PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know anything about the Realtek ALC850, 8-channel CODEC



robotech
09-01-2004, 09:17 PM
Hi all,

THis, Realtek ALC850, 8-channel CODEC, is the thing that is in the asus a8v deluxe mobo for sound. Is this any good considering that I don't really do anything else with the sound other than games, ie I don't do professional sound mixing/editing etc? So for my purposes the in board audio is ok then? It is either that or the SOUND BLASTER AUDIGY PLATINUM 2 RETAIL BOX.

thanks

robotech
09-01-2004, 09:17 PM
Hi all,

THis, Realtek ALC850, 8-channel CODEC, is the thing that is in the asus a8v deluxe mobo for sound. Is this any good considering that I don't really do anything else with the sound other than games, ie I don't do professional sound mixing/editing etc? So for my purposes the in board audio is ok then? It is either that or the SOUND BLASTER AUDIGY PLATINUM 2 RETAIL BOX.

thanks

lil_labbit
09-01-2004, 09:28 PM
lol depends
I dunno s*it about the codec - but test it
Plug your sound output right into line-in of your stereo (Comp and Stero OFF pls) - then play nothing on the comp http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif - cranck the stereo volume up to max....

ya hear noise?

hmmm not good enough...


ah well

for games the dolby surround is great - try it with 4 boxes first if ya dont have 9 already http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif lol

But hey you CAN get surround from a stereo http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif it's based on it afterall try this:
I swear to ya it sounds great even with 4 speakers...
http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/semisurround.gif

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Question: Did you back-up your files?
Answer: I didn't know they had a reverse...

[This message was edited by lil_labbit on Wed September 01 2004 at 08:37 PM.]

BaldieJr
09-01-2004, 09:39 PM
If memory serves right, you'll not want to use extensions in FB because, for whatever reason, environmental sound effects never change on this card (it handles EAX strangely in FB/AEP). You'll end up with this tin-can/ reverb effect that refuses to go away. You'll also loose a lot of FPS.

<A HREF="http://officemax.secureportal.com/" TARGET=_blank>
Hey ya'll prepare yourselves
for the rubberband man!</A>
http://www.fighterjerks.com/rbman.png
http://www.fighterjerks.com