baldie, I'll check it out when I get home.

I'm waiting on my copy of "USB Complete" (or something like that) to arrive. It's supposed to have details on how to program USB HID firmware. Hopefully that will give me the background I need to release the uber geek trapped in my brain.

-Outlaw.