PDA

View Full Version : Oleg - WHY no wing leveler?



XyZspineZyX
12-05-2003, 04:06 PM
We lost the ability to use 'toggel level autopilot' for fighters and some some other aircraft with this patch. It still shows up on the controls screen as a choice but does not work also using the keys for wing leveler confuse the auto pilot operation also. WHY remove an option that was there from the start? I like to fly off to intercept enemy aircraft or attack ground targets that are not in the direction of the flight plan...if they are a great distance away I need to do it at 8X (too keep from falling asleep) speed and cannot control the aircraft manually at 8X.
So please bring it back for all aircraft....I still can't understand why it was eliminated for all except bombers.
Since it's an OPTION the people who don't like it don't have to use it.
Thanks....otherwise a great patch...as expected.

"Nothing difficult is ever easy"

"Nothing difficult is ever easy"

XyZspineZyX
12-05-2003, 04:06 PM
We lost the ability to use 'toggel level autopilot' for fighters and some some other aircraft with this patch. It still shows up on the controls screen as a choice but does not work also using the keys for wing leveler confuse the auto pilot operation also. WHY remove an option that was there from the start? I like to fly off to intercept enemy aircraft or attack ground targets that are not in the direction of the flight plan...if they are a great distance away I need to do it at 8X (too keep from falling asleep) speed and cannot control the aircraft manually at 8X.
So please bring it back for all aircraft....I still can't understand why it was eliminated for all except bombers.
Since it's an OPTION the people who don't like it don't have to use it.
Thanks....otherwise a great patch...as expected.

"Nothing difficult is ever easy"

"Nothing difficult is ever easy"

XyZspineZyX
12-05-2003, 05:22 PM
It's considered as a cheat..i mean. Surly, is not realistic.

269GA~Veltro
http://ourworld.cs.com/VeltroF/tenente.JPG

XyZspineZyX
12-05-2003, 06:01 PM
Well that make's no sense.....why was it in the game until this patch? Why do you have the option on unlimited ammo and bombs? The game is full of optional 'cheats' if you want to call them that. And wing leveler won't help you one bit in combat as will the normal autopilot which is still there.

"Nothing difficult is ever easy"

XyZspineZyX
12-05-2003, 07:12 PM
buz13 wrote:
- Well that make's no sense.....why was it in the game
- until this patch? Why do you have the option on
- unlimited ammo and bombs? The game is full of
- optional 'cheats' if you want to call them that.
- And wing leveler won't help you one bit in combat as
- will the normal autopilot which is still there.
-
- "Nothing difficult is ever easy"

Because those "cheats" are optional and can be turned on and off for online play. Ideally, level stabilizer for all planes would also be an option, but frankly I'd rather not have it all, than have it and not be able to prevent from exploiting it online.

As far as offline goes, just turn autopilot on or pause the game.

It's still available for bombers, which are the only aircraft that really need it.



--AKD

http://www.flyingpug.com/pugline2.jpg

XyZspineZyX
12-05-2003, 08:25 PM
A.K.Davis: funny.,.never once have I been able use auto pilot on line....or wing leveler.
Also using auto pilot offline will not help you fly to an area or target outside the flight plan path. And pause will not get you anywhere!
The whole idea of wing leveler is to be able to fly anywhere you want (offline) without having to sit at the computer for long periods adjusting your flight at 8X assuming you don't crash trying to do this within the first few seconds.

"Nothing difficult is ever easy"

XyZspineZyX
12-05-2003, 08:47 PM
I would love to see it come back.
was a great conveinance.
It's NOT a cheat. If that is your way of thinking then Track IR is a cheat as well.

