PDA

View Full Version : Seamless cutscenes when entering buildings like AC3



the november
02-21-2013, 11:04 PM
http://i.imgur.com/7LjbZeS.jpg

It might be kind of pointless bringing this up now, because I imagine it's too late in the development to change anything (not that they would listen).

Regardless, I was looking at the gameplay released yesterday. At around the 2:47 (http://youtu.be/EtBh4QzZKz4?t=2m47s) mark when Aiden enters the building, it reminded me of Assassin's Creed 3. You would enter a building and lose control for a few seconds, as Connor automatically made his way through and out the other side.

I really disliked that aspect of AC3, it's surprisingly jarring to have controller input just stop working for a few seconds, so the game can play a seamless cutscene.

It was mentioned at E3 that you could go into many of the building, is this the extent at which you can do that? Walk in.. CUTSCENE and then you're out the other side.

It looks like that's the case, I really hope I'm mistaken.

I would appreciate your thoughts.

Sushiglutton
02-22-2013, 12:19 AM
Hmm that's very observant. It's really hard to tell. My gut feeling is that it is not a cutscene because it looks like a space we can walk around in. Also since it's a pharmacy there may be supplies to buy there and so on. I do agree it looks a bit similar to AC3 and like you I'm not a big fan of automatic stuff like that.

Overall my biggest question about WD is just exactly how much of what we see that we will actually be able to control and how much is scripted. Would be cool if Ubi could explain some of how the controls work and what actions we control.

Hurricane43
02-22-2013, 01:28 AM
Not a cutscene at all. The lady to the right has an icon on top of her head in which we can gather information from. The other shops while he was walking had people inside them. IMO no way this is a cutscene.

the november
02-22-2013, 03:42 AM
Thanks for the points, guys. Very sharp eyes, Hurricane (both on the screenshot and twitter).

Jonathan Morin confirmed on twitter (https://twitter.com/Design_Cave/status/304736181923483648), which was nice of him.

That was one of my few concerns about this game, back to being 100% excited.

BLAYDEMASTAH
02-22-2013, 05:34 PM
this is not a cutscane he was just rushing behind the criminal thats all , but u can play inside the building aswell not just in and out like in ac3 :)

Genos99
02-22-2013, 06:16 PM
Watchdog's mechanics all are taken from Assassins creed there is no doubt (companies try to use existing stuff to gain time and save money ..like wise they get profits ,this is how the AC series go with little innovation)

even police vs hero chase in watchdogs is like templar vs hero chase in AC.....even the indicators .
u can even see some menu styling ,city name displaying style etc from AC included in watchdogs while game play ,

btw funny joke no hard feelings ,..always smile later

http://i46.tinypic.com/ay8xa8.png

Hurricane43
02-22-2013, 06:40 PM
No problem November, am glad also that it seems like there will be many enterable buildings.

VaasCARV3R
02-22-2013, 08:16 PM
Guys, the game is using Anvil Next engine, the same engine used for Assassin's Creed III and the franchise, and some other games, but let's hope that the devs (Ubisoft Montreal) will not use some of the features and things from Assassin's Creed III, because this will be stupid.

Sushiglutton
02-22-2013, 08:35 PM
Thanks for the points, guys. Very sharp eyes, Hurricane (both on the screenshot and twitter).

Jonathan Morin confirmed on twitter (https://twitter.com/Design_Cave/status/304736181923483648), which was nice of him.

That was one of my few concerns about this game, back to being 100% excited.

Awesome, glad that got sorted out :D!

Genos99
02-27-2013, 07:24 AM
Technical director Sebastien Viard recently confirmed Watch Dogs runs on an all-new engine called Disrupt and not Assassin's Creed's AnvilNext engine. Disrupt is a proprietary engine designed for the game, so it'll look even more impressive than AC3 r AC4. According to Viard:

Watch Dogs uses a brand new engine called Disrupt, developed specifically for the game at Ubisoft Montreal. It's not Assassin's Creed engine.