PDA

View Full Version : Trackir2 users



Malar07
03-21-2004, 07:05 AM
Does anyone have any feedback about this product and its use for IL2fb and lomac?

Malar07
03-21-2004, 07:05 AM
Does anyone have any feedback about this product and its use for IL2fb and lomac?

LW_lcarp
03-21-2004, 07:20 AM
Just got one about a month ago and now i cant fly without it. Setting it up is tricky but if you know someone with one they can help walk you thru that

"If winning isnt everything why do they keep score"
Vince Lombardi

Extreme_One
03-21-2004, 07:27 AM
I have TrackIR 1 and it's amazing. (TrackIR 2 must be phenominal!)
I just can't fly without it now.

And its' not that tricky to setup either.
Get "Charval's profile" from the naturalpoint website and away you go...

S! Simon
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''
Download the USAAF & RAF campaign folders here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-9.html).

Download "North and South" including the Japanese speech-pack here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-11.html). *NEW*

http://server6.uploadit.org/files/simplysimon-raf_sig.jpg

Cragger
03-21-2004, 07:38 AM
I'd never play without it again.

http://redspar.com/redrogue/cragger_sig.png

S 8
03-21-2004, 08:59 AM
Ah,c´mon,cant fly without it,sure you can but you don´t want to http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif.I want one myself too,but it´s a bit pricey for me at the moment,but hey,summer is comming up with it´s vacation payment.....maby then I "can´t" fly without it too http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_113_1073048715.jpg

jamesdietz
03-22-2004, 09:26 AM
I've said it before but- as if this game wasn't addicting enough ...Track IR ( & I gather its cheaper cousins) make the experiience immersive & somehow push the images of flying , combat & the views of same much more into the experiential part of the brain...it is totally worth the cost & yes I could never ( easily) go back to game play without it...

Skullin
03-22-2004, 10:27 AM
About a week ago i finally decided to try out freelook... and oh my !! it is awesome, and i can't see how trackIR could be any better once you get it working right.

Because light effects it, it is tougher to set up. 1st of all, ignore the "use a piece of paper" garbage. USE AN LED !!!! where do you get one? simple, i took the power on led from my computer case, extended the wire about 5 feet, and whoi-la!! I took it a step further, and cut the end off a plastic cigar tube, inserted the LED, and capped it. I cut a small hole in the bill of a cap, and squeezed the tube up through it. Taped the wires to the side of the visor, and i'm styling !!! now i can turn the threshhold all the way up so it is pitch black except for the small light on my hat. Works awesome !!! i am so happy with it!!!

other things that need to be tweaked are sensitivity and deadband of course, but also in the config file you need to turn up the x and y things to match your resolution.. no one seems to tell you that!!

Sorry for long post, i'm just so happy with it !

Teufel_Eldritch
03-22-2004, 11:40 AM
I never could get Freelook to work. I suspect it is because I am on Win 98SE & not XP or newer. I did get Cam2Pan to work & I am happy with it. Tho I am curious as to how good TrackIR or even Freelook works.

YANKEE ROSE
-----------
"For a world of happiness & equality is but a fantasy driven by men who envy the ruling class."

blairgowrie
03-22-2004, 11:55 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Skullin:
About a week ago i finally decided to try out freelook... and oh my !! it is awesome, and i can't see how trackIR could be any better once you get it working right.

Because light effects it, it is tougher to set up. 1st of all, ignore the "use a piece of paper" garbage. USE AN LED !!!! where do you get one? simple, i took the power on led from my computer case, extended the wire about 5 feet, and whoi-la!! I took it a step further, and cut the end off a plastic cigar tube, inserted the LED, and capped it. I cut a small hole in the bill of a cap, and squeezed the tube up through it. Taped the wires to the side of the visor, and i'm styling !!! now i can turn the threshhold all the way up so it is pitch black except for the small light on my hat. Works awesome !!! i am so happy with it!!!

other things that need to be tweaked are sensitivity and deadband of course, but also in the config file you need to turn up the x and y things to match your resolution.. no one seems to tell you that!!

Sorry for long post, i'm just so happy with it !<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

What's the tweak in the config file? How do you make the change? I have Track iR2 but can only use it after dark. Too much light getting in to the room where I play.

http://img14.photobucket.com/albums/v41/blairgowrie/FBWebpage.jpg

Skullin
03-22-2004, 12:29 PM
So lighting effects TrackIR too? hmm.. well, i really don't see how it could be any better than freelook then. In freelook you can turn the threshhold up, which basically just darkens everything seen by your web-cam. By the way my cam is a freebie from my ISP when i signed up 4 years ago, so you know it's nothing special http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

as far as tweaking freelook: i'll have to look when i get home. There was one thing i meesed with in the config file. The "x and y" things i was referring to though, are under freelook\profiles\il2 you can open it in notepad just fine, and change the settings. i use a resolution of 1024x768, and i think i have the x set at 1200 and they y at 1000.. make sense? no, but for some reason when i set them to 1024 and 768, i couldn't pan all the way to the back.. almost, but not quite. If you set them too high though you won't center very well when looking forward again, so you have to mess with it alot to get it perfect for whatever res your using.

again, i'll check when i get home about the config file, i can't remember what it was.. if you post one, i could probably pick it out though.

blairgowrie
03-22-2004, 12:40 PM
Thanks for considering Skullin. Here is a copy of my config file.

