PDA

View Full Version : Trouble after SP2



Saurn
09-13-2004, 06:06 PM
I'm trying to install IL2 FB after building a new AMD 64bit system and a fresh install of WinXP Pro.

I get the error code 1608: Unable to create InstallDriver instance, Return code: -2147221164

I have installed the game many time over the past few years and never have had any trouble with this before and I haev checked all the latest drivers and settings. I know that I have never used an AMD 64 chip or the new Windows ervice Pack 2.

Has anyone encountered thsi error before and is there salvation for my trouble? Any help will be appriciated.
Thanks,
Saurn

Saurn
09-13-2004, 06:06 PM
I'm trying to install IL2 FB after building a new AMD 64bit system and a fresh install of WinXP Pro.

I get the error code 1608: Unable to create InstallDriver instance, Return code: -2147221164

I have installed the game many time over the past few years and never have had any trouble with this before and I haev checked all the latest drivers and settings. I know that I have never used an AMD 64 chip or the new Windows ervice Pack 2.

Has anyone encountered thsi error before and is there salvation for my trouble? Any help will be appriciated.
Thanks,
Saurn

zjulik
09-13-2004, 06:18 PM
Google is yur friend you know
"Unable to create InstallDriver instance"

http://consumer.installshield.com/kb.asp?id=Q108440

Inadaze
09-13-2004, 06:20 PM
I've heard there's a problem with SP2 and Directx on 64bit systems. I'm not sure if the fix is to simply remove the service pack.

I'd ask in Technical Support, the links at the top of the general Discussion page.

Inadaze

Saurn
09-13-2004, 06:24 PM
Yeah I know, thats the first place I went and all my admins are correct... Im not new to the PC. I am new to SP2 and Im sure WinXP did something to my install access... I appriciate the offer of help though.

Thanks,
Saurn

Saurn
09-13-2004, 06:26 PM
Thanks Daze...

artjunky
09-13-2004, 09:01 PM
What's the best way to remove SP2?

<p><a href="http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters"><img src="http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/images/419x100phantomfighters01.gif" width="419" height="100" border="0"></a></p>

Otago
09-14-2004, 04:55 AM
I had the same problem with my amd 64 so I uninstall it in controlpanel\addremoveprograms but it still played up so I reinstalled xp with no sp2
runs sweet now.