PDA

View Full Version : Is there a way to jump to other planes?



XyZspineZyX
07-25-2003, 11:13 PM
During a mission, especially after getting shot down I would like to jump into other aircraft. Is that an option, and if not are there any plans to patch that into the game?

XyZspineZyX
07-25-2003, 11:13 PM
During a mission, especially after getting shot down I would like to jump into other aircraft. Is that an option, and if not are there any plans to patch that into the game?

Tully__
07-25-2003, 11:17 PM
No and no.

<center> ================================================== ========================= </center>

<center> <img src=http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/Corsair.jpg> </center>

<center> The "under performing planes" thread (http://www.simhq.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=35;t=007540) /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif </center>
<center> Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm) </center>


Salut
Tully

XyZspineZyX
07-25-2003, 11:18 PM
no, its not possible.. and it seems like there aren't any plans for this..

ShadowHawk__
07-25-2003, 11:27 PM
That is the one feature that ruins flight sims for me. Completely kills the immersion and I'm glad it's not in FB.

-Death From Above

XyZspineZyX
07-25-2003, 11:50 PM
How moronic.

You can watch other planes after death. Now tell me you can do that in RL http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif As we say `round here, dead is dead and no pills help.

XyZspineZyX
07-26-2003, 03:59 AM
Dead is dead?! This is a sim, you idiot! Sim: i.e. Simulation. There is no "dead is dead!" You're not dead. Personally, after I get shot down, there are other "simulated" planes flying around in combat that, yes I do watch the battle after I am "killed", but I would personally prefer to "simulate" hopping into one of them and kicking the crap out of someone else. And after that, if I got shot down again or ran out of ammo, to jump into another plane. Or to get even more extreme, to hop into a flyable enemy plane and go to town there. Since this is a scalable "SIM", why not have the option?

XyZspineZyX
07-26-2003, 04:12 AM
What would ya want next...infinite health, how 'bout infinite armor!

Geez!Go play Nintendo!

http://www.fightingcolors.com/Me109images/109banner.jpeg

XyZspineZyX
07-26-2003, 04:43 AM
How about personal choice and skill being the reason for scalability?! If you don't like the option, you can turn it off, but it's nice to have the option there. Options invite more people to the game, the game makes more money, better features are incorporated, EVERYONE is happy. Again, it's a SIM geek, and options are personal choice.
But maybe YOU are right and only the most REAL aspects should be incorporated. YOU tell us what makes the SIM fun. Or is it fun you are looking for? Fun or realism? Both? Maybe you should tell US, oh sim god, what is REAL in the SIM? Maybe they should take out the 3rd person views all-together. Please dictate to me the appropriate level of scalability, and thank you for letting us into your selfish fantasy world of simulated reality!

XyZspineZyX
07-26-2003, 04:50 AM
Sure!, Just position yourself above another aircraft, and jump out!!! Time it right and you'll land right on the wing and either take him out with you or you can do a wing walk!!

Give it a try....if you dare!!

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

jba

The difficulty of making something fool proof is that fools are so da** creative. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-26-2003, 06:57 AM
Mojo4Play

Lets use your own words against you. Your calling FB a sim. As in simulation. What are you simulating if you die, and then pop back to life?

If you want to play it as an arcade game, Then you have the easy settings to choose from No cockpit, unlimited ammo, invulnerable, no spins, no blackouts, no freaking nothing if that's what you want.

For those of us who try and play as real as possible. As real as a game can get anyway. Dying means your dead. Mission over. Not hard to understand. Even for a clever guy like you.

Da Buzz
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
<center>
F4..The Best BF109

<center>
http://www.elknet.pl/acestory/foto1/marse5.jpg

XyZspineZyX
07-26-2003, 07:23 AM
Maybe one of those ring-a-ding bike bells too. You know to alert others when a AC transfer jump is about to take place. Sheeez, I thought I was the noob.

XyZspineZyX
07-26-2003, 11:19 AM
Instead of continuing with this flame war of "dead is dead" and so on, I'd just like to state something:
Allowing you to hop into any plane during the flight will require loading all the cockpits into memory. I think this will take up too much memory and is therefore not feasible.

XyZspineZyX
07-26-2003, 12:11 PM
If dead is dead then shouldn't your campaign end there and then. Then to play IL2/FB again you have to format your computer and install the game again. Now that's hardcore sim-ing you wimps :-)

XyZspineZyX
07-26-2003, 01:32 PM
This reminds me of a PS2 playing mate o` mine who tried FB, then moaned cos he couldn`t save just before a battle. Also he played like a PS2 user cos he had absolutely no awareness of a 3D world- Just straight ahead. Every time a plane moved outta view he was confused!!

Jumping from plane to plane is kiddified noobishness, Stop it!

Tully__
07-26-2003, 01:38 PM
Chill time. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

<center> ================================================== ========================= </center>

<center> <img src=http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/Corsair.jpg> </center>

<center> The "under performing planes" thread (http://www.simhq.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=35;t=007540) /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif </center>
<center> Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm) </center>


Salut
Tully