PDA

View Full Version : Assassin's Creed III PC color mod



ProletariatPleb
11-24-2012, 02:54 PM
Hey guys, I've been messing around with my AC3 using SweetFX mod made by CeeJay.dk, I've changed some colors in AC3, tried to make it look more... natural. As far as I've seen, this has little to no FPS hit.

=========================
FEATURES:

Sharpening
High Dyanmic Range
Cineon DPX movie filter
Contrast Curves

=========================
Here is the result, original first, then modded.
================================================

http://i.minus.com/imNA7FeaC6zke.png

http://i.minus.com/iEs7Ds8emMBMp.png

http://i.minus.com/iz89HmoUeqrFp.png

http://i.minus.com/ibwYPxULbetKoI.png

http://i.minus.com/ibb1oBcBjV32KR.png

http://i.minus.com/ibuk1VJhy7ejaY.png

http://i.minus.com/iQeNOkyoKjVEK.png

http://i.minus.com/iCAEZznx9VPoD.png

http://iceimg.com/i/da/aa/feea36b1c2.png

http://i.minus.com/ibu1NJ1T1Uc3A0.png

http://i4.minus.com/iHHplCJE3PgF5.png

http://i3.minus.com/ibvWxQzB5yomHE.png

Installation and Notes:

Download Link (U3) - Click me (https://hostr.co/F3b28fhI8f2G)

Extract and place in the same folder where your AC3SP.exe is. By default the mod gets activated when you run the game after installing.

Make sure NO overlays are on, Uplay overlay, Steam overlay, Xfire, TeamSpeak, MSI Afterburner, EVGA, etc.

For Uplay, open Uplay and press the Gear Icon on top-right, uncheck "Enable in-game overlay."

For Steam: Settings>In-Game Settings>Uncheck Enable Steam Community In-Game.

Keys to control:
Scroll Lock - Enable/Disable(Enabled by default whenever game runs)


Print Screen - Takes screenshots in BMP format, places in game folder.


Pause - Reloads shader file incase you modify it yourself.

Do not rename files.

Uninstallation:
Just remove the files you downloaded to remove the mod, or you can just delete the dxgi.dll and mod won't run.

I hope you guys enjoy it.


Checkout the whole album here for screenshots with the mod:
http://min.us/mw15qtqcng8Oa

Jexx21
11-25-2012, 07:32 PM
I was looking for a mod like this- I love the way that the game looks on brightness setting 4, but it's too dark down in the tunnels. I think this will give me what I'm looking for.

ProletariatPleb
11-25-2012, 07:34 PM
I was looking for a mod like this- I love the way that the game looks on brightness setting 4, but it's too dark down in the tunnels. I think this will give me what I'm looking for.
Good to know you're alive :P and finally someone replied, I thought nobody liked it.

DutchDefqon
11-25-2012, 07:48 PM
Well.. This looks like a good mod.. But im not sure.. I think Mods are illigal.. And dangerous for the game itself.. Ubisoft wont give any support on modded games... :c

ProletariatPleb
11-25-2012, 07:58 PM
Well.. This looks like a good mod.. But im not sure.. I think Mods are illigal.. And dangerous for the game itself.. Ubisoft wont give any support on modded games... :c
Well no, mods are not illegal and this one doesn't modify ANY of the game's own files.

Dranzer51
11-25-2012, 08:14 PM
Your mod fix this bug ?

http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/727699-Probleme-hair-color-during-cutscene

ProletariatPleb
11-25-2012, 08:29 PM
Your mod fix this bug ?

http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/727699-Probleme-hair-color-during-cutscene
Nope, that's a GTS card series bug from what I heard.

BzkGB
11-25-2012, 08:36 PM
Looks fantastic. I'll definitely give it a try as soon as I can get the game running smoothly enough.

Thanks for sharing :)

Dranzer51
11-25-2012, 08:45 PM
Nope, that's a GTS card series bug from what I heard.

Ok thanks anyway.

dex3108BL
11-25-2012, 10:56 PM
Tnx mate :D

alliask1nt4ro
11-26-2012, 12:34 AM
I just tested it and it's a real visual improvement! (for my taste at least) thanks for sharing!

electrodelic92
11-26-2012, 02:35 AM
Love this mod.. makes the game 10 times better to look at :D

SixKeys
11-26-2012, 03:56 AM
I might give this a try, thanks. Just in case I prefer the original look, is this easy to uninstall/delete?

Fattness124
11-26-2012, 04:08 AM
Really enjoying this, the lighting does look much better and much more realistic IMO. I did however experience a very slight fps drop (around 3-5), but that might just be on my end of things. Thanks for sharing.

leroy19852010
11-26-2012, 05:46 AM
its funny, cuz just as the thought came into my head, this thread pops up, these usualy make big improvements, specaily to the very bland and blurry look

ProletariatPleb
11-26-2012, 06:37 AM
I might give this a try, thanks. Just in case I prefer the original look, is this easy to uninstall/delete?
Yeah delete whatever files you downloaded or just dxgi.dll

Bucur92
11-26-2012, 08:50 AM
I like this.Thank you.