<CENTER>http://invisionfree.com:54/40/30/upload/p1091.gif <CENTER><FONT COLOR="RED">A proud member Squadron of Ghost Skies Forgotten Battles Tournament League.
WWW.Ghostskies.com<CENTER><FONT (http://WWW.Ghostskies.com<CENTER><FONT) COLOR="blue">Please visit the 310th FS & 380th BG Online @:<CENTER><FONT COLOR="orange">http://members.tripod.com/tophatssquadron/<CENTER><FONT COLOR="orange"> 310th VFS Public forum:
<CENTER><FONT COLOR="YELLOW">http://invisionfree.com/forums/310th_VFBG/<CENTER><CENTER><FONT COLOR="YELLOW"> Get my USAAF 8th AF Squadron Insignia Files @ IL-2Skins ('http://www.il2skins.com/?action=display&skinid=4206')
<FONT COLOR="purple">Slainte Mhath- Good Health to you!

XyZspineZyX
12-05-2003, 09:33 PM
buz13-if you trim your aircraft, it's not that hard to fly in 8x time compression. Do you have to keep your hand on the stick? Yes, of course. If you need to get up and leave the computer for some reason, just pause the game.


Copperhead310th wrote:
- I would love to see it come back.
- was a great conveinance.
- It's NOT a cheat. If that is your way of thinking
- then Track IR is a cheat as well.

Copperhead310th, the cheat element to level stabilizer does not apply if you fly on server's with no cockpit and externals on (which I know you do). Try flying on a more realistic server and you'll understand the issue.

--AKD

http://www.flyingpug.com/pugline2.jpg

XyZspineZyX
12-05-2003, 11:26 PM
Copperhead310th wrote:
- I would love to see it come back.
- was a great conveinance.
- It's NOT a cheat. If that is your way of thinking
- then Track IR is a cheat as well.
-


You're right. 12G pullups in terminal 600kph dives are wholly realistic.

<center>
Read the <a href=http://www.mudmovers.com/sturmovik_101/FAQ.htm>IL2 FAQ</a>
Got Nimrod? Try the unofficial <A HREF=http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=4&sid=4870c2bc08acb0f130e5e3396d08d595>OT forum</A>

XyZspineZyX
12-05-2003, 11:30 PM
Paranoia now sets the rules to the game, keep an eye on those AI pilots over there, I know they're using some sort of exploit. We'll patch em up good.

It's the fly straight and level trap exploit, makes it far harder for guys who can't shoot straight to hit you. Unacceptable!

XyZspineZyX
12-05-2003, 11:34 PM
only needed for multi-crew aircraft where it simulates the pilot fying level so you can bomb.

doesn't need to be in for a fighter - this isn't a jetliner.

trim it up and fly it right http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

S!
609IAP_Recon

Forgotten Skies Virtual War
Forum: http://fogwar.luftwaffe.net/forums/index.php
Website: http://www.forgottenskies.com
Visit 609IAP at http://takeoff.to/609IAP


http://www.leeboats.com/609/sig/609_recon3.jpg


"What was truly obsolete happened to be the turning or dogfighting
combat that had been used during of WW I."

Erik Shilling - AVG - http://yarchive.net/mil/p40.html


Message Edited on 12/05/0310:34PM by Recon_609IAP

XyZspineZyX
12-06-2003, 01:19 AM
Oleg.....where are you?.....how about making a comment on this?

"Nothing difficult is ever easy"

XyZspineZyX
12-06-2003, 06:34 AM
buz13 wrote:
- Oleg.....where are you?.....how about making a
- comment on this?
-
- "Nothing difficult is ever easy"

Oleg already commented on this. He said it was removed from fighters because it was unrealistic and was being used as a cheat online.

--AKD

http://www.flyingpug.com/pugline2.jpg

XyZspineZyX
12-06-2003, 08:18 AM
Wing-Leveler ?

Hahahahahahaha !!!!!

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

<center>http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_trapper.jpg (http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/)</center>

XyZspineZyX
12-06-2003, 11:19 AM
Hi Trap. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

<center>http://www.wnyc.org/onthemedia/images/hal9000_light.jpg </center><center>http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_hotlips.jpg (http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/)</center>

Message Edited on 12/06/0305:42AM by Heuristic_ALgor

XyZspineZyX
12-07-2003, 04:11 AM
They should just make it only work offline. I think that would be a good compromise. No cheating and you can still use it offline in combination with time warping.

:FI:SnoopBaron

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_07.gif