PDA

View Full Version : FX 5200 PCI



BaldieJr
03-15-2004, 12:05 PM
Whos got one, what resolution do you play at, what settings in FB do you use, and what framerates do you get?

Thanks.

Signature:
Note: you may include UBBCodeâ™, UBBCodeâ™ Images and HTML in your signature. However, if the forum you are posting to does not allow these codes, your signature will not display as intended.

BaldieJr
03-15-2004, 12:05 PM
Whos got one, what resolution do you play at, what settings in FB do you use, and what framerates do you get?

Thanks.

Signature:
Note: you may include UBBCodeâ™, UBBCodeâ™ Images and HTML in your signature. However, if the forum you are posting to does not allow these codes, your signature will not display as intended.

CO_Eagle_31stFG
03-15-2004, 12:21 PM
Though it is underrated for my machine I have one. Running resolution at 1024 X 768. High video settings. Frame rates I'm not sure havent payed any attention to that,not one to check unless the game studders and so far it runs smooth.

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif my video card is probably my only bottleneck in the system.

basic specs for my machine at this time.
P4 3Ghz 800FSB
1G ram
GF FX5200 128MB

BaldieJr
03-15-2004, 12:30 PM
Thanks. Thats what I needed to know!

Now I just need to settle on an LCD http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Signature:
Note: you may include UBBCodeâ™, UBBCodeâ™ Images and HTML in your signature. However, if the forum you are posting to does not allow these codes, your signature will not display as intended.

_VR_ScorpionWorm
03-15-2004, 12:31 PM
I have one, runs great but a few minor stutters on perfect mode every once in a while, have 768MB of ram could be why. You should have no problems but AGP is better due to the CPU getting to it faster, so I've heard.

"He went like this, we went like that, I called to Hollywood 'Were'd he go?', Hollywood called back, 'Were'd WHO go'-TOPGUN

BaldieJr
03-15-2004, 01:12 PM
You play perfect with one of these??!?

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Signature:
Note: you may include UBBCodeâ™, UBBCodeâ™ Images and HTML in your signature. However, if the forum you are posting to does not allow these codes, your signature will not display as intended.

M0NS
03-15-2004, 01:16 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by ScorpionWorm1:
I have one, runs great but a few minor stutters on perfect mode every once in a while, have 768MB of ram could be why. You should have no problems but AGP is better due to the CPU getting to it faster, so I've heard.

"He went like this, we went like that, I called to Hollywood 'Were'd he go?', Hollywood called back, 'Were'd WHO go'-TOPGUN<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Wowowowow-hold on... - you run perfect mode with an FX5200? - sure it's not 5600? Just how do you do that?

S!

M0NS

"So when Diogenes perceived that he was greatly excited and quite keyed up in mind with expectancy, he toyed with him and pulled him about in the hope that somehow he might be moved from his pride and thirst for glory and be able to sober up a little. For he noticed that at one time he was delighted, and at another grieved at the same thing, and that his soul was as unsettled as the weather at the solstices when both rain and sunshine come from the very same source."

(Dio Chrysostom "Discourse" 4.77-78)

_VR_ScorpionWorm
03-15-2004, 01:28 PM
Simple I just select Perfect http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif
I do get stutters like I said but my system might have something to do with it:
1.8 Ghz Celeron
Nvidia GeForce FX 5200PCI
768MB PC2100
40GB HD
it works for me maybe I'm just lucky. I used to get worse stutters but I got the recent drivers and updated to DX9.0b and turned my sound acceleration to standard.

"He went like this, we went like that, I called to Hollywood 'Were'd he go?', Hollywood called back, 'Were'd WHO go'-TOPGUN

biggs222
03-15-2004, 01:35 PM
IU have that same setup to

P4 3ghz
512mbs ram
GF FX5200 128mb

but i cant get perfect, only excelent on some sections and the water is horrible. i run it on Open GL, should i try Direct X?

when u did ur video settings config did u use custom or did u select the actual card from the list?

_VR_ScorpionWorm
03-15-2004, 01:48 PM
My settings are OpenGL, under IL2 setup the choice will be Nvidia GeForce 3/4 FX. Haven't yet tried it with DirectX, when I just had DX9.0 I used it once and it got all wierd, but now that I have DX9.0b I haven't checked it out to see how it performs. One thing you could do is lower you objects visiblity to get a little more performance, thats what somebody said over in Tech support while in perfect mode.

"He went like this, we went like that, I called to Hollywood 'Were'd he go?', Hollywood called back, 'Were'd WHO go'-TOPGUN

_VR_ScorpionWorm
03-15-2004, 01:53 PM
RAM is also a big factor in this game I just had 314MB before I got AEP but I went out and dumped $85 for a 512MB stick just for AEP. I will get another 512MB after a while. You said you don't have perfect, does that mean you can't select it, if so then your stencil buffer might be off. Mine was off once and everthing looked awful, if not then you might not have the updated drivers mine are 45.23, don't know if there are newer ones yet I got these about 2 weeks ago.

"He went like this, we went like that, I called to Hollywood 'Were'd he go?', Hollywood called back, 'Were'd WHO go'-TOPGUN

JG52_Helgstrand
03-15-2004, 01:58 PM
P4 1.5
1024 RAM
FX5200 128
1024x768 off-line
800x600 on-line
High Perf.
AA-Quincunx
AF-2x
Mipmap-Best Perf.

How u guys run perfect or even high settings?

I run medium, anything more and it gets choppy at the most inopportune moments...

Oblt.Helgstrand
JG52 Recruiting Officer

http://server4.uploadit.org/files2/091203-NewSig_JG52.gif JG52 The Butcherbirds (http://www.geocities.com/jg52thebutcherbirds/)

CaptainGelo
03-15-2004, 02:02 PM
OMG peaple running perfect with FX5200!!!?!! world is gone crasy!! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif

http://img23.photobucket.com/albums/v68/wolf4ever/p38abig.jpg

_VR_ScorpionWorm
03-15-2004, 02:05 PM
My card settings are as follows:
Intellisample settings=Quality
AA=application controlled
AF=off
1024*768 32bit=online&offline
these are default I'm not a wiz on computers so all setting are as is, I'm sure I can tweak my system to make it run better.

"He went like this, we went like that, I called to Hollywood 'Were'd he go?', Hollywood called back, 'Were'd WHO go'-TOPGUN

_VR_ScorpionWorm
03-15-2004, 02:10 PM
Just checked it out: DX cannot give you Perfect settings. Unless I missed something.

"He went like this, we went like that, I called to Hollywood 'Were'd he go?', Hollywood called back, 'Were'd WHO go'-TOPGUN

GT182
03-15-2004, 02:12 PM
I can run FB in "Perfect" with only a little ol GF 4 MX 420 8xAGP 64 mb video card set at 1024x768. So the FX 5200 PCI, or an AGP, card should be no problem. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

I have been told that the "stutters" are caused by AI planes spawning in Coop missions. And that's from someone who has a server we join to to run our missions.

"GT182" / "vonSpinmeister"
www.bombs-away.net (http://www.bombs-away.net)
"Fly to Survive, Survive to Fly"

M0NS
03-15-2004, 02:39 PM
- but I can't even select perfect... - anyone?

S!

M0NS

"So when Diogenes perceived that he was greatly excited and quite keyed up in mind with expectancy, he toyed with him and pulled him about in the hope that somehow he might be moved from his pride and thirst for glory and be able to sober up a little. For he noticed that at one time he was delighted, and at another grieved at the same thing, and that his soul was as unsettled as the weather at the solstices when both rain and sunshine come from the very same source."

(Dio Chrysostom "Discourse" 4.77-78)

_VR_ScorpionWorm
03-15-2004, 02:44 PM
Do you run OpenGL or DirectX? DirectX doesn't support Perfect as far as I know.

"He went like this, we went like that, I called to Hollywood 'Were'd he go?', Hollywood called back, 'Were'd WHO go'-TOPGUN

hotspace
03-15-2004, 03:03 PM
Use these Omega Driver's. I do, and yes I can play on Perfect Settings http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/mockface.gif

http://www.driverheaven.net/downloads/index4.htm

Hot Space

http://img11.photobucket.com/albums/v33/Hot_Space/me1.jpg

Nervous? Yes! First time? No, I've been nervous lots of times!!!

_VR_ScorpionWorm
03-15-2004, 03:08 PM
Hey HotSpace, should I use these drivers or keep mine, and if so which Nvidia drivers do I use, info is above.

"We went like this, He went like that, I said to Hollywood 'Where'd he go?', Hollywood said, 'Where'd WHO go'-TOPGUN

biggs222
03-15-2004, 03:22 PM
thats so weird i have Open GL and all that stuff but i cant select Perfect it isnt even an option for me.

scorpion, how does ur water look, i cant get mine to look any better then the lowest quality http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

PF_Coastie
03-15-2004, 03:27 PM
I just dont know how you guys can stand running perfect with that card. You can not get more than 20fps. I would rather play in excellent and get 30+ fps. Smooth gameplay is so much more important to me.

If you say it is smooth on perfect with that card, then you dont know what smooth is because you have never seen it.

Baldie, Dont get your hopes up with this card, especially being a PCI card. PCI is slower than AGP and this card is not a great performer even with agp. You should be able to get playable fps on med to high settings with some tweaking.

Its just a shame man, thats like putting a pinto transmission on a top fuel dragster engine!

PF_Coastie

Coasties Place (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/)
Coasties FB and ATI settings (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/IL2setup.html)
http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/FS_SIG.jpg
Click here to find out more about FIGHTER SWEEPS 2 (http://alloutwar.com/IL2FS/)


OFFICIAL ATI BETA TESTER

_VR_ScorpionWorm
03-15-2004, 07:04 PM
I did say that it has a few stutters and I definetly agree with you about the AGP it runs faster than PCI and you can get 256MB out of those cards(AGP), PCI can only go up to 128MB, I can play on Perfect with a few things turned down like object lighting and landcape lighting..no biggy to me and to answer the water question it looks great but you can change how it looks in the config.ini, but I recommend you have an AGP card because they do process graphics faster than a PCI, something to do with how BIOS works and linking to the CPU faster. I plan on upgradin my whole system in the future and I am definitely going to go AGP.

"We went like this, He went like that, I said to Hollywood 'Where'd he go?', Hollywood said, 'Where'd WHO go'-TOPGUN

hotspace
03-15-2004, 07:47 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by ScorpionWorm1:
Hey HotSpace, should I use these drivers or keep mine, and if so which Nvidia drivers do I use, info is above.

"We went like this, He went like that, I said to Hollywood 'Where'd he go?', Hollywood said, 'Where'd WHO go'-TOPGUN<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Use the one's I use, M8 http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_cool.gif.....and alway's use Open GL. Also disable your Audio Enhancements and Hardware Acceleration in your Sound Settings and in the Vid Settings have this:

Settings: Custom.

Texture Mipmap Filter: trilinear.

Texture Compression: S3TC

Trust me, you will see a difference http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Hot Space

http://img11.photobucket.com/albums/v33/Hot_Space/me1.jpg

Nervous? Yes! First time? No, I've been nervous lots of times!!!

Obi_Kwiet
03-15-2004, 08:25 PM
A 3GHz P4 and a 1Gig of RAM and you get a nasty card like a FX 5200? And a PCI at that! Wow. GO get your selfa Ti 4200 at LEAST! Yuck.

M0NS
03-16-2004, 02:12 AM
I've got an Athlon 1800+ & 512 megs of ram. I'm running FB with the 5200 at 800x600 with approx. 40-50 fps but I can't select perfect...
How come perfect is grayed out? Tried the stencil buffer but it makes no difference.

S!

M0NS

"So when Diogenes perceived that he was greatly excited and quite keyed up in mind with expectancy, he toyed with him and pulled him about in the hope that somehow he might be moved from his pride and thirst for glory and be able to sober up a little. For he noticed that at one time he was delighted, and at another grieved at the same thing, and that his soul was as unsettled as the weather at the solstices when both rain and sunshine come from the very same source."

(Dio Chrysostom "Discourse" 4.77-78)

Bewolf
03-16-2004, 02:36 AM
You have to run the game on 32bits to use perfect.

Bewolf

Never discuss with stupid people.
They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

carguy_
03-16-2004, 02:56 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Bewolf:
You have to run the game on 32bits to use perfect.

Bewolf

Never discuss with stupid people.
They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

And select Stencil Buffer in the 'setup' thing.

http://carguy.w.interia.pl/tracki/sig23d.jpg

M0NS
03-16-2004, 03:46 AM
Ok - got it but it's awful - killing me frames...

S!