Hitman4999
11-26-2012, 09:24 AM
Nice color mod, my fps drops a little (5 - 8fps) which isn't that bad, does anyone have any tweaks or what settings they use, thanks.

Voyager456
11-28-2012, 02:32 PM
Why uplay overlay needs to be disbled if i do that than it wont track my achievements

ProletariatPleb
11-28-2012, 03:25 PM
Why uplay overlay needs to be disbled if i do that than it wont track my achievements
because Uplay uses DirectX hook to display overlay and the mod uses DX hook as well, but you'll still get your achievements.

cmrggamer
11-28-2012, 06:46 PM
It looks great! Maybe I'll give it a try! :)

Ipong_88
11-28-2012, 09:18 PM
haha.. nice.. but.. only this mod? no other? skyrim got 100+ mods.. and surely look so cool... can direct use them into ac3?

GuZZ33
11-28-2012, 09:40 PM
Looks great. Another way to do it is to set your monitor to game mode if your monitor supports that built-in feature. I use the Asus VG236 3D monitor and the game mode enhances the color much better than the standard mode.

ProletariatPleb
11-29-2012, 12:36 AM
haha.. nice.. but.. only this mod? no other? skyrim got 100+ mods.. and surely look so cool... can direct use them into ac3?
Sadly nope, Ubisoft has locked their game ever since AC1.

Ipong_88
11-29-2012, 07:40 AM
Sadly nope, Ubisoft has locked their game ever since AC1.

how sad.. i could be better..

Hawke19111
12-04-2012, 10:57 AM
i just want the flintlock pistol to look like when your at the buying menu i don't like the design how its gold from the bottom please make a mod i'll give you the link for how i wan't it to look like
http://orcz.com/File:Flintlockpistolac3.jpg:(

Hawke19111
12-04-2012, 10:58 AM
reply as soon as possible i beg of you i will die if no one replies thank you ssssssssssssooooooooooooo mmmmmmmmmmmmuuuuuuccccchhhhhhhhh

CipollaCreed
12-04-2012, 12:10 PM
Tested it and it works very good, nice colors and i love it, but i prefer to play with original AC3 files. Of course i still wish to thank you for this nice and well done work. If one day you can also manage to make a mod that adds quivers to other outfits, or that can remove the bow on your back, i will thank you and i will give you one of the female members of my family to use as sex slave or food in case of nuclear war.

tall70
12-05-2012, 05:35 AM
This is like FXAA Injector made by "some dude". Includes AA, sharpening, color correction, bloom, hdr and more. Works with almost any game, JC2, BF3, NFS MW, you name it. For some reason i had no luck with Dirt3 with this. Only way there is directx 9 mode and use enb. Actually my favorite effect with all these is sharpening (deblurring), adds extra detail bump, reflections etc. Ofcourse it does not help edge smoothing, low quality skies gets pixalated little, but it's all worth it for me.

With little luck some coders will unpack everything so we can mod our selfs to death. I would definitely like to change night direct light from moon. It gets way too bright for my taste.

Hawke19111
12-05-2012, 11:29 AM
can someone please make the mod i requested earlier please I've been dying ever since i saw that the flintlock pistol does not look like the one when your at the trading menu
i gave a link already before please all help or replies will be deeply appreciated
Link For I want the Flintlock Pistol to look:http://orcz.com/File:Flintlockpistolac3.jpg
:mad::p:rolleyes::cool::eek::nonchalance::o:D;):): (

Grizo406
12-05-2012, 09:01 PM
Good work & thanks for the link(s), sid!

CipollaCreed
12-07-2012, 11:35 AM
Little hint for win7 users, run AC3SP as administrator or it will crash.

Mr_Shade
12-07-2012, 11:43 AM
reply as soon as possible i beg of you i will die if no one replies thank you ssssssssssssooooooooooooo mmmmmmmmmmmmuuuuuuccccchhhhhhhhh
I will remind you to check the forum rules.

Swearing is not allowed on the forums.

Also - it's been stated already in this thread, that game mods are not possible in this game, so I suggest you cool your jets and don't post swearing demands.

LambertoKevlar
12-07-2012, 12:38 PM
I will remind you to check the forum rules.

Swearing is not allowed on the forums.

Also - it's been stated already in this thread, that game mods are not possible in this game, so I suggest you cool your jets and don't post swearing demands.

I can't believe it,there's moderation on this forum
Since we are here,could you gave us some news about the patch for this game i paid 50$ and that i can't play?

icemancdb
12-07-2012, 10:02 PM
in order to get it the weapon texture modded it would require a program such as "texmod" but this means having to essentially crack the game to not use uplay, for this very reason i don't recommended it.

there are better looking flintlocks available in the game anyway...