[il2]
title=Il2-Sturmovik Forgotten Battles
hotkeys=HotKey game

[window]
width=1024
height=768
ColourBits=16
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=1
Use3Renders=0

[GLPROVIDER]
GL=Opengl32.dll

[GLPROVIDERS]
Open GL=Opengl32.dll
DirectX=dx8wrap.dll

[NET]
speed=20000
routeChannels=0
serverChannels=1
localPort=21000
remotePort=21000
SkinDownload=1
serverName=No Name
serverDescription=
remoteHost=24.18.41.241
localHost=
socksHost=
checkServerTimeSpeed=1
checkClientTimeSpeed=0

[MaxLag]
farMaxLagTime=10.0
nearMaxLagTime=2.0
cheaterWarningDelay=5.0
cheaterWarningNum=-1

[chat]
region=(dx=0.6925,dy=0.071666665,x=0.0,y=0.0)
adr0=ALL

[game]
Arcade=0
HighGore=0
mapPadX=0.6689453
mapPadY=-0.046875
viewSet=35
Intro=0
NoSubTitles=1
NoChatter=1
NoHudLog=0
NoLensFlare=0
iconTypes=3
eventlog=eventlog.lst
eventlogkeep=0


[HotKey game]
PrintScreen=ScreenShot
P=pause
Pause=pause

[HotKey gui]
Escape=activate

[HookViewFly Config]
timeFirstStep=2.0
deltaZ=10.0

[HookView]
MouseLeft=Len

[HookView Config]
AzimutSpeed=0.1
TangageSpeed=0.1
LenSpeed=1.0
MinLen=1.0
DefaultLen=20.0
MaxLen=3000.0
Speed=6

[HotKey builder]
MouseLeft=objectMove
MouseRight=popupmenu
Enter=freeView
Shift MouseLeft=worldZoom
Alt MouseLeft=select+
Alt MouseRight=select-
Alt Ctrl=unselect
PageDown=change+
PageUp=change-
End=change++
Home=change--
Ctrl MouseLeft=insert+
Insert=insert+
NumPad-0=insert+
F=fill
Ctrl MouseRight=delete+
NumPad.=delete+
Delete=delete+
Backspace=cursor
Tab=cursor
F10=land
F11=onLand
NumPad-=normalLand
NumPad+=toLand
NumPad-5=resetAngles
NumPad-8=resetTangage90
NumPad-7=stepAzimut-5
NumPad-4=stepAzimut-15
NumPad-1=stepAzimut-30
NumPad-9=stepAzimut5
NumPad-6=stepAzimut15
NumPad-3=stepAzimut30

[MouseXYZ]
F1=SpeedSlow
F2=SpeedNormal
F3=SpeedFast
MouseRight=XYmove
F4 MouseRight=Zmove
MouseMiddle=Amove
F5 MouseRight=Amove
F6 MouseRight=Tmove
F7 MouseRight=Kmove

[MouseXYZ Config]
RealTime=1

[HotKey Console]
Shift Tab=Activate
[Console]
HISTORY=1024
HISTORYCMD=1024
LOAD=console.cmd
SAVE=console.cmd
LOG=0
LOGTIME=0
LOGFILE=log.lst
LOGKEEP=0

[sound]
SoundUse=1
SoundEngine=1
Speakers=1
Placement=0
SoundFlags.reversestereo=1

RadioFlags.Enabled=1
RadioEngine=2
MusicVolume=4
ObjectVolume=7
MusState.takeoff=1
MusState.inflight=1
MusState.crash=1
MusFlags.play=1
MasterVolume=8
Attenuation=1
SoundMode=1
SamplingRate=2
NumChannels=2
SoundExt.occlusions=0
SoundFlags.hardware=1
SoundFlags.streams=1
SoundFlags.duplex=1
SoundExt.acoustics=1
SoundExt.volumefx=1
SoundFlags.voicemgr=0
SoundFlags.static=1
VoiceVolume=8
Channels=2
SoundExt.extrender=0
SoundFlags.bugscorrect=0
SoundSetupId=9
ActivationLevel=0.02
Preemphasis=0.85
RadioLatency=0.5
AGC=1
PTTMode=1
SoundFlags.UseRadioChatter=0
SoundFlags.AutoActivation=0
RadioFlags.PTTMode=1
RadioFlags.PlayClicks=1
ActLevel=11
MicLevel=14

[rts]
;ProcessAffinityMask=1
mouseUse=2
joyUse=1
trackIRUse=1
DisableIME=0
locale=

[rts_mouse]
SensitivityX=1.0
SensitivityY=1.0
Invert=0
SensitivityZ=1.0

[rts_joystick]
X=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Y=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Z=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100
RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
FF=0
U=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
V=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1X=0 0 3 7 15 25 35 50 66 84 100 0
1Y=0 0 5 10 17 25 33 43 54 70 100 0
1RZ=0 0 8 19 29 39 51 62 75 86 100 0
1U=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1V=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0

[Render_DirectX]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=2
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=0
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=0
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=0
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=0
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=0
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=0

HardwareShaders=0

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=3
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=4

[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=2
TexFlags.UseDither=0
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=0
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=0
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=0
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=0

HardwareShaders=0

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=2
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=15
Water=0

http://img14.photobucket.com/albums/v41/blairgowrie/FBWebpage.jpg

Skullin
03-22-2004, 12:45 PM
sorry to have you post that.. i meant the config file in freelook, not IL-2 http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif