PDA

View Full Version : 1 melee attack button + 1 ranged attack button



Atukayi
08-22-2013, 08:15 AM
We cant use ranged attack when enemy is in "melee range" (right next to party), and we cant melee if its at "ranged range"(at least 1 tile away).
Now why do we have separate buttons for melee and range? I think you guys should merge them to simply ("Attack") and it could use ranged if it cant be hit with melee weapons.

That one is important for mage, he is already running low on his action bar. Two buttons for attacking when oom is simply too much.

And spells cost way too much, just checked MM6, you can unload a lot of flaming arrows before going oom while in 10 it just takes 3.. (may be 4 if you go full mana?)

Elan_Morin
08-22-2013, 10:53 AM
In the blog, they say that advanced archer wil be able to shoot even in close combat :) At least for him, two buttons are needed.

On the other hand, I agree that toolbar space is precious, so attack/defend buttons could be placed elsewhere.

Mogadil
08-22-2013, 11:01 AM
Also we have tree more keys in the line of the keyboard at least the two on the right (of 0) should be added as additional keys.

WarBaby2
08-22-2013, 11:12 AM
Easiest way would be: A smart "Attack" (and "Defend") button, that uses the standard attack action for the character and equipped weapon, placed outside the action bar.

FranBurns
08-22-2013, 11:16 AM
the range attack should be possible when the enemy hasn't spotted you yet. So that you can start the battle.

alzahk
08-22-2013, 01:43 PM
In the blog, they say that advanced archer wil be able to shoot even in close combat :) At least for him, two buttons are needed.

Is that to use ranged attack at opponents in melee range? Or is it to allow him to shoot at opponents outside melee range while others are in melee range? Because if it's the latter, then allowing him to simply select another opponent (and please do remember this selection for each character separately between rounds) would take care of the melee / ranged decision.

FranBurns
08-22-2013, 02:01 PM
The ranger get the ability to shoot in melee, so he needs both buttons!

Atukayi
08-22-2013, 02:32 PM
Easiest way would be: A smart "Attack" (and "Defend") button, that uses the standard attack action for the character and equipped weapon, placed outside the action bar.

Thats a good idea too. That action bar is already too crowded with attack,ranged attack, defend buttons..