Hawke19111
12-08-2012, 06:57 AM
i would use other flintlocks but there keep on reverting 1 to the pitcair-putnam ones thats why im forced to use the flintlock pistols because there less buggy than others thats why im asking:cool:

YaSiS
12-22-2012, 05:30 AM
The mod is awesome far better colors gives it gives more realism !. 'I love it' . Some standard guy did what developers of Ubisoft could not what a shame :)

daniel.united
12-22-2012, 08:32 AM
Wow. Huge FPS hit. I lost aroud 10-15FPS.. I liked the Color Correction, but please fix it. Anyway, Nice work (:

ProletariatPleb
12-22-2012, 12:21 PM
Wow. Huge FPS hit. I lost aroud 10-15FPS.. I liked the Color Correction, but please fix it. Anyway, Nice work (:
Hmm, I'll see what I can do, it's a bit hard tho, because it's acting differently on different systems, not a single FPS hit on mine.

daniel.united
12-22-2012, 02:19 PM
Hmm, I'll see what I can do, it's a bit hard tho, because it's acting differently on different systems, not a single FPS hit on mine.

I think I know why. I run the game on High, and you probably run the game on Very High. Thats why your fps is still good. This mod changed your shadow and other grpics on very high and my computer cant hadle this.. Thats what I think (:

ShinraArmy
12-26-2012, 08:44 PM
That looks rather nice!

Would you happen to do requests? It's, I hope, nothing too complicated...I'd be really, really, really happy to play trough ACIII with a green garb... You know how ACII had an "amber" color where the hood and other parts were actually light green, and how in AC: Brotherhood there was a similar one, the venetian azure, in which the hood and some parts were actually dark green?

If you could do a small recolor in Connor's assassin gear to make the hood and most/all the gear a dark-ish shade of green, maybe with black as the secondary color, I'd be very grateful.

ProletariatPleb
03-16-2013, 05:24 PM
This mod works fine for Tyranny as well, just incase somebody wanted to know.

shickapowow
03-16-2013, 11:30 PM
This is perfect. Great work, Sid.

killerbunny55
03-17-2013, 10:44 PM
i got it and it looks great but I was wondering if there were any outfit mods or any reskins for weapons

Free_Hidings
03-18-2013, 11:05 AM
The mod is awesome far better colors gives it gives more realism !. 'I love it' . Some standard guy did what developers of Ubisoft could not what a shame :)

Actually, to me the original looks better in every screenshot. They nailed Connors outfit in my opinon. The mod looks nice though! Hope to see more, hopefully costume / skin related ones

supersmash105
03-29-2013, 03:29 PM
hey great job on the mod there mate the graphic looks SO GOOD i'll use it when i have a better laptop lol, speaking of low end laptop can you do a mod that is compatible with low end pc/laptop plz

ProletariatPleb
04-22-2013, 09:36 AM
Okay I updated it a bit, added a contrast pass and updated the files to newer version.

Download Link - https://hostr.co/ppKTNMhxDPkq
Also added it to first post.

jayjay275
04-28-2013, 05:12 PM
How have you got that much money!?

ProletariatPleb
04-28-2013, 06:31 PM
How have you got that much money!?
I sold my homesteaders.

ProletariatPleb
05-07-2013, 05:41 AM
So, I made a few changes and I think the performance impact has been reduced, is anybody willing to test and tell me?

Revan-Risinger
05-07-2013, 04:52 PM
The ubi-launcher wont even start with this mod. I figured out that its the dxgi.dll file that messes it up. I do have windows 8 too. Any help? I'd like to use this mod, it looks pretty badass.

ProletariatPleb
05-07-2013, 05:11 PM
The ubi-launcher wont even start with this mod. I figured out that its the dxgi.dll file that messes it up. I do have windows 8 too. Any help? I'd like to use this mod, it looks pretty badass.
Well with Windows 8 it's a bit of a mess.

You need to make sure you've installed DirectX, in on a nvidia card you have to use single display performance mode in nvidia settings and need to have write permissions in the folder you are running the program from.

Revan-Risinger
05-07-2013, 05:19 PM
What do you mean by the last part? I found In properties that "write" thing in the security. How do I enable it for the game and which files do I have to enable it for?

ProletariatPleb
05-07-2013, 05:28 PM
What do you mean by the last part?
Well y'know, right click on folder go to properties and check if you have full access, also have you tried right clicking and running game as administrator?

And check the log.log file in your AC3 folder if it says anything about errors, just paste it here.