M0NS

"So when Diogenes perceived that he was greatly excited and quite keyed up in mind with expectancy, he toyed with him and pulled him about in the hope that somehow he might be moved from his pride and thirst for glory and be able to sober up a little. For he noticed that at one time he was delighted, and at another grieved at the same thing, and that his soul was as unsettled as the weather at the solstices when both rain and sunshine come from the very same source."

(Dio Chrysostom "Discourse" 4.77-78)

BaldieJr
03-16-2004, 06:50 AM
I've got an FX5700 U that I'm quite pleased with. I don't run it on perfect settings though.

I ask about the 5200 because I want to run 3 monitors (once the 5200 prices drop of course).

I'm hoping those cards can do excellent at 1024x768x32 and hold at 30 fps. If not, maybe ATI of nVidia will get a clue this year and release 3-monitor cards. Not that it will do anyone any good, since all the new stuff will be that new pci standard, which requires a new motherboards, which will only work with [insert new processor here] and [insert new ram here] and doesn't include support for non-sata drives etc etc etc.

Oh god i hate computers.

Signature:
Note: you may include UBBCodeâ™, UBBCodeâ™ Images and HTML in your signature. However, if the forum you are posting to does not allow these codes, your signature will not display as intended.

NetDaemon
03-16-2004, 07:10 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by GT182:
I can run FB in "Perfect" with only a little ol GF 4 MX 420 8xAGP 64 mb video card set at 1024x768. So the FX 5200 PCI, or an AGP, card should be no problem. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

You're either clueless or blatanly lying, you CAN'T run perfect mode in a Geforce MX class card, it's not physically posible.

Both, the Geforce2MX and Geforce4MX series cards lack hardware support for pixel shaders, which are used to render both, the perfect terrain and of course, the perfect water.

For Geforce MX class cards, the Perfect Terrain Option in the Video Options menu within FB is grayed out, no matter if you run in OpenGL mode with 32bit and Stencil On.

Now, a GeforceFX5200 does support pixel shaders in hardware and should be able to run Perfect mode, but either in 800x600 only, any higher resolution should yield an slide show.

I know cuz I used to have a GeforeFX5600, and Perfect mode was unplayable at 1024x768 even without any AA or Aniso. Highest FPS I could get was in the lower teens.

But Excellent mode should prove playable and is usually more convenient when playing online.

BTW, a PCI card will prove a lot slower than an AGP card, so that should make Perfect even more unplayable per se.

P.D. By "playable", I mean 30fps avg with lowest being 20 to 25, but everyone has and should have their own definition.



"Friends don't let friends buy Nvidia FX cards"

CaptainGelo
03-16-2004, 07:24 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by NetDaemon:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by GT182:
I can run FB in "Perfect" with only a little ol GF 4 MX 420 8xAGP 64 mb video card set at 1024x768. So the FX 5200 PCI, or an AGP, card should be no problem. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

You're either clueless or blatanly lying, you CAN'T run perfect mode in a Geforce MX class card, it's not physically posible.

Both, the Geforce2MX and Geforce4MX series cards lack hardware support for pixel shaders, which are used to render both, the perfect terrain and of course, the perfect water.

For Geforce MX class cards, the Perfect Terrain Option in the Video Options menu within FB is grayed out, no matter if you run in OpenGL mode with 32bit and Stencil On.

Now, a GeforceFX5200 does support pixel shaders in hardware and should be able to run Perfect mode, but either in 800x600 only, any higher resolution should yield an slide show.

I know cuz I used to have a GeforeFX5600, and Perfect mode was unplayable at 1024x768 even without any AA or Aniso. Highest FPS I could get was in the lower teens.

But Excellent mode should prove playable and is usually more convenient when playing online.

BTW, a PCI card will prove a lot slower than an AGP card, so that should make Perfect even more unplayable per se.

P.D. By "playable", I mean 30fps avg with lowest being 20 to 25, but everyone has and should have their own definition.



"Friends don't let friends buy Nvidia FX cards"<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

soon they'll start to claim to play perfect mode with GF2 with 100fps at 16af and 8aa at 2048X1536 http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/53.gif

http://img23.photobucket.com/albums/v68/wolf4ever/p38abig.jpg

NetDaemon
03-16-2004, 07:31 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
soon they'll start to claim to play perfect mode with GF2 with 100fps at 16af and 8aa at 2048X1536 http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/53.gif
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif


"Friends don't let friends buy Nvidia FX cards"