PDA

View Full Version : any quicker way into battle?



XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 07:48 AM
In missions is there a way to get to the action quickly? Flying for 20 minutes gets a bit boring, even the 8x acceleration takes forever to get you to the action

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 07:48 AM
In missions is there a way to get to the action quickly? Flying for 20 minutes gets a bit boring, even the 8x acceleration takes forever to get you to the action

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 07:58 AM
sorry but i expect you may be thinking this is a fps it is not i also suspect that you wont have the patiance to learn your aircraft ..which you must do...........this is a hard sim it takes many many hours to learn to fly only 1 aircraft.. if quick getting to somthing is your deal i wish you luck but it wont be here.........

http://mudmovers.com/Sims/IL2/images/wallpaper/me262sharkt.jpg
us infantry 84-91

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 08:01 AM
exactly... that kind of attitude makes me thing you're not for a simulation but a game. Either set all easy settings and play quick missions or get MSFS or something /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 08:04 AM
You could get IL2Manager,or somesuch,and choose your preferred distance to the target. Really,20 minutes isn't that long. I've had missions that lasted 1hr.+....

47|FC
http://www.wpafb.af.mil/museum/research/p47-6.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 08:17 AM
OK! OK! some of us dont have hours to sit at a PC every night. It is a nice challenge though to play il2 when I get the time. The family wont believe me when I say I need to go to russia and fly a plane for the next 4 hours!!!!

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 08:59 AM
90% flying 10% combat

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 09:02 AM
There should be a way to shorten the maximum distance to target in the campaign missions by editing something in an INI file. Don't remember what or where though, sorry /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 09:11 AM
bc007, if you have the 1.1b patch, look in the readme. You can use MissionDistance=X to set the maximum range of a mission in km. Set it to 10 or less and you will be in action very soon after takeoff.

++Quote++

2. New parameters in conf.ini:
RandomFlights=n sets number of flight groups not related to mission. Maximum is 5, minimum 0, default 2. New random groups - friendly bombers and returning allied planes.

NoBadWeather eliminates storms, rain, snow, blind weather. All weather is possible by default

NoAirfieldHighlight - Not used airfields won't have AAAs anymore, which also removes their highlighting with a color on a map. They have AAA and are highlighted by default

CampaignAI=Easy (Hard), default is Normal - increases or decreases friendly and hostile AI level.

CampaignMissions=Easy (Hard), default is Normal - switches to different scripts for operations, affecting number of planes and groups. Even on Hard, the scripts are less challenging than in the previous version - for all nations and years.

CampaignDifficulty now sets both AI and Missions.

CampaignLength=VeryLong (Long,Medium,Short,VeryShort), default is VeryLong. Sets number of missions in campaign. Long is about 2 times shorter than VeryLong. VeryShort is about 10 times shorter.

The lines can be placed anywhere in conf.ini, but recommended way to do it is to create in the end of the files a new [DGen] section and add everything after that. An example:

[DGen]
NoAirfieldHighlight
NoBadWeather
RandomFlights=5
MissionDistance=30
CampaignMissions=Hard
CampaignAI=Easy

++End Quote.++

Strangely, there is no mention of the MissionDistance=X command above, except in the example, but that's what it does /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif .

Regards,

RocketDog.

fluke39
08-19-2003, 09:21 AM
it's nice to fly longer missions to immerse yourself more - however there is a way to get into action without using the time compressino (well half the time anyway/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif )

you can change the config file if you want - or this is What i would suggest

1) Download IL2 Manager -(www.checksix.com??) not only does this give you the option to enter a distance you would like to normally fly(this is only a "wish" distance) but you can change alot of other things too - without having to go into the config files to do it.

2) if you like russian planes(this may work with luftwaffe too) - chose a fighter campaign - and pick the battle of Kursk as your starting point. your mission distance will rarely be much longer than the figure you put in the manager thingy and almost 90% of the time you will be encountering enemy aircraft before even travelling half that distance - quite often your airfield air raid siren will be sounding when you start /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

edit - or use the patch thingy aswell as he says above /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif
<center><img src=http://mysite.freeserve.com/Angel_one_five/flukelogo.jpg>


Message Edited on 08/19/0308:23AM by fluke39

XyZspineZyX
08-19-2003, 11:50 AM
- sorry but i expect you may be thinking this is a fps
- it is not i also suspect that you wont have the
- patiance to learn your aircraft ..

It is a combat sim not a passenger airline sim. So getting into action is quite essential part of the game. If it was completely realistic we should probably encounter enemies quite seldom. At least not in every sortie. You don't have to be a fps-freak to hope for some action within a few minutes after take-off.

Also, IL2 is not a difficult game. It can be adjusted to any difficulty and taste from invulnerable with infinite ammo to so-called "full realism".

We all have different opinions and tastes. No reason to believe mine is better than any others.

Petter