Revan-Risinger
05-07-2013, 05:32 PM
full path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\Assassin's Creed III\
redirecting CreateDXGIFactory1
redirecting D3D11CreateDeviceAndSwapChain
redirecting IDXGIFactory1->CreateSwapChain
redirecting CreateDXGIFactory
redirecting D3D11CreateDeviceAndSwapChain
redirecting CreateDXGIFactory
initialising shader environment
D3DX11CompileFromFile failed
C:\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\Assassin's Creed III\dxgi.fx(39,10): error X1507: failed to open source file: 'SweetFX_preset.txt'

That's the error I get. And I did run it as admin, and the ubilauncher comes up then It does a black screen then crashes.

ProletariatPleb
05-07-2013, 05:36 PM
^The last time someone got that error the guy didn't have SweetFX_preset.txt in his game folder, please check if it's there, if not then there has probably been some problem in extraction.

You should have these 6 items in your AC3 folder

-SweetFX Folder
-dxgi.dll
-dgxi.fx
-injector.ini
-SweetFX_preset.txt
-AC3.txt
-shader.fx

Revan-Risinger
05-07-2013, 05:38 PM
Yeah, there were some files that did not extract. It works now. Thanks for the help tho. It looks badass, good work.

Revan-Risinger
05-07-2013, 05:53 PM
This mod wouldn't work in the other AC's right?

ProletariatPleb
05-07-2013, 06:01 PM
This mod wouldn't work in the other AC's right?
Nope. Which AC are you looking at btw? I have made one for AC2 as well but not really tested it on a large scale.

Revan-Risinger
05-07-2013, 06:06 PM
I was gonna see if it worked on all the past ones. But I have found 1 mod for each game.

ProletariatPleb
05-07-2013, 06:12 PM
I was gonna see if it worked on all the past ones. But I have found 1 mod for each game.
Yeah there are plenty created by different people. But I worked on my own config for AC3 and I prefer it other the others, I'm probably biased :P but oh well and hence I started a thread about it here.

Revan-Risinger
05-07-2013, 07:01 PM
If you made some, and you don't care to link them, ill try em out.

ProletariatPleb
05-07-2013, 07:25 PM
If you made some, and you don't care to link them, ill try em out.
I did one for AC2, don't know if you'll like it.

https://hostr.co/NvdbD46eqkXl

ProletariatPleb
05-14-2013, 05:37 AM
Okay so I've reduced the effect of SMAA to the minimum, it gave me a slight fps boost.

Download U3 - https://hostr.co/F3b28fhI8f2G

And link to album full of screenshots taken with the mod:
http://min.us/mw15qtqcng8Oa

jcgratila
06-08-2013, 07:25 AM
Hi there,

Thanks for this mod.
I have been using it for quite a while.
However, I noticed that I do not have the 'mod look' right after I updated Uplay and the game.

I have all the files under AC3 root folder (where AC3SP.exe is).
I also deactivated my Uplay overlay.

I am running on Win7 Home Premium 64-bit
On an Acer laptop (V3571G)
With GeForce GT 640M

Not sure if I missed anything.

Please help.

The mod looks really good. :)

Thanks!

-JC

jcgratila
06-08-2013, 09:17 AM
Hi there,

Thanks for this mod.
I have been using it for quite a while.
However, I noticed that I do not have the 'mod look' right after I updated Uplay and the game.

I have all the files under AC3 root folder (where AC3SP.exe is).
I also deactivated my Uplay overlay.

I am running on Win7 Home Premium 64-bit
On an Acer laptop (V3571G)
With GeForce GT 640M

Not sure if I missed anything.

Please help.

The mod looks really good. :)

Thanks!

-JC

Nevermind...
I also installed AC2 (through Uplay earlier).
After uninstalling it, the mod is working again.
Not sure why though... :nonchalance:

ProletariatPleb
06-08-2013, 11:39 AM
That is...weird 0_o

Revan-Risinger
06-19-2013, 12:37 AM
I recently started getting color distortions. My map goes first, it has weird color blocks, then some of the buildings become distorted and colored oddly. I have the latest version of Drivers, AC3 patch and the mod is updated. I don't know how to fix it. I could be wrong, but I feel like it started this after the latest AC3 patch. Please help, I really like this mod and I wanna play using it.

ProletariatPleb
06-19-2013, 11:35 AM
I recently started getting color distortions. My map goes first, it has weird color blocks, then some of the buildings become distorted and colored oddly. I have the latest version of Drivers, AC3 patch and the mod is updated. I don't know how to fix it. I could be wrong, but I feel like it started this after the latest AC3 patch. Please help, I really like this mod and I wanna play using it.
Not related to the mod mate.

ukmasik
06-19-2013, 01:13 PM
it's not use for me...why?

Revan-Risinger
06-19-2013, 05:57 PM
Not related to the mod mate.

I fixed it. Initially I thought it was, cause I uninstalled the mod and it was fine for the first 10 mins then it happened again. So I reinstalled AC3 and the mod, and now I have not problems.