PDA

View Full Version : AC3 PC Performance Reviews



al-Assas
11-21-2012, 01:39 AM
A great benchmark article at pcgameshardware.de

http://www.pcgameshardware.de/Assassins-Creed-3-PC-235361/Tests/Assassins-Creed-3-Test-Benchmarks-1036472/

TXAA looks good, although it would be nice to see some comparisons with no-AA, to see how much it blurs details within textures.

It looks like the AMD driver is not completely up to the task yet, but I think that among the mid-range video cards the FPS looks pretty good in general.

The game seems to have a good multi-core utilization, which is lucky, because it seems to be really demanding on the CPU. It seems that an i7-2600K @ 4.2 GHz is capped below 70 FPS in city gameplay.

Pleasefixmyacc
11-21-2012, 01:49 AM
what did they write about the i5? Does it ssay anything about why they went with a 560ti?

al-Assas
11-21-2012, 01:59 AM
what did they write about the i5? Does it ssay anything about why they went with a 560ti?

Nothing specifically on the i5, but if Phenom can do an average 40 FPS with four cores, I'm sure the i5 can do even more.

I don't know why they went with an 560 ti, but what's interesting is that it seems that 1 GB video memory is enough.

Razrback16
11-21-2012, 04:21 AM
Don't worry too much about CPU. Your GPU and RAM is what really counts in most games (AC3 included). I'm running a 4 year old Phenom II 955 but I always run a good video card setup (currently GTX 680) and all my games run smooth as could be.

al-Assas
11-22-2012, 01:05 PM
http://benchmark3d.com/assassins-creed-3-benchmark

Now, according to this test, multi-core utilization is bad. How is this even possible? Can it be because the other test was AMD processor and GeForce graphics card, and this one is Intel processor and AMD graphics?

al-Assas
11-22-2012, 07:04 PM
http://gamegpu.ru/action-/-fps-/-tps/assassins-creed-iii-test-gpu.html

http://www.computerbase.de/news/2012-11/eigene-benchmarks-zu-assassins-creed-iii/
("die Kernskalierung ist sehr gut")

al-Assas
11-23-2012, 08:52 PM
http://www.notebookcheck.com/Benchmarkcheck-Assassin-s-Creed-III.84565.0.html

In English:

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Assassin-s-Creed-III-Benchmarked.84628.0.html

al-Assas
11-24-2012, 04:02 PM
These guys claim that the cpu-usage graph shows high utilization on all of their four cores, but disabling two cores doesn't decrease FPS.

http://www.dsogaming.com/pc-performance-analyses/assassins-creed-iii-pc-performance-analysis/

How is that even possible?

Why is that some tests show big difference between 2 cores and 4 cores and some don't, and some tests see even core-usage and some don't?

al-Assas
11-28-2012, 05:07 AM
http://www.gamestar.de/spiele/assassins-creed-3/artikel/assassins_creed_3_im_technik_check,47340,3006986.h tml

D.I.D.
11-28-2012, 06:16 AM
These guys claim that the cpu-usage graph shows high utilization on all of their four cores, but disabling two cores doesn't decrease FPS.

http://www.dsogaming.com/pc-performance-analyses/assassins-creed-iii-pc-performance-analysis/

How is that even possible?

Why is that some tests show big difference between 2 cores and 4 cores and some don't, and some tests see even core-usage and some don't?

Many people mocked me for telling them that all previous ACs didn't address all four cores of my CPU. I used to have horrendous crashing problems with the old games unless I switched off the last two cores, and this used to miraculously prevent almost all crashing on my system (although sadly, that's not helping me with AC3). The games actually ran better on two cores than they did on four, in terms of stability, and there was no difference in working performance. They would insist their machines were using all four cores when they clearly weren't, and resource monitors don't always tell the whole story.

The short answer is that there's a big difference between a game that sprawls across your resources to one that manages the resources correctly, and Ubisoft can't seem to make that happen in-house. I think Ubi have noticed that PC customers have been giving enthusiastic support to developers who include high res texture packs for the PC market, and perhaps that's what they meant when they said we'd love this port - but of course, better textures aren't as important as a working game.

al-Assas
12-07-2012, 01:08 PM
HD 7950 vs GTX 660 Ti

http://techreport.com/review/23981/radeon-hd-7950-vs-geforce-gtx-660-ti-revisited/6

al-Assas
12-13-2012, 05:16 AM
http://www.hardocp.com/article/2012/12/12/assassins_creed_3_performance_iq_review

al-Assas
01-04-2013, 03:51 PM
http://gamegpu.ru/test-video-cards/igry-2012-goda-protiv-sovremennykh-videokart-test-gpu.html

al-Assas
01-29-2013, 07:25 AM
http://www.overclockers.ru/lab/51113/Assassin_s_Creed_III_testirovanie_proizvoditelnost i.html

Anykeyer
01-29-2013, 08:41 AM
TXAA looks good, although it would be nice to see some comparisons with no-AA, to see how much it blurs details within textures.


You cant disable AA in this game. On lowest setting it just uses its own very inaccurate version of FXAA. Also TXAA does not look like an improvement when you compare static screenshots. Its main advantage is greatly reduced flickering on small details when camera moves.

spectatorx
01-29-2013, 12:32 PM
You cant disable AA in this game. On lowest setting it just uses its own very inaccurate version of FXAA. Also TXAA does not look like an improvement when you compare static screenshots. Its main advantage is greatly reduced flickering on small details when camera moves.

You are not completly right. Probably it is possible to disable aa in this game on nvidia cards. In driver settings create/edit existing profile for game and in it disable all aa.

Anykeyer
01-29-2013, 01:39 PM
Probably wont work. On normal and high game uses its own shader-based AA and not something ROP-based. User can only force or disable through CP those AA implementations that use GPU ROPs. On very high it adds MSAA4x component to its own shader AA. This part you can probably force to disable, but it still leaves you with that blur shader. I dont know if that shader is still present when you choose TXAA (its more likely that it does), will check later.

al-Assas
02-03-2013, 11:44 AM
And I think that with the help of those overclockers.ru numbers the core-scaling question doesn't seem to be that mysterious any more.

Without going into the details: the benchmark3d.com test just simply hit the limitation of the video card. They used the same settings as overclockers.ru, so it's very clear.

AC3 has exactly the same core-scaling and intel/amd ratio as Far Cry 3. It's eerie, how similar they are. The exceptions are the weak AMD CPUs, where AC3 is actually the more forgiving.

Relatively. Relative to the FPS achievable by any one CPU. But those numbers for AC3 are half of the Far Cry 3 FPS